Worlds Week Schedule

Posted in Feature on July 29, 2013

By Trick Jarrett

Patrick "Trick" Jarrett oversees web content and social media for Magic, and acts as the publisher of DailyMTG.com and Magic content on the web. He's an ardent Commander player and lover of the game he's played since Ice Age.

At this very moment, well, no that's not necessarily true. When this article publishes, I will be flying at 40,000 ft (12,192 m) on my way to Amsterdam for both the World Championship and the World Magic Cup! I'm super excited to go and watch all five days of Magic by the best players in the world battle.

Since we're holding two events that overlap I wanted to take today's Arcana to share the broadcast schedule and explain some of what is going to go on.

Team Chinese-Taipei from World Magic Cup 2012

Quick explanation since there might be confusion for new players:

  • World Magic Cup - This tournament features national teams from countries around the world. Last year, Puerto Rico and Chinese Taipei duked it out in the finals before Chinese Taipei won it all.
  • World Championship - This was known as the Magic Players Championship last year. It is the sixteen best players in the world battling it out in a high stakes tournament that pits them against each other round after round.

Yuuya Watanabe, winner of the Magic Players Championship 2012

If you happened to miss it, definitely check out the feature by Rich Hagon on DailyMTG.com for a deeper discussion about the stories and what is happening. Below is just a quick guide to what's happening each day.

Wednesday, July 31, 2013

Wednesday is all about the World Championship. Sixteen of the world's best players will face off with Modern Masters Draft (Rounds 1–3) and Standard for Rounds 4–6.

Thursday, August 1, 2013

On Thursday, the World Championship competitors will start the day off drafting Magic 2014 in Rounds 7–9 and then playing Modern to finish the day for Rounds 10–12.

Friday, August 2, 2013

On Friday, we switch away from the World Championship and turn to the teams in the World Magic Cup. The teams will build Magic 2014 Sealed before then competing with Unified Standard. Unified Standard means that the teams must play Standard decks, but no card can be represented more than four times total in all of each team's decks.

Saturday, August 3, 2013

On Saturday, we'll battle with Return to Ravnica Block Team Sealed (each team receives twelve booster packs, four of each set in Return to Ravnica Block) where they must build three team decks out of a shared pool of cards. Then for the second part of the day we're back to Unified Standard to determine which teams advance from group play.

Sunday, August 4, 2013

Sunday is perhaps the most exciting day in Magic, ever. The day will begin with Unified Standard as we watch the World Magic Cup Top 8 duke it out until one nation stands atop. Once that is done it's time for the Top 4 from the World Championship to close out this amazing week of Magic as they in turn compete playing Modern.

Broadcast Schedule

So that's what's happening in Amsterdam, let's talk about your experience at home. We will be doing five days of Magic coverage for the event—that's five days of live streaming and five days of written content!

Since we're broadcasting live from Amsterdam, and this event takes place across weekdays, we're going to be rebroadcasting the day's events a half hour after we end each day's broadcast. You'll be able to visit either Twitch.tv/magic (beware the chat) or wizards.com/webcast and view SPOILER-FREE. We'll be keeping both of those pages as spoiler free as possible (beware the Twitch chat, though.)

Spoiler-conscious viewers should also consider avoiding DailyMTG.com's coverage as well as social media lest they have match results spoiled.

Here is a breakdown of the start times for the live broadcast each day, broken out by timezones. It's much harder for us to predict the start of the rebroadcast given the dynamic nature of Magic tournaments.

City Wednesday,
July 31
Thursday, August 1 Friday, August 2 Saturday, August 3 Sunday, August 4
Amsterdam Noon Noon 11 a.m. 11 a.m. 9 a.m.
Los Angeles 3 a.m. 3 a.m. 2 a.m. 2 a.m. Midnight
Chicago 5 a.m. 5 a.m. 4 a.m. 4 a.m. 2 a.m.
New York 6 a.m. 6 a.m. 5 a.m. 5 a.m. 3 a.m.
Rio de Janeiro 7 a.m. 7 a.m. 6 a.m. 6 a.m. 4 a.m.
London 11 a.m. 11 a.m. 10 a.m. 10 a.m. 8 a.m.
Paris Noon Noon 11 a.m. 11 a.m. 9 a.m.
Berlin Noon Noon 11 a.m. 11 a.m. 9 a.m.
Moscow 2 p.m. 2 p.m. 1 p.m. 1 p.m. 11 a.m.
Tokyo 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 6 p.m. 6 p.m. 4 p.m.
Sydney 8 p.m. 8 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 5 p.m.

Find other corresponding start times around the world here.

Latest Feature Articles

CARD PREVIEW

Exclusive Cards in Hour of Devastation Planeswalker Decks by, Blake Rasmussen

Once again, we have two Planeswalker Decks being released with Hour of Devastation, this time featuring the visages of Nicol Bolas and Nissa. Should you go looking for one of these decks,...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Feature Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All

We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any link on this page or by clicking Yes, you are giving your consent for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more