Magic Online Announcements August 30, 2016

Posted in Magic Online on August 31, 2016

By David Whitfield

David works on the Magic community team as a content specialist. He spends his days writing about Magic Online and trying to play too many colors at once in Limited.

What Is the Magic Online Weekly Announcements Blog?

Every Tuesday, we round up all of the biggest Magic Online news for the Weekly Announcements Blog.

Check in weekly for the latest updates!


Quick Links


Draft Leagues Come to Magic Online on September 7

The release of Magic Online Draft Leagues is almost upon us, allowing you to Draft whenever you want, on your schedule! Draft League Events hit Magic Online with the September 7 Magic Online update. In the meantime, get the full details on what to expect from Draft Leagues in the original announcement article.

Top


In Case You Missed It: Announcing You Make The Cube

Calling all aspiring Cube crafters! We're looking for a new Cube to compliment the Vintage and Legacy Cubes, but we want to know what kind of Cube you would like to play. Submit your pet Cube project to the You Make the Cube contest, Magic R&D will pick their favorites, and we'll put them to a vote!

The winning Cube designer will get sweet prizes and will go down in history as the designer of the next great Magic Online Cube! Get the full details here.

Top


Pro Tour Aether Revolt Qualifiers and Season Changes

A schedule of Pro Tour Qualifier Preliminaries was just announced for Pro Tour Aether Revolt and we've made a few changes for the upcoming season.

Starting with the Aether Revolt Pro Tour Qualifier season, we are shifting prizes for Top 8 players from the Magic Online Championship Series to the Pro Tour Qualifier events. Instead of each player in the Top 8 earning 15 Qualifier Points, players who finish 2nd-8th place will receive a PTQ Finals token so they can play in another PTQ Finals event without needing to qualify again through a preliminary.

Also beginning in the upcoming PTQ season, we'll be adding several new PTQ Qualifier times on Monday and Tuesday to accommodate different time zones and create more qualification opportunities on more days! Constructed PTQ Events will now have Preliminary Events on Mondays at 5:30 p.m. PT/12a.m. UTC and Tuesdays at 8:30 a.m. PT/3:00 p.m. UTC. Limited PTQ Events will have Preliminaries on Mondays at 3:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. UTC and Tuesdays at 10:30 a.m. PT/5:30 p.m. UTC.

Please Note: For the first week of Pro Tour Aether Revolt Preliminaries, red PTQ tokens will be awarded. Blue tokens that are currently in player collections will be removed during the September 7 downtime and Pro Tour Aether Revolt Preliminaries will begin awarding blue tokens after that point. Normally, this switch would occur on August 31, immediately following the end of the Kaladesh season, but it is a skipped downtime week, so the rotation will be delayed until September 7.

Find out how to qualify for Pro Tour Aether Revolt from the comfort of your own home with Magic Online Pro Tour Qualifiers!

Top


Eldritch Moon Standard Championship Finals On September 4

It's Magic Online Eldritch Moon Championship season! There are just a few more opportunities two qualify for the Shadows over Innistrad Standard Championship this weekend, with the last Standard Championship Qualifier running at 9:30 p.m. PT/4:30 a.m. UTC today, September 30. Qualified players can join the event on September 4. Get the full event details here.

Top


The Year of Modern Flashbacks Continues with Rise of the Eldrazi

It's 2016: The Year of Modern Flashbacks! If you want to build up a collection for Modern, these Flashback Drafts add everything you draft to you collection once the event is over. Even if Modern isn't your thing, you can enjoy a leisurely Draft through the planes of the past with rotating formats each week!

Zendikar-Zendikar-Worldwake Flashback Drafts run until Wednesday, August 31, at 10:00 a.m. PT/5:00 p.m. UTC and are followed up with triple Rise of the Eldrazi Drafts. Get the full schedule here and mark your calendar for the formats you're most excited about!

Top


Vintage Super League Finals

This week, it's the conclusion of Vintage Super League Season 5! Watch Eric Froehlich face Shuhei Nakamura in the Finals in the Tuesday, September 30, episode at 5:00 p.m. PT/12:00 a.m. UTC on twitch.tv/magic!

Top


TRIPLE Pro Tour Qualifier Weekend

Attention all Pro Tour hopefuls: there's a TRIPLE Pro Tour Qualifier (PTQ) weekend coming up! Standard Pro Tour Qualifier Preliminaries and the Shadows over Innistrad-Eldritch Moon Sealed Pro Tour Qualifier Preliminaries begin Thursday, September 1, and run through Tuesday, September 6. The Standard Finals will take place on Saturday, September 3, at 9:00 a.m. PT/4:00 p.m. UTC and the Shadows over Innistrad-Eldritch Moon Sealed Finals are Sunday, September 4, AND Monday, September 5, at 7:00 a.m. PT/2:00 p.m. UTC.

And remember, this is the last weekend to use Jace PTQ Finals tokens before they expire!

Learn more about Magic Online Pro Tour Qualifiers here.

Top


Vintage Daily Time Shift

In an effort to focus Vintage Dailies at times when they're in highest demand, we'll be shifting the 7:00 a.m PT/2:00 p.m. UTC Vintage Daily Events to 3:00 p.m. PT/10:00 p.m. UTC. Get the full schedule of Vintage Daily Events here.

Top


Reminder: No Downtime on August 31

In an effort to make sure Magic Online is available when you want to play Magic, we’re working on ways to reduce the number of times we have to bring the system offline for maintenance. As a first step we’re simply going to eliminate at least one downtime each month.

Here are the dates of the exact downtimes we’ll be skipping in the second half of 2016:

  • August 31
  • September 14
  • October 12
  • November 2
  • November 9
  • November 30
  • December 14

Top


Ongoing and Upcoming Events

Head on over to our shiny new event calendar at MTGO.com/Calendar for an easy-to-digest breakdown of events happening all across Magic Online.

Top

Latest Magic Online Articles

MAGIC DIGITAL

November 23, 2021

Spotlight Cube Series – Live the Dream Cube Season 3 by, David McDarby

Hello, everyone! It's your resident Magic Online product manager again, and I'm back for Season 3 of Live the Dream Cube. So buckle up for the cube with the most gold cards, most mana, an...

Learn More

BLOG

November 23, 2021

Magic Online Announcements, November 23, 2021 by, Wizards of the Coast

Magic Online Announcements, November 23, 2021 What Is the Magic Online Weekly Announcements Blog? Every Tuesday, we round up all the biggest Magic Online news for the Weekly Announcemen...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Magic Online Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All