Magic Online Announcements March 1, 2016

Posted in Magic Online on March 1, 2016

By David Whitfield

David works on the Magic community team as a content specialist. He spends his days writing about Magic Online and trying to play too many colors at once in Limited.

What Is the Magic Online Weekly Announcements Blog?

Every Tuesday, we round up all of the biggest Magic Online news for the Weekly Announcements Blog.

Check in weekly for the latest updates!


Quick Links


Sealed Leagues Begin March 2!

Head on over to check out last week's big Sealed Leagues announcement and get caught up on all of the details for the Wednesday, March 2 launch!

Top


Upcoming Ravnica: City of Guilds Streamer Showdown on March 17

If you've never seen a Streamer Showdown before, they come in two eight-player Draft pods that feature some of the best streamers in the community brawling with the latest Magic Online sets. If you're trying to improve your game, Magic Online streamers are some of the best players out there—and some of the best teachers, too. Even if you're already a Magic pro, throw your support behind one of the competitors and cheer them on from their Twitch chat!

This Streamer Showdown will feature an upcoming Year of Modern Flashbacks format: Triple Ravnica: City of Guilds! Check out the streamer lineup below, then stop by your favorite streamer's Twitch channel on Thursday, March 17, at 1:00 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (PT) (UTC -7) for the latest Streamer Showdown.

Thursday, March 17, 1:00 p.m. PT (UTC -7) Event

Thursday, March 17, 6:00 p.m. PT (UTC -7) Event

Top


The Year of Modern Flashbacks Continues

It's 2016: The Year of Modern Flashbacks! If you want to build up a collection for Modern, these Flashback Drafts add everything you draft to you collection once the event is over. Even if Modern isn't your thing, you can enjoy a leisurely Draft through the planes of the past with rotating formats each week!

Kamigawa Block Flashback Drafts run until the Wednesday, March 9 downtime and are followed up by triple Ninth Edition. Get the full schedule here and mark your calendar for the formats you're most excited about!

Top


Oath of the Gatewatch Standard Championship Qualifiers This Week

The Magic Online Oath of the Gatewatch Standard Championship Finals are this weekend, Sunday, March 6, for those who qualified last week! Check out the winning decklists from last weekend's Limited Championship Finals here and get the full event details here.

Top


The Vintage Super League Season Four Playoffs

Season Four of the Vintage Super League has moved into the playoffs! Watch the Vintage Super League every Tuesday night at 6:00 p.m. PT (UTC-8) on twitch.tv/magic.

Decklists for the competitors can be found here.

Top


Upcoming Legacy Challenge on March 12

The very first Legacy Challenge is coming up on March 12! Big prizes are on the line for the Top 8, like the ten original dual lands, Rishadan Port, Wasteland, and more. Get the full event details here.

Top


Final Magic Online Pro Tour Qualifiers for Pro Tour Shadows over Innistrad

Attention all Pro Tour hopefuls, there's a double Pro Tour Qualifier (PTQ) weekend coming up! Standard Pro Tour Qualifier Preliminaries and the Battle for Zendikar/Oath of the Gatewatch Sealed Pro Tour Qualifier Preliminaries begin Thursday, March 3, and run through Sunday, March 6.

Please note, these are the final Magic Online Pro Tour Qualifiers for Pro Tour Shadows over Innistrad. After this weekend, Magic Online PTQs will switch over to qualifying for Pro Tour Eldritch Moon. If you still have red Pro Tour Qualifier finals tokens in your account, you have until the end of the Pro Tour Eldritch Moon qualifier season to use them.

Learn more about Magic Online Pro Tour Qualifiers here.

Top


Reminder: Place Redemption Orders Before March 16

In an effort to make sure Magic Online is available when you want to play Magic, we’re working on ways to reduce the number of times we have to bring the system offline for maintenance. As a first step we’re simply going to eliminate at least one downtime each month.

Here are the dates of the exact downtimes we’ll be skipping in the first half of 2016:

  • March 16
  • April 6
  • April 20
  • May 11
  • June 8
  • June 22

During these weeks without a downtime Magic Online will NOT be processing set redemptions. This means that if you're thinking about redemption, please submit your order before the March 9 downtime if you want your order processed before March 16. If your order isn't made prior to March 9, it won't be processed until March 23.

Top


Downtime for March 2, 2016

  • All tournaments will close Wednesday, March 2, at 5:00 a.m. PT (13:00 UTC)
  • Store and trade activity will be suspended at approximately 7:45 a.m. PT (15:45 UTC)
  • The system will be down from 8:00 a.m. PT (16:00 UTC) until 12:00 p.m. PT (20:00 UTC)

Top


Build Notes

General

  • General | Players can now choose to close the window that appears when blocking another player to cancel the reporting process. Additionally, players are no longer required to enter text into this window.
  • Collection | Decks purchased from the Store once again automatically create a decklist in the purchasing player’s Collection.
  • General | Several bugs not listed elsewhere that caused crashes have been resolved.

Top


Ongoing and Upcoming Events

Now–March 2Year of Modern Flashbacks: Champions of Kamigawa/Champions of Kamigawa/Betrayers of Kamigawa

March 2–9Year of Modern Flashbacks: Kamigawa Block

March 3–6Standard Pro Tour Qualifier Preliminaries

March 5Standard Pro Tour Qualifier Finals 9:00 a.m. PT (17:00 UTC)

March 3–6Battle for Zendikar/Oath of the Gatewatch Sealed Pro Tour Qualifier Preliminaries

March 6Battle for Zendikar/Oath of the Gatewatch Sealed Pro Tour Qualifier Finals 7:00 a.m. PT (15:00 UTC)

March 9–16Year of Modern Flashbacks: Triple Ninth Edition

March 12Legacy Challenge 11:00 a.m. PT (19:00 UTC)

March 16–23Year of Modern Flashbacks: Triple Ravnica: City of Guilds

March 192016 Magic Online Championship Series Monthly Event 9:00 a.m. PT (16:00 UTC)

March 26The Power Nine Challenge 11:00 a.m. PT (18:00 UTC)

Top

Latest Magic Online Articles

BLOG

January 11, 2022

Magic Online Announcements, January 11, 2022 by, Wizards of the Coast

Magic Online Announcements, January 11, 2022 What Is the Magic Online Weekly Announcements Blog? Every Tuesday, we round up all the biggest Magic Online news for the Weekly Announcement...

Learn More

BLOG

January 4, 2022

Magic Online Announcements, January 4, 2022 by, Wizards of the Coast

Magic Online Announcements, January 4, 2022 What Is the Magic Online Weekly Announcements Blog? Every Tuesday, we round up all the biggest Magic Online news for the Weekly Announcements...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Magic Online Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All