Magic Online Announcements September 13, 2016

Posted in Magic Online on September 13, 2016

By David Whitfield

David works on the Magic community team as a content specialist. He spends his days writing about Magic Online and trying to play too many colors at once in Limited.

What Is the Magic Online Weekly Announcements Blog?

Every Tuesday, we round up all of the biggest Magic Online news for the Weekly Announcements Blog.

Check in weekly for the latest updates!


Quick Links


In Case You Missed It: Draft Leagues Are Now Available!

Magic Online Draft Leagues are available now, allowing you to Draft whenever you want, on your schedule! Get the full details on Draft Leagues in the original announcement article.

Top


The Special Full Innistrad Sealed League Begins Tomorrow

Visit Innistrad in the Full Innistrad Sealed League Event, running on Magic Online September 14–21!

Players can enter the Full Innistrad Sealed League starting September 14, 10:00 a.m. PT/5:00 p.m. UTC. Entrants get two Innistrad, one Dark Ascension, two Shadows over Innistrad, and one Eldritch Moon booster pack to build from. Once your deck is built, play five matches before the League closes on September 20, 7:00 p.m. PT/2:00 a.m. UTC.

Enjoy your visit to Innistrad, and don’t forget a Jar of Eyeballs to commemorate your trip!

Top


The Submission Deadline for the "You Make the Cube" Contest is September 14

Calling all aspiring Cube crafters! We're looking for a new Cube to compliment the Vintage and Legacy Cubes, but we want to know what kind of Cube you would like to play. Submit your pet Cube project to the You Make the Cube contest, Magic R&D will pick their favorites, and we'll put them to a vote! The deadline for submissions is September 14, 11:59 p.m. PT/September 15 6:59 a.m. UTC!

The winning Cube designer will get sweet prizes and will go down in history as the designer of the next great Magic Online Cube! Get the full details here.

Top


Upcoming Legacy Cube Streamer Showdown on September 22

If you've never seen a Streamer Showdown before, they come in two eight-player pods that feature some of the best streamers in the community brawling with the latest Magic Online sets, Cubes, and Flashback Drafts. If you're trying to improve your game, Magic Online streamers are some of the best players out there—and some of the best teachers, too. Even if you're already a Magic pro, throw your support behind one of the competitors and cheer them on from their Twitch chat!

This Streamer Showdown will feature a Legacy Cube Draft! Check out the streamer lineup below, then stop by your favorite streamer's Twitch channel on Thursday, September 22, at 1:00 p.m. PT/8:00 p.m. UTC and 6:00 p.m. PT/1:00 a.m. UTC for the latest Streamer Showdown.

Thursday, September 22, 1:00 p.m. PT/8:00 p.m. UTC Event

Thursday, September 22, 6:00 p.m. PT/1:00 a.m. UTC Event

Top


The Legacy Cube Returns, September 21-October 7

The Legacy Cube makes its triumphant return on September 21, following the downtime and runs all the way up to the Magic Online Kaladesh Prerelease on October 7, 10:00 a.m. PT/5:00 p.m. UTC! Get the full event details and see what's changed in the latest iteration of the Legacy Cube here.

Top


The Year of Modern Flashbacks Continues with Scars of Mirrodin

It's 2016: The Year of Modern Flashbacks! If you want to build up a collection for Modern, these Flashback Drafts add everything you draft to you collection once the event is over. Even if Modern isn't your thing, you can enjoy a leisurely Draft through the planes of the past with rotating formats each week!

Magic 2011 Flashback Drafts run until September 14, 10:00 a.m. PT/5:00 p.m. UTC, and are followed up with triple Scars of Mirrodin Drafts. Get the full schedule here and mark your calendar for the formats you're most excited about!

Top


Double Pro Tour Qualifier Weekend

Attention all Pro Tour hopefuls: there's a double Pro Tour Qualifier (PTQ) weekend coming up! Standard Pro Tour Qualifier Preliminaries and the Shadows over Innistrad-Eldritch Moon Sealed Pro Tour Qualifier Preliminaries begin Thursday, September 15, and run through Tuesday, September 20. The Standard Finals will take place on Saturday, September 17, at 9:00 a.m. PT/4:00 p.m. UTC and the Shadows over Innistrad-Eldritch Moon Sealed Finals are Sunday, September 18, at 7:00 a.m. PT/2:00 p.m. UTC.

Learn more about Magic Online Pro Tour Qualifiers here.

Top


Reminder: No Downtime on September 14

In an effort to make sure Magic Online is available when you want to play Magic, we’re working on ways to reduce the number of times we have to bring the system offline for maintenance. As a first step we’re simply going to eliminate at least one downtime each month.

Here are the dates of the exact downtimes we’ll be skipping in the second half of 2016:

  • September 14
  • October 12
  • November 2
  • November 9
  • November 30
  • December 14

Top


Ongoing and Upcoming Events

Head on over to our shiny new event calendar at MTGO.com/Calendar for an easy-to-digest breakdown of events happening all across Magic Online.

Top

Latest Magic Online Articles

MAGIC DIGITAL

November 23, 2021

Spotlight Cube Series – Live the Dream Cube Season 3 by, David McDarby

Hello, everyone! It's your resident Magic Online product manager again, and I'm back for Season 3 of Live the Dream Cube. So buckle up for the cube with the most gold cards, most mana, an...

Learn More

BLOG

November 23, 2021

Magic Online Announcements, November 23, 2021 by, Wizards of the Coast

Magic Online Announcements, November 23, 2021 What Is the Magic Online Weekly Announcements Blog? Every Tuesday, we round up all the biggest Magic Online news for the Weekly Announcemen...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Magic Online Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All