Legends of Chess

Posted in Arcana on July 11, 2002

By Wizards of the Coast

The original design file for Legends contained six full cycles of creatures representing the six different pieces in chess. Each color had a Pawn, a Rook, a Knight, a Queen, and a King that were identical across the colors; for example, the red King and the blue King did exactly the same thing.

Almost all the pieces were cut in development, and while a few of the abilities were used elsewhere (the green Rook inspired Jacques le Vert, for instance), only the green Pawn made it through relatively unscathed. Its mana cost was changed from to (in those days 2G meant two mana, one of which was green), and it was given protection from black and renamed Whirling Dervish.

Below is the playtest sheet for the red and green chess pieces for your perusal. The other three colors were exactly the same.

Latest Arcana Articles


December 10, 2015

Best of 2015 and Holiday Treats by, Blake Rasmussen

With the holidays upon us, the crew at DailyMTG and the rest of Wizards of the Coast is going to be taking a bit of a break. But that doesn't mean there's nothing going on for you, gentle...

Learn More



Arcana Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All