The October 13, 2017 Update

Posted in Daily Magic Update on October 13, 2017

By Blake Rasmussen

Blake is the content manager for DailyMTG.com, making him the one you should email if you have thoughts on the website, good or less good (or not good). He's a longtime coverage reporter and hasn't turned down a game of Magic in any format ever.

The Daily Magic Update is a roundup of everything Magic you should know on October 13, 2017. Today's Update is brought to you by Extra Life, one of the best things Wizards of the Coast does. Yes, even better than Innistrad sets.

What to Watch Today and This Weekend

  1. Extra Life | twitch.tv/magic | Now until 6 a.m. PT Saturday (9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC)

Wizards of the Coast is streaming and raising money for the Seattle Children's Hospital as part of Extra Life, which has become a major yearly effort for tons of people at our company. You can win cool prizes just by donating, and all the donated money goes to the Children's Hospital. So give money for a great cause, get cool stuff, and watch cool people do fun things.

  1. United States Nationals | twitch.tv/magic | Saturday at 9 a.m. PT/noon ET/4 p.m. UTC

The final Nationals weekend of the season is here! And with it, we'll be streaming the entire United States Nationals tournament. Reid Duke has already secured his spot as US team captain, so he'll be offering commentary all weekend as we watch to see who secures spots alongside him. Maybe Owen Turtenwald and William Jensen, perchance?

  1. StarCityGames.com Charlotte Open | twitch.tv/scgtour | 7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. UTC

The StarCityGames.com Open moves on to Modern, as we check in on a format we haven't visited in a while. Once again, the number of Cruel Ultimatums will be far too low.

Today's Must

  1. New Ixalan Legends l Game Knights #11 l Magic: The Gathering Gameplay Commander/EDH | The Command Zone | Jimmy Wong and Josh Lee Kwai

These are the best-looking Commander gameplay videos on the web—plus they're just fun. Cosplayers Ashlen Rose and Christine Sprankle join Jimmy and Josh as all four of them play new Ixalan legends while in costume. Suffice to say, Ashlen and Christine's costume's are a step or five above Jimmy and Josh.

After Those, Read, Watch, or Listen to These

  1. The GAM Podcast: Episode 49: What It's Like to Play Magic at a World Championship Level | StarCityGames | Gerry Thompson and Bryan Gottlieb

Fresh off competing for the Top 4 late into the World Championship, Gerry Thompson talks about what it's like to play at the highest of high levels.

  1. Ixalan, the Inquisition, and a Playwrighting Nun | Hipsters of the Coast | Beck Holden

Holden has a been working on a literal PhD in (theater) history related to Spain at it's exploratory peak—the very era Ixalan draws inspiration from. Holden writes an incredibly informative, deep piece delving through the similarities and differences between Ixalan's story and actual history. Definitely a fascinating read.

  1. Standard Temur Energy Deck Guide | ChannelFireball | Reid Duke

Duke, as usual, gives a clear, focused picture of the Temur Energy deck William Jensen used to win Worlds (which Reid and Owen Turtenwald played and built with him). This is everything you could possibly want to know about Temur Energy just ahead of Nationals Weekend. Nicely timed, Reid. Nicely timed.

  1. The Best Decks in the Worlds | Top Level Podcast | Patrick Chapin and Mike Flores

Worlds left us with many questions, and Chapin and Flores have, well, some of the answers.

What People Are Talking About

Wait, they're just now in their awkward teenager phase?

Congratulations to LRR! We're thrilled to work with you guys and we hope you keep making us laugh for fourteen more years.

Thankfully, no one was hurt. Pastimes has even been in good humor about the whole thing, and you can see updates on their Facebook page as they clean up. Given that everyone was okay, the community had a little fun with the accident on Reddit.

Deck of the Day

  1. Black-Green Explore | TCGplayer | Craig Wescoe

Craig Wescoe went exploring with one of Ixalan's new mechanics and found something special. Did Merfolk Branchwalker and Winding Constrictor just become best friends?

Find out by checking out the first video from their playlist below.

Latest Daily Magic Update Articles

DAILY MAGIC UPDATE

November 28, 2017

The November 28, 2017 Update by, Katie Allison

The Daily Magic Update is a roundup of everything Magic you should know on November 28, 2017. And one big thing you should know is that this will be the last Daily Magic Update ever! Don'...

Learn More

DAILY MAGIC UPDATE

November 27, 2017

The November 27, 2017 Update by, Katie Allison

The Daily Magic Update is a roundup of everything Magic you should know on November 27, 2017. Today's Update is brought to you by Grand Prix Lyon! With the World Magic Cup so close, the t...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Daily Magic Update Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All