The September 29, 2017 Update

Posted in Daily Magic Update on September 29, 2017

By Trick Jarrett

Patrick "Trick" Jarrett oversees web content and social media for Magic, and acts as the publisher of DailyMTG.com and Magic content on the web. He's an ardent Commander player and lover of the game he's played since Ice Age.

Hello friends!

The Daily Magic Update is a roundup of everything Magic you should know on September 29, 2017. Today's Update is brought to you by . . . Blake's insatiable need to be out of the office. That's right, Blake was on his honeymoon, came into the office for three days, and has already left again. So, I'm helping cover for him, like I always do.

For those of you who don't know me, I'm Trick Jarrett. I used to run DailyMTG, these days I oversee our global team of community managers, among other things. You can follow me at @TrickMTG.

Important Reminder

  1. See! I'm already shaking up Blake's precious system. Muahaha.

Today is the release of Ixalan! With the release today, Standard is also rotating! A mythical event that hasn't happened in quite a while. So, if your Standard deck contains Battle for Zendikar, Oath of the Gatewatch, Shadows over Innistrad, or Eldritch Moon cards, you're going to need to change those out before playing in a Standard event. You probably already knew this, but I care about you (unlike Blake) and I want you to have fun at Friday Night Magic, so I wanted to make sure you knew.

What to Watch This Weekend

  1. Grand Prix Providence | twitch.tv/magic | Saturday at 7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. UTC; and Sunday at 7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC

The best players in the world join forces into teams of three. Why three? Two is too few and four is too many, obviously. Will they all end up losing to Peach Garden Oath (Reid Duke, William Jensen, and Owen Turtenwald)? Maybe. I'm not an expert, but that's something that might happen.

  1. StarCityGames.com Dallas Open | twitch.tv/scgtour | 8:30 a.m. PT/11:30 a.m. ET/3:30 p.m. UTC

Time to see what Ixalan Standard is all about. Will there be Dinosaurs? Probably. Pirates? Likely. Plus you can see some holdovers from pre-rotation Standard, like a Khenra or two. Be sure to check out Brennan Decandio's Information Overload for his predictions of the event.

Today's Set Reviews

  1. Ixalan Constructed Set Review: Black | ChannelFireball | Luis Scott-Vargas
  2. Ixalan Standard Set Review: Green and the Rest | Gathering Magic | Ali Aintrazi

Luis and Ali continue their deep-dives into Ixalan for Constructed formats. With how much we like cycles here, there's no way we'd miss a chance to highlight the continuations of these columns.

After Those, Read, Watch, or Listen to These

  1. A First Look at Ixalan Standard Results | TCGplayer | Seth Manfield

2015 World Champion Seth Manfield looks at the landscape of the new Standard and shares the top Standard decks based on the early Magic Online results utilizing Ixalan and the rotation.

  1. Ixalan Post-Prerelease Thoughts! Sealed Deck Info for Magic: The Gathering | Magic the Amateuring

Megan and Maria podcast about Sealed and Draft through the lens of Pirates, Dinosaurs, Vampires, and Merfolk . . . Cats and . . . socks? Seems right on par for these two awesome ladies.

  1. Flavor Tour of Ixalan | Hipsters of the Coast | Beck Holden

Beck Holden throws his tricorn Pirate hat into the ring as a voice for . . . wait for it . . . Vorthos. In his first Vorthos review, he does a stellar job looking at the art and talking about things that art lovers like. Angles of view, and colors, and story. A lightweight and fun read to look closer at the amazing art of Ixalan.

  1. Ixalan Prerelease Recap | TapTapConcede

Cam and Serge sit down and host a show on NPR share their stories and thoughts from the Ixalan Prerelease. Easy listening for a commute or while you're going about your day. Their calm tones intermix with excitement at cards, and gameplay stories make this quite the enjoyable watch or listen.

What People Are Talking About

Yesterday was #NationalPoetryDay and we proved that Magic fans are poets—and they sure showed it! Take a read through the replies to this tweet for some great tweet-size poems.

Deck of the Day

  1. Craig Wescoe's White-Black Vampires

Craig "I can't quit white creatures" Wescoe gives us a White-Black Vampires list for the Magic players who simply must cast white creatures so that they can turn them sideways.

White-Black Vampires

Download Arena Decklist

Latest Daily Magic Update Articles

DAILY MAGIC UPDATE

November 28, 2017

The November 28, 2017 Update by, Katie Allison

The Daily Magic Update is a roundup of everything Magic you should know on November 28, 2017. And one big thing you should know is that this will be the last Daily Magic Update ever! Don'...

Learn More

DAILY MAGIC UPDATE

November 27, 2017

The November 27, 2017 Update by, Katie Allison

The Daily Magic Update is a roundup of everything Magic you should know on November 27, 2017. Today's Update is brought to you by Grand Prix Lyon! With the World Magic Cup so close, the t...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Daily Magic Update Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All