The November 17, 2017 Update

Posted in Daily Magic Update on November 17, 2017

By Blake Rasmussen

Blake is the content manager for DailyMTG.com, making him the one you should email if you have thoughts on the website, good or less good (or not good). He's a longtime coverage reporter and hasn't turned down a game of Magic in any format ever.

The Daily Magic Update is a roundup of everything Magic you should know on November 17, 2017. Today's Update is brought to you by slightly cryptic commands. Partially cryptic commands?

What to Watch This Weekend

  1. Grand Prix Portland | twitch.tv/magic | Saturday and Sunday at 9:15 a.m. PT/12:15 p.m. ET/4:15 p.m. UTC

Temur Energy continues to menace Standard, but new innovations are popping up. Big Red, Approach of the Second sun variants, and even the odd Grixis Control list are working to break through. Tune in to Portland to see who cracks the code this week.

  1. StarCityGames.com Baltimore Open | twitch.tv/scgtour | Saturday and Sunday at 7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. UTC

For a twist, the SCG Open is hosting a Team Constructed tournament where teams of three play Standard, Modern, and Legacy.

What to Watch Today

  1. Unstable Preview Stream | Trick Jarrett, Blake Rasmussen, and Ben Hayes | twitch.tv/magic | 1 p.m. PT/4 p.m. ET/8 p.m. UTC

Oh, hey, that's me! Well, I guess I know what I'm doing this afternoon. Join Trick, myself, and lead Unstable developer Ben Hayes as we preview—well, some number of cards. It's hard to say. It's all going to get a little . . . random.

Today's Must

  1. Iconic Masters with Wedge and The Professor | Game Knights #12 l Magic: The Gathering Gameplay | The Command Zone | Jimmy Wong, Josh Lee Kwai, The Professor, and Wedge

To celebrate Iconic Masters (and we do mean celebrate), Jimmy and Josh brought The Professor and Wedge to Game Knights to play with the iconic set.

Today's Previews

Every day I'll highlight the day's previews found elsewhere on the interwebs (read: not on DailyMTG).

  1. Commandercast the Unpreview | Commander Cast

Roll, roll, roll, and somewhere in there, Commander Cast will share a preview card or two with you.

  1. Very Cryptic Command | Top Level Podcast | Patrick Chapin and Mike Flores

If you ask me, this could have been even more convoluted. We went easy on you here.

  1. How Magic: The Gathering's Latest Set Will Break All the Rules (Exclusive) | Nerdist | Kyle Hill

Spider Monkey Scientist! Sure, it does things with dice rolling and all that, but—SPIDER MONKEY SCIENTIST!

  1. PAX Unplugged | twitch.tv/pax

The boss always gets the good stuff, like stealing people's turns and giving them to someone else who isn't even in the game, or making your graveyard an extension of your battlefield. Check out the PAX video archive if you missed them!

This one just tickled me exactly the right way. I'm still not entirely sure why.

Never look a Gift Horse in the mouth. Unless that mouth is full of Goblins. Actually, maybe still don't.

Previews to Watch For

  1. Desert Bus | LoadingReadyRun | twitch.tv/desert bus

LoadingReadyRun is running Desert Bus starting today, and as part of their broadcast, they'll be sharing an entirely normal preview card. Entirely normal.

  1. @Wizards_Magic

And, finally, today's "ya gotta work for it a bit" preview will be coming to you via the Twitters.

Top 25

  1. This Week's Top 25, or "People are Still Playing Tournament Magic, Despite Unstable"

Very quietly, Kelvin Chew of Singapore has made himself the fifth best Magic player in the world—for this week.

Take that in for a moment. Chew might not be the most recognizable name, particularly outside of the Asia-Pacific region, but he's been killing it lately. And this week, he killed it all the way to No. 5 in our rankings.

The biggest winner this week—and possibly of the past few months—is Corey Baumeister, now ranked No. 14 in the world after his fourth Constructed Grand Prix Top 8 in a row. His brother Brad Nelson, who sneaks in a Grand Prix Top 8 now and then, also went up a place.

Meanwhile, Matthew Severa jumped back into the rankings after a bit of an absence, displacing Steven Rubin.

Rank Name Points Change Previous
1 Seth Manfield 86.25 1
2 Reid Duke 80.66 2
3 Paulo Vitor Damo da Rosa 73.49 3
4 William Jensen 71.43 4
5 Kelvin Chew 71.41 +3 8
6 Owen Turtenwald 71.12 -1 5
7 Márcio Carvalho 69.64 -1 6
8 Martin Jůza 69.54 -1 7
9 Brad Nelson 68.83 +1 10
10 Samuel Pardee 66.10 -1 9
11 Shota Yasooka 65.39 11
12 Yuuya Watanabe 63.39 12
13 Lee Shi Tian 58.99 13
14 Corey Baumeister 56.18 +6 20
15 Javier Dominguez 56.14 15
16 Mike Sigrist 55.46 -2 14
17 Brian Braun-Duin 53.45 17
18 Christian Calcano 53.43 -2 16
19 Samuel Black 52.85 -1 18
20 Pascal Maynard 52.33 -1 19
21 Alexander Hayne 52.02 +3 24
22 Matthew Severa 51.73 NR
23 Matthew Nass 51.58 -2 21
24 Martin Müller 51.14 -2 22
25 Carlos Romao 50.00 -2 23

Dropped from rankings: Steven Rubin

Latest Daily Magic Update Articles

DAILY MAGIC UPDATE

November 28, 2017

The November 28, 2017 Update by, Katie Allison

The Daily Magic Update is a roundup of everything Magic you should know on November 28, 2017. And one big thing you should know is that this will be the last Daily Magic Update ever! Don'...

Learn More

DAILY MAGIC UPDATE

November 27, 2017

The November 27, 2017 Update by, Katie Allison

The Daily Magic Update is a roundup of everything Magic you should know on November 27, 2017. Today's Update is brought to you by Grand Prix Lyon! With the World Magic Cup so close, the t...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Daily Magic Update Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All