2000 Magic: the Gathering Invitational Formats

Posted in Event Coverage

By Wizards of the Coast

by Mark Rosewater

The preliminary rounds of the Magic Invitational will consist of fifteen matches (best two out of three) with each player facing off against every other player once. The two players with the best record at the end of the fifteen rounds will meet in the finals. The finals will consist of five matches (best two out of three games each) with the two finalists playing each of the five formats. The winner will be the first player to win matches in three formats. Order of these final matches will be predetermined but can be changed if agreed upon by the two finalists.

The fifteen preliminary rounds will consist of five different formats: three constructed and two limited. Each format will be used for three matches.

Constructed Formats

Invitees will need to construct the following decks for the Invitational:

1) Classic - All tournament legal expansions will be used for this format. This format will use the banned and restricted list as of November 1, 2000:

Any ante card
Chaos Orb
Falling Star

Formerly But No Longer Banned (Now Restricted)
Mind Twist

Ancestral Recall
Black Lotus
Black Vise
Crop Rotation
Demonic Consultation
Demonic Tutor
Dream Halls
Enlightened Tutor
Frantic Search
Grim Monolith
Hurkyl's Recall
Library of Alexandria
Lotus Petal
Mana Crypt
Mana Vault
Memory Jar
Mind Over Matter
Mind Twist
Mox Diamond
Mox Emerald
Mox Jet
Mox Pearl
Mox Ruby
Mox Sapphire
Mystical Tutor
Sol Ring
Strip Mine
Stroke of Genius
Time Spiral
Time Walk
Tolarian Academy
Vampiric Tutor
Voltaic Key
Wheel of Fortune
Yawgmoth's Bargain
Yawgmoth's Will

2) B.Y.O.B. (Bring Your Own Block) - Decks for this format may use three expansions, one from each column below:

Column AColumn BColumn C
Ice AgeHomelandsAlliances
Urza's SagaUrza's LegacyUrza's Destiny
Mercadian MasquesNemesisProphecy

All cards banned or restricted in any format are banned in this format:

Amulet of Quoz (Ice Age)
Dark Ritual (Ice Age)
Demonic Consultation (Ice Age)
Necropotence (Ice Age)
Zuran Orb (Ice Age)
Timmerian Fiends (Homelands)
Thawing Glaciers (Alliances)
Dark Ritual (Mirage)
Enlightened Tutor (Mirage)
Mystical Tutor (Mirage)
Squandered Resources (Visions)
Vampiric Tutor (Visions)
Doomsday (Weatherlight)
Cursed Scroll (Tempest)
Dark Ritual (Tempest)
Earthcraft (Tempest)
Lotus Petal (Tempest)
Dream Halls (Stronghold)
Mind Over Matter (Exodus)
Recurring Nightmare (Exodus)
Dark Ritual (Urza's Saga)
Fluctuator (Urza's Saga)
Gaea's Cradle (Urza's Saga)
Serra's Sanctum (Urza's Saga)
Stroke of Genius (Urza's Saga)
Time Spiral (Urza's Saga)
Tolarian Academy (Urza's Saga)
Voltaic Key (Urza's Saga)
Windfall (Urza's Saga)
Yawgmoth's Bargain (Urza's Saga)
Yawgmoth's Will (Urza's Saga)
Crop Rotation (Urza's Legacy)
Frantic Search (Urza's Legacy)
Grim Monolith (Urza's Legacy)
Memory Jar (Urza's Legacy)
Tinker (Urza's Legacy)
Dark Ritual (Mercadian Masques)
Rishadan Port (Mercadian Masques)
Lin Sivvi, Defiant Hero (Nemesis)

3) Auction of Champions - All seventeen Pro Tour and World Championship winning constructed decks (listed below) will be auctioned off. The person who successfully bids on a deck in the draft will play that deck for all three rounds of this format. (Decks will be provided for this format.)

The auction will work as such. Players will be numbered one through sixteen based on their order of current standing in the tournament. The first player (number one) selects one of the seventeen decks. He must then place a bid on the nominated deck.

Bids must name a starting hand size and starting life total (seven cards, twenty life being the top bid). The next player must pass or declare a lower bid. If a player passes they are removed from the remainder of the bidding for the current deck.

Starting hand size is considered the primary bid with starting life total the secondary bid. This means that a bid of "five cards, twenty life" is considered lower than a bid of "six cards, one life". The player with the lowest bid plays that deck in the tournament.

After the bidding ends, the next player numerically (player number two if he did not take the first deck, for example) who has not yet nominated a deck, selects a new deck. If all players have nominated decks, the nomination returns to the player with the lowest number. After all sixteen players have drafted decks, the auction ends. Note this means that one deck will not be drafted.

The seventeen decks for the auction will be the following: (For full deck lists click here.)

1) Zak Dolan (World Championships '94)
2) Alexander Blumke (World Championships '95)
3) Michael Loconto (Pro Tour New York '96)
4) Olle Rade (Pro Tour Columbus '96)
5) Tom Chanpheng (World Championships '97)
6) Paul McCabe (Pro Tour Dallas '96)
7) Michael Long (Pro Tour Paris '97)
8) Jakub Slemr (World Championships '97)
9) Randy Buehler (Pro Tour Chicago '97)
10) David Price (Pro Tour Los Angeles '98)
11) Brian Selden (World Championships '98)
12) Tommi Hovi (Pro Tour Rome '98)
13) Casey McCarrell (Pro Tour New York '99)
14) Kai Budde (World Championships '99)
15) Bob Maher, Jr. (Pro Tour Chicago '99)
16) Sigurd Eskeland (Pro Tour New York '00)
17) Jon Finkel (World Championships '00)

Limited Formats

All limited events will have a forty card deck minimum size restriction. The following are the limited formats used at the 2000 Magic Invitational:

1) Duplicate - All competitors will receive an identical card mix from which to construct their deck.

2) Solomon Draft - This is a two player draft format. A randomly selected player begins by flipping up eight cards from the top of the card pile. He divides the eight cards into two piles (the piles need not be of the same size) allowing the other player to chose which pile to draft. The two players alternate dividing and drafting until all the cards have been selected. Each match will have a new draft involving different cards.

Latest Event Coverage Articles

December 4, 2021

Innistrad Championship Top 8 Decklists by, Adam Styborski

The Innistrad Championship has its Top 8 players! Congratulations to Christian Hauck, Toru Saito, Yuuki Ichikawa, Zachary Kiihne, Simon Görtzen, Yuta Takahashi, Riku Kumagai, and Yo Akaik...

Learn More

November 29, 2021

Historic at the Innistrad Championship by, Mani Davoudi

Throughout the last competitive season, we watched as Standard and Historic took the spotlight, being featured throughout the League Weekends and Championships. The formats evolved with e...

Learn More



Event Coverage Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All