2008 Magic World Championships Feature: Photo Essay - Worlds Kickoff

Posted in Event Coverage on December 11, 2008

By Craig Gibson and Josh Bennett

The Player Party on Wednesday with delicious dinner, and even more delicious bedlam! Successful registration means a free draft set, and that means smiling mages. AND A SHIRT! HOT DOG! Leading Player of the Year Shuhei Nakamura. Not shown: Legions of screaming schoolgirls. Hired Muscle Sheldon Menery poses with pink things. Just your typical crew of heroes, suited up for Justice. Jace Beleren auditions are going on just outside. Next time someone calls it a silly game, show them this. Magic Online demos for all and sundry, with bonus burrowing techie. National Champs get ready for the Flag Ceremony. A captive audience for the Opening Ceremonies. Master of Ceremonies Rich Hagon and Tournament Director Scott Larabee announce the National Teams. National Pride. John ‘Mort' Mortensen, the Pro Tour's commander in charge of all things televisual. Creator Richard Garfield, Vice President of Organized Play Chris Galvin, and Pro Tour Historian Brian David-Marshall present your 2008 Hall of Fame Inductees. But wait! Mike Turian is nowhere to be found! By phone, he assures Aaron Forsythe that he is on his way.'Plan B' Mike Turian fools no one. The 2008 Class: All Business (except Turian, who is too jolly for business). Hall of Famer Dirk Baberowski, destiny fulfilled. Hall of Famer Mike Turian and his wife Rachael. Hall of Famer Ben Rubin, effortless cool. Hall of Famer Jelger Wiegersma, portrait of consistent excellence. Hall of Famer Olivier Ruel vogues. You expected different? Mike Turian poses with the quilt his mom made. Now and forever, moms rule. Steve Sadin, in the grip of Worlds Fever. Jon Finkel's decklist. Who would've guessed that the game's greatest natural talent was so indecisive? Later this weekend will be the WIN GOLD Tournament. Fortune and glory, kid. This judge drew the short straw. And we're off! Somewhere out there is our 2008 World Champion!

Latest Event Coverage Articles

December 4, 2021

Innistrad Championship Top 8 Decklists by, Adam Styborski

The Innistrad Championship has its Top 8 players! Congratulations to Christian Hauck, Toru Saito, Yuuki Ichikawa, Zachary Kiihne, Simon Görtzen, Yuta Takahashi, Riku Kumagai, and Yo Akaik...

Learn More

November 29, 2021

Historic at the Innistrad Championship by, Mani Davoudi

Throughout the last competitive season, we watched as Standard and Historic took the spotlight, being featured throughout the League Weekends and Championships. The formats evolved with e...

Learn More



Event Coverage Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All