Day Two Recap (in English)

Posted in Event Coverage on July 31, 2011

By Bruno Panara

After two long days of spell-slinging, Italy has a new national champion. Congratulations to our winner: Marcello Calvetto!

Calvetto is a well-known player with numerous PT appearances, a top 8 at GP: Lion, and a top 4 at nationals two years ago under his belt. He played CawBlade in Standard, winning a mirror match in the final against a young player from Rome, Mattia Montanari. Joining them on the team is Jacopo Bartollini, who piloted his UR Splinter Twin deck to his first notable finish. The alternate is Gionata Dal Farra, one of the best Italian limited players of all time, who fought valiantly with his monored in the Standard portion of the tournament.

Rounding up the top 8 were Marco Santopadre (Valakut), Adriano Moscato (Valakut), Enrico Santinelli (UB) and Luca Cortesi (Tempered Steel), who had to start by winning a last-chance qualifier on Friday to get this far.

The Top 8 decks reflect the numbers we have been seeing all weekend, and despite the two CawBlade decks reaching the finals, the format appears definitely more open than two months ago, with multiple viable options and more enjoyable games.

The rounds leading up to the Top 8 left many disappointed, including top players Samuele Estratti, Marco Cammilluzzi and Alessandro Portaro, day 1 leaders Gabriele Montresor and Luca Gaviglio, Rookie of the Year 2010 Andrea Giarola and the only player to have participated in all 17 Italian Nationals: Yanez Busi, who all missed by very few points.

These national championships have taught us the tricks of M12 draft and the hierarchies of the new Standard format. It has proved the skills of a new generation of players, maybe the start of the rise to fame of the next pro, and definitely that old-timers keep hanging on and still have a lot to teach.

Come back to these pages to relive the experience of this amazing weekend while the players recover and once again take the road to the next Nationals.

Latest Event Coverage Articles

December 4, 2021

Innistrad Championship Top 8 Decklists by, Adam Styborski

The Innistrad Championship has its Top 8 players! Congratulations to Christian Hauck, Toru Saito, Yuuki Ichikawa, Zachary Kiihne, Simon Görtzen, Yuta Takahashi, Riku Kumagai, and Yo Akaik...

Learn More

November 29, 2021

Historic at the Innistrad Championship by, Mani Davoudi

Throughout the last competitive season, we watched as Standard and Historic took the spotlight, being featured throughout the League Weekends and Championships. The formats evolved with e...

Learn More



Event Coverage Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All