Hall of Fame: One Man's Ballot

Posted in Event Coverage on August 29, 2006

By Wizards of the Coast

Michael "elf" Feuell, Magic Online Developer/Level 3 Judge

Magic Pro Tour Hall of Fame

Editor's note: Over the course of the voting, we will occasionally be posting ballots of voters who wish to make their choices public, along with any additional analysis they used to come to their decisions. If other Selection Committee or Player Committee members wish to provide analysis and explanation of their votes for publication, click here.

Hi everyone, this is Michael 'elf' Feuell, Senior Software Engineer here at Wizards of the Coast, taking some time away from Magic Online to discuss my picks for the Hall of Fame ballot!

First, I took a look at all the statistics we made public and then sorted each of them. (Statistics include # PTs, PT Top 8s, Top 8 Avg, Median Finish, GP Top 8s, Career Winnings, Pro Points, Avg Points.)

Each time a player was in the top 10 of a list I gave them one point, and each time they were in the top 5 of a list I gave them an additional point. This gave me an overall number that I labeled stats.

I then added points for some additional categories, such as; contribution to the community, Invitational winner, Pro Tour legend, and then finally deducted points for shadiness. In the end I summed it all up and came up with a list of five people who clearly stood ahead of everyone else.

  • Robert Maher
  • Robert Dougherty
  • David Humpherys
  • Scott Johns
  • Mark Justice
  • Before I actually looked at and evaluated the data. I had some preconceived ideas as to the relative merit of each player. Once I had looked at the data, though, I was amazed by just how strong Bob's performances over the years had been. Likewise I was a bit surprised that Mike Long's overall performance was not even in the top 10.

    All five people have at least four Pro Tour Top 8s, with only Justice having them all courtesy of individual performance.

    The next few people on my list were Gary Wise, Raphael Levy and Itaru Ishida. Best of luck to them all.

    Latest Event Coverage Articles

    December 4, 2021

    Innistrad Championship Top 8 Decklists by, Adam Styborski

    The Innistrad Championship has its Top 8 players! Congratulations to Christian Hauck, Toru Saito, Yuuki Ichikawa, Zachary Kiihne, Simon Görtzen, Yuta Takahashi, Riku Kumagai, and Yo Akaik...

    Learn More

    November 29, 2021

    Historic at the Innistrad Championship by, Mani Davoudi

    Throughout the last competitive season, we watched as Standard and Historic took the spotlight, being featured throughout the League Weekends and Championships. The formats evolved with e...

    Learn More



    Event Coverage Archive

    Consult the archives for more articles!

    See All