Pro Tour Chicago Masters Series

Posted in Event Coverage

By Wizards of the Coast

The second Masters Series will be held at Pro Tour Chicago from November 30 to December 3.

Hyatt Regency Chicago
On the Riverwalk
151 East Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL 60601
(312) 565-1234
Columbus Rooms I & J for Thursday Masters and Gateway, Pro Tour Feature Match area all other days.

Invited Players

  • Top 5 Limited players based on the DCI ratings published October 23, 2000
  • Top 25 players in the PT New York 2000 Pro Standing (posted after Pro Tour New York, October 1)
  • Top 2 players from the Masters Gateway Tournament, held November 30 in Chicago.
  • Single-Elimination Invasion Booster Draft
  • All players will draft, play 2 rounds in their pod (cutting to 8 players) then draft again for the final 3 rounds of play.
Prize Payout
1st $25,000
2nd $15,000
3rd-4th $10,000
5-8th $6,500
9th-16th $4,000
17th-32nd $2,000
Total Payout $150,000


Thursday, November 30, 2000
8:00 AM   Registration for Gateway tournament (only open to players with 6 or more Pro Points in the PT New York 2000 Pro Standing)
9:00 AM   Gateway Tournament Begins (Invasion sealed deck or booster draft - to be determined)
5:00 PM   Registration for Masters Series (only open to 32 invited players)
6:00 PM   Draft #1 of Masters for 32 players (Invasion booster draft)
7:00 PM   Round 1 of Masters begins (no time limit) - 32 players
9:00 PM   Round 2 of Masters begins (no time limit) - 16 players
Friday, December 1, 2000
9:00 AM   Pro Tour Chicago Player Meeting (Pro Tour Chicago is Standard format)
5:00 PM   Draft #2 of Masters for 8 players (Invasion booster draft)
6:00 PM   Round 3 of Masters begins (no time limit) - 8 players
Saturday, December 2, 2000
9:00 AM   Day Two of Pro Tour Chicago
5:00 PM   Round 4 of Masters begins (no time limit) - 4 players
Sunday, December 3, 2000
9:00 AM   Finals of Pro Tour Chicago and Round 5 of Masters begins (no time limit) - top 2 players

Latest Event Coverage Articles

December 4, 2021

Innistrad Championship Top 8 Decklists by, Adam Styborski

The Innistrad Championship has its Top 8 players! Congratulations to Christian Hauck, Toru Saito, Yuuki Ichikawa, Zachary Kiihne, Simon Görtzen, Yuta Takahashi, Riku Kumagai, and Yo Akaik...

Learn More

November 29, 2021

Historic at the Innistrad Championship by, Mani Davoudi

Throughout the last competitive season, we watched as Standard and Historic took the spotlight, being featured throughout the League Weekends and Championships. The formats evolved with e...

Learn More



Event Coverage Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All