Magic Online Weekend Challenge Changes

Posted in Feature on November 30, 2010

By Wizards of the Coast

The Weekend Challenges were originally designed to allow fans of four main Specialty Formats (Classic, 100-Card Singleton, Pauper, and Standard Singleton) a chance to play in Premier-style events each week. While exciting at first, these events have not had the sustained success that we would have hoped and have decided to replace them.

Beginning the weekend of December 10, we will offer the following Specialty Event schedule instead of the previous Weekend Challenge schedule:

TimeFridaySaturdaySunday
5:00 AM PST
(13:00 UTC)
Classic
Daily Event
100-Card Singleton
Daily Event
Pauper
Daily Event
10:00 AM PST
(18:00 UTC)
100-Card Singleton
Daily Event
Pauper
Premier Event
Standard Singleton
Daily Event
4:00 PM PST
(00:00 UTC)
Pauper
Daily Event
Standard Singleton
Daily Event
Classic
Daily Event
8:00 PM PST
(04:00 UTC)
Standard Singleton
Daily Event
Classic
Daily Event
100-Card Singleton
Daily Event

While the scheduled time slots will remain constant, the formats will continue to rotate through them, similar to the previous Weekend Challenge rotation. Switching to Daily Events lets us increase the number of Specialty Format events we offer each weekend while reducing the minimum number of players required for each event to fire.

For players who prefer a PE style experience, the Specialty Format event scheduled at 10 AM each Saturday will be a Premier Event (using the new structure announced above). This means that each Specialty Format will get a regularly scheduled PE once every four weeks.

Check out the Magic Online Calendar (to be posted early Wednesday, December 1) for the full Specialty Event schedule.

Latest Feature Articles

FEATURE

May 18, 2022

Commander Legends: Battle for Baldur's Gate Mechanics by, Jess Dunks

The beloved adventure of Dungeons & Dragons returns to Magic once more in Commander Legends: Battle for Baldur's Gate. This set visits one of D&D's most iconic settings, introduce...

Learn More

FEATURE

May 17, 2022

Collecting Commander Legends: Battle for Baldur's Gate by, Max McCall

Editor's Note: We wanted to provide a clarification that the card Faceless One does not come in the foil-etched or traditional foil treatments. Commander Legends: Battle for Baldur's Gat...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Feature Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All