Pro Tour Gatecrash Sponsor's Exemptions Announced

Posted in Feature on January 8, 2013

By Wizards of the Coast

Wit Pro Tour Gatecrash a month away, the invitation list has been finalized for the field of players heading to Montreal to battle in the Standard and Gatecrash Booster Draft formats on February 15-17.

Wizards of the Coast is awarding Sponsor's Exemption invitations and airfare to players who showed excellence in play and positive community activity during the qualifying season but did not earn an invitation through other means. This consideration includes quantity and quality of finishes at Grand Prix events and Pro Tour Qualifiers during the qualifying season, and results from Pro Tour Return to Ravnica. Sponsor's Exemption invitations for Pro Tour Gatecrash have been awarded to Harry Corvese (United States), Pierre Dagen (France), Louis Deltour (France), Eric Froehlich (United States), and Jon Stern (Canada). At the conclusion of future qualifying seasons, Wizards of the Coast will examine the list of uninvited players and award Sponsor's Exemption invitations at its sole discretion.

You can see a complete list of invited players here.

The live coverage of Pro Tour Gatecrash begins Friday, February 15, on DailyMTG.com and twitch.tv/magicprotour. The live video stream starts Friday at 9 a.m. Montreal time. Day One will begin with three rounds of Booster Draft, a change from previous Pro Tours, and will be followed by five rounds of Standard. Day Two will follow the same schedule. Brian David-Marshall, Rich Hagon, Rashad Miller, Zac Hill, Marshall Sutcliffe, and Tim Willoughby will bring you round-by-round coverage, player interviews, deck techs, and behind-the-scenes information from inside Magic R&D. Stay on top of every tidbit leading up to the Pro Tour and all the weekend's action by using the official hashtag #ptgtc. Find a time zone near you in the chart below to know when to tune in for the live stream.

CityFridaySaturdaySunday
Montreal9 a.m. 9 a.m. 11 a.m.
Los Angeles6 a.m.6 a.m.8 a.m.
Chicago8 a.m.8 a.m.10 a.m.
New York9 a.m. 9 a.m. 11 a.m.
Rio de JaneiroNoonNoon2 p.m.
London2 p.m.2 p.m.4 p.m.
Paris3 p.m.3 p.m.5 p.m.
Berlin3 p.m.3 p.m.5 p.m.
Moscow6 p.m.6 p.m.8 p.m.
Tokyo11 p.m.11 p.m.1 a.m. Monday
Sydney1 a.m. Saturday1 a.m. Sunday3 a.m. Monday

Looking for a path on the Pro Tour? Check out the list of ways to earn an invitation here. The current qualifying season runs until March 17, so find a Pro Tour Qualifier near you and get started on your road to Pro Tour Dragon's Maze in San Diego, to be held May 17-19, 2013.

Latest Feature Articles

FEATURE

May 18, 2022

Commander Legends: Battle for Baldur's Gate Mechanics by, Jess Dunks

The beloved adventure of Dungeons & Dragons returns to Magic once more in Commander Legends: Battle for Baldur's Gate. This set visits one of D&D's most iconic settings, introduce...

Learn More

FEATURE

May 17, 2022

Collecting Commander Legends: Battle for Baldur's Gate by, Max McCall

Editor's Note: We wanted to provide a clarification that the card Faceless One does not come in the foil-etched or traditional foil treatments. Commander Legends: Battle for Baldur's Gat...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Feature Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All