Pro Tour Return to Ravnica Invitation List Finalized

Posted in Feature on September 13, 2012

By Wizards of the Coast

With the World Magic Cup and Players Championship in the books, attention is turning toward the release of Return to Ravnica. The invitation list for Pro Tour Return to Ravnica has been finalized, with a total of 437 players invited to Seattle to battle in the Modern and Return to Ravnica Booster Draft formats on October 19-21.

As was done for Pro Tour Avacyn Restored, Wizards of the Coast is awarding Sponsor's Exemption invitations and airfare to players who showed excellence in play and positive community activity during the qualifying season but did not earn an invitation through other means. This consideration includes quantity and quality of finishes at Grand Prix events, Pro Tour Qualifiers, World Magic Cup Qualifiers, Pro Tour Avacyn Restored , and the World Magic Cup. Sponsor's Exemption invitations for Pro Tour Return to Ravnica have been awarded to Michael Hopkins (USA), Fernando Solorzano (Costa Rica), Stephen Murray (Scotland), Jasper Johnson-Epstein (USA), and Gergely Gulyas (Hungary). At the conclusion of future qualifying seasons, Wizards of the Coast will examine the list of uninvited players and award Sponsor's Exemption invitations at its sole discretion. In addition, a special invitation has been extended to William Jensen.

You can see a complete list of invited players here.

The live coverage of Pro Tour Return to Ravnica begins Friday, October 19, on DailyMTG.com and twitch.tv/magicprotour. The live video stream starts Friday at 9 a.m. Seattle time (Noon ET) featuring the 2012 Pro Tour Hall of Fame induction ceremony. Brian David-Marshall, Rich Hagon, Rashad Miller, Sheldon Menery, Zac Hill, and Marshall Sutcliffe will bring you round-by-round coverage, player interviews, deck techs, and behind-the-scenes information from inside Magic R&D. Stay on top of every tidbit leading up to the Pro Tour and all the weekend's action by using the official hashtag #ptrtr. Find a time zone near you in the chart below to know when to tune in for the live stream.

CityFridaySaturdaySunday
Seattle9 a.m. 10 a.m. 10:45 a.m.
Los Angeles9 a.m.10 a.m.10:45 a.m.
Chicago11 a.m.Noon12:45 p.m.
New YorkNoon1 p.m.1:45 p.m.
Rio de Janeiro1 p.m.2 p.m.2:45 p.m.
London5 p.m.6 p.m.6:45 p.m.
Paris6 p.m.7 p.m.7:45 p.m.
Berlin6 p.m.7 p.m.7:45 p.m.
Moscow8 p.m.9 p.m.9:45 p.m.
Tokyo1 a.m. Saturday2 a.m. Sunday2:45 a.m. Monday
Sydney2 a.m. Saturday3 a.m. Sunday3:45 a.m. Monday

Looking for a path on the Pro Tour? Check out the list of ways to earn an invitation here. The current qualifying seasons until December 16, so find a Pro Tour Qualifier near you and get started on your road to Pro Tour Gatecrash in Montreal, to be held February 15-17, 2013.

Latest Feature Articles

FEATURE

Ixalan Planeswalker Deck Lists by, Blake Rasmussen

This weekend at the Ixalan Prerelease, you'll be able to pick up one of the new Planeswalker Decks featuring unique versions of Jace and the new Ixalan Planeswalker, Huatli. The decks are...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Feature Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All

We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any link on this page or by clicking Yes, you are giving your consent for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more