Thursday Night Magic Online

Posted in Feature on July 29, 2010

By Wizards of the Coast

Now you can practice for Friday Night Magic from the comfort of your own home with Thursday Night Magic Online! Each Thursday beginning August 5, these casual 3-round Swiss pairing events provide a great way for inexperienced players to try out tournaments or for veteran players to try new strategies. As an added bonus, everyone who participates in a Thursday Night Magic Online event gets a digital copy of the monthly Friday Night Magic promo card!

Want to double the fun and test your skills at your friendly local game store? Find a Friday Night Magic location near you.

THURSDAY NIGHT MAGIC ONLINE

START TIME: Every Thursday at 4:00 AM PST (12:00 UTC), 9:00 AM PST (17:00 UTC), 3:00 PM PST (23:00 UTC), and 7:00 PM PST (Friday 3:00 UTC).
LOCATION: Premier Events room.
ENTRY FEE: Product or equivalent event tickets for draft and sealed deck events or 2 Event Tickets for constructed events.
PRODUCT: Varies by event:

  • 3 booster packs for draft
  • 4 booster packs for 4-booster sealed deck
  • 6 booster packs for 6-booster sealed deck
  • A constructed deck for the appropriate format

SIZE: Minimum 16 players, maximum 256 players.
DURATION: 3 rounds, Swiss pairings plus Drafting and deck building time where appropriate.
PRIZES: Prizes for Swiss Pairing events are based on total match points at the end of the tournament. Each match win awards 3 points and each match loss awards 0 points.

Thursday Night Magic Online Draft

Points Prizes QPs
9 4 booster packs 1
6 2 booster packs 0
3 1 booster pack 0

Thursday Night Magic Online 4-Booster Sealed Deck

Points Prizes QPs
9 5 booster packs 1
6 3 booster packs 0
3 1 booster pack 0

Thursday Night Magic Online 6-Booster Sealed Deck

Points Prizes QPs
9 8 booster packs 1
6 4 booster packs 0
3 2 booster pack 0

Thursday Night Magic Online Constructed

Points Prizes QPs
9 2 booster packs 1
6 1 booster packs 0

ADDITIONAL PRIZES: Each player who participates in a Thursday Night Magic Online event will receive the current month's promo card. Each player with 9 points will also receive a premium foil version of that card. Please check the Magic Online Group page or the Friday Night Magic page for the current month's promo card.

Latest Feature Articles

FEATURE

Great Designer Search 3 – Final Day by, Mark Rosewater

After three trials and five design challenges, we had narrowed down over 3,000 candidates to three. Ari Nieh, Chris Mooney, and Jeremy Geist all traveled to Renton, Washington, for one fi...

Learn More

FEATURE

Creating Global Series: Jiang Yanggu & Mu Yanling by, Gavin Verhey

Magic is a global game. We say this all the time at Wizards. When we do something, we have to make sure it fits not just where we live—the United States—but everywhere. If we're wonderi...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Feature Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All

We use cookies on this site to personalize content and ads, provide social media features and analyze web traffic. By clicking YES, you are consenting for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more