MTG Arena Mythic Championship Qualifier Weekend - FQA

Posted in Magic Digital on May 23, 2019

By Wizards of the Coast

For more information, please refer to the Mythic Championship Qualifier Event Information document.

How do I know if I qualified?

Players who qualified should have received a confirmation email. Additionally, a Mythic Qualifier badge should be present on your profile page and special "Mythic Qualifier Event" will be viewablae in-game. If you do not see the Mythic Qualifier badge on your profile page and/or the Mythic Qualifier Event in-game, you need to contact Wizards of the Coast customer support immediately. If you do not contact customer support by Friday, May 24th at 9AM PT (16:00 UTC) you may be unable to participate due to the time needed to troubleshoot your account.

fc7572d8d9065c943ee53ccbe47b19c10e581c73Day 1 Information

When does the event start?

Day 1 of the Mythic Championship Qualifier begins at 6AM PT (13:00 UTC). Players will have one hour to sign-on and join the event before entry is closed.

How do I join the Day 1 event?

Players who are eligible to compete will be able to join a special in-game event, titled "Mythic Championship Qualifier". This event will be viewable on the Home page, as well as on the Play Blade under "Events". Once the event begins (Saturday, May 25th at 6AM PT) you must hit the "Start" button to officially join the event. Players will have one hour to sign-on and join the event before entry is closed. You will not be able to join the event after 7AM PT (14:00 UTC).

1b7f6fc210d5d89b52d79d06e73e0fab56b516f5

If you do not see the Mythic Championship Qualifier event after downloading the May 23rd game update, you need to contact Wizards of the Coast customer support immediately. If you do not contact customer support by Friday, May 24th at 9AM PT (16:00 UTC) you may be unable to participate due to the time needed to troubleshoot your account.

What is the format for Day 1?

The format is best-of-three Standard constructed, including an optional 15-card sideboard. Players will play until 8 wins or 2 losses, whichever comes first. It is strongly encouraged that players begin their matches as soon as possible to ensure you have enough time to play in all of your possible matches.

How does the match clock work?

Each player will have 30 minutes on their match clock that will count down whenever they have priority. If a player's clock runs out, they will lose the match regardless of the current win/loss record or state of the in-progress game. The match clock does not run during sideboarding.

Players can examine their clock or opponent's clock by moving their mouse over the respective timer icon on the battlefield (hourglass by the player's name). It will also automatically display when a player is low on time:

  • Game 1: Less than 10 minutes remain on the match clock.
  • Game 2: Less than 8 minutes remain on the match clock.
  • Game 3: Less than 6 minutes remain on the match clock.

When does Day 1 end?

The matchmaking queue for Day 1 will be disabled at 4PM PT (23:00 UTC). Any in-progress matches will be allowed to complete, however after this deadline players will not be able to join any new matches. Again, it is strongly encouraged that players begin their matches as soon as possible to ensure you have enough time to play all of your possible matches.

Day 2 Information

When will I know if I qualified for Day 2?

Players who achieved 7 or more match wins have locked in their spot for Day 2. Additional players who qualified based on tie-breakers will be notified via email. All players who qualified for Day 2 will receive an email approximately two hours after the end of Day 1. This email will contain important information on participating on Day 2, so please read the email carefully!

If you have finished Day 1 with 7 or more match wins, please send the following information to esports@wizards.com. All players will have until Sunday, May 26th at 3AM PT (10:00 UTC) to send the required information to esports@wizards.com.

  • Full Name
  • Full Display Name (Including the five digits after the #, please remember that display names are case sensitive!)
  • Decklist for Day 2
  • ESL Play Account Username
  • A link to a streaming channel (Twitch, YouTube, etc) if the player chooses to stream their matches.

Players who do not send the required information by the deadline may be ineligible to compete.

When does Day 2 start?

The matches for Day 2 are scheduled to begin at 8AM PT (15:00 UTC). Additional information regarding check-in will be sent directly to eligible players via email.

What is the format for Day 2?

The format is best-of-three Standard constructed, including an optional 15-card sideboard. Matches will be conducted through Direct Challenge using Tournament Matches:

  • Format: Best-of-Three
  • Who Goes First: Coin Flip
  • Decklist: 60-Card Traditional Standard
  • Timers: Match Clock and Turn Timers

Day 2 will consist of seven rounds of modified Swiss. We are working with ESL Gaming to administer this portion of the event.

Can I use a different deck for Day 2?

Yes, however you must use the same decklist throughout all of your matches on Day 2 (60-card main deck plus 15-card optional sidebaord). Using cards not on your submitted decklist for Day 2, or modifying your main deck with sideboard cards prior to Game 1 is grounds for disqualification.

When does Day 2 end?

We expect Day 2 to end by 7PM PT (02:00 UTC).

Contact Information

For issues related to Mythic Championship Qualifier eligibility and Day 1 participation, please contact Wizards of the Coast customer support (MCQW Issues). For issues related to Day 2 of play, please direct your questions to the official ESL Discord Channel or open a support ticket through ESL. The Wizards of the Coast support team will be unable to assist with any issues related to ESL Play.

Latest Magic Digital Articles

BLOG

October 20, 2021

MTG Arena Announcements, October 20, 2021 by, Wizards of the Coast

*/ Last Friday's Hotfix We released a hotfix this past Friday that took care of two bugs: Wins and losses for Mythic players in Limited will no longer fail to register in their drafts....

Learn More

MAGIC DIGITAL

October 14, 2021

Innistrad: Midnight Hunt Jump In! Event Details and Packets by, Wizards of the Coast

Innistrad: Midnight Hunt Jump In! arrives October 14 on MTG Arena, and with it comes hundreds of cards from across the sets currently in Standard, including horror-themed packets with car...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Magic Digital Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All