Theros Championship Winners

Posted in Magic Online on January 27, 2014

By Clayton Kroh

Clayton Kroh is a veteran of the videogame industry and a fiction writer. He started with Wizards of the Coast in July of 2013 as a digital content specialist for and contributes creative content to Magic whenever he has the opportunity.
Constructed Limited
stainerson bobbie1706

Congratulations to the Theros Championship Winners!

Player stainerson claimed the winner's title in the Constructed competition. Game one saw stainerson's mono-black devotion deck face off against jp0822's black/white midrange deck. jp0822 took the early advantage as his Sin Collector and kill spells gave him a strong board position. stainerson fought back with multiple removal spells of his own, while attacking with a Nightveil Specter followed by a Desecration Demon. jp0822 eventually found a Detention Sphere to neutralize the Demon, but stainerson's Underworld Connection generated additional threats which overwhelmed jp0822's removal attempts to win game one.

Game two saw stainerson's Thoughtseize take jp0822's Obzedat, Ghost Council, and then Pharika's Cure killed a Lyev Skyknight. stainerson played a turn-four Underworld Connections, which fueled a barrage of discard and removal spells. stainerson's first Desecration Demon was killed by jp0822's Ultimate Price, but his second Desecration Demon earned stainerson the victory in the Theros Constructed Championship!

Check out how the Constructed match-ups played out from quarterfinals to the finals, and stainerson's winning decklist.

Player bobbie1706 battled to the top position in the Limited format. In game one, bobbie1706's black/white deck created a 4/3 flier with a Scourgemark on a Wingsteed Rider. RMVP tried a Lightning Strike to kill the Rider, but bobbie1706 cast a Dauntless Onslaught to grow the Rider. RMVP was out of answers and the Wingsteed Rider took game one.

In game two, bobbie1706 started off strong with plays on turns two through five. RMVP cast a Stymied Hopes on bobbie1706's turn-two Setessan Battle Priest. Bobbie1706 followed up with a Blood-Toll Harpy, a Wingsteed Rider and a Gray Merchant of Asphodel. With RMVP stalled on three lands, bobbie1706 took the game and the match with a Cutthroat Maneuver to win the Theros Limited Championship!

Check out how the Limited match-ups played out from quarterfinals to the finals, and bobbie1706's winning decklist.

Who will claim the titles in the Magic Online Born of the Gods Championships? One could be you! Hone your skills during the Magic Online Born of the Gods Prerelease and Release Events, which begin February 14. Then, challenge your fellow players in the Born of the Gods Championship to take your place in the pantheon of champions!

Championship Dates
  • Standard Qualifiers: April 9 - 15
  • Standard Championship: April 20**
  • Limited Qualifiers: April 16 - 22
  • Limited Championship: April 27
**Updated date (1/29/2014).

Winners' Decklists

stainerson (1st Place)

bobbie1706 (1st Place)

Latest Magic Online Articles


Magic Online Announcements November 21, 2017 by, Wizards of the Coast

What Is the Magic Online Weekly Announcements Blog? Every Tuesday, we round up all of the biggest Magic Online news for the Weekly Announcements Blog. Check in weekly for the latest ...

Learn More


Magic Online Bug Blog November 16, 2017 by, Wizards of the Coast

What Is the Magic Online Bug Blog? The "Bug Blog" is a running list of updates, alongside a list of Magic Online known issues. Here you'll find a list of emergent new issues, details ...

Learn More



Magic Online Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All

We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any link on this page or by clicking Yes, you are giving your consent for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more