2015 World Championship Coverage Plan

Posted in Organized Play on August 7, 2015

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

Last weekend, we had a Pro Tour. It was a rather important one for many players, as it defined Pro Tour Players Club levels, World Magic Cup captaincies, and the player pool for Magic's biggest weekend of the year:

PAX Prime weekend, featuring the 2015 Magic: The Gathering World Championship.

Pro Tour Magic Origins determined the seventeen seats that remained up for grabs at the World Championship. Our field of 24 competitors is now determined, and in just under three weeks you'll be able to witness some of the world's finest Magic players compete in what is the game's most prestigious tournament.

2015 World Championship Coverage Plan

The 2015 Magic: The Gathering World Championship is professional Magic's most exciting weekend for coverage! With 24 of the best players from all over the world being challenged in four formats, it's going to be three days of phenomenal Magic to watch in action. Fourteen rounds of Swiss will be played out in the first two days before a cut to the Top 4, which will feature best-of-five matches showed in their entirety on Sunday.

The World Championship will be streamed live from PAX Prime in Seattle, Washington, on our Twitch channel, and you'll also find plenty of content here on DailyMTG as well as through our various social media channels.

The action kicks off on Thursday, August 27 with Day One. Here's what you can expect that day:

  • Three rounds of Modern Masters 2015 Edition Booster Draft
  • Four rounds of Modern Constructed

Day One coverage starts at 9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET/4 p.m. UTC.

All competitors will return for seven more rounds of Swiss on Day Two, featuring:

  • Three rounds of Magic Origins Booster Draft
  • Four rounds of Standard

Day Two coverage will begin Friday, August 28 at 9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET/4 p.m. UTC.

Once the day concludes, we'll cut to the Top 4, who will return on Sunday for a best-of-five Standard showdown until we are left with one winner.

The World Championship will take a day off on Saturday, as we gear up some PAX Prime goodness that you'll learn more about later this month, including a Battle for Zendikar Preview Show that will be hosted on our Twitch channel that you definitely don't want to miss!

The stream will resume on Sunday at 11 a.m. PT/2 p.m. ET/6 p.m. UTC, starting with a re-run of the previous night's Battle for Zendikar Preview Show, followed by the conclusion of the World Championship.

If you're attending PAX Prime, then you can see how this all unfolds LIVE! The competitors will be playing on the lower level of the Annex of PAX Prime, where you can watch the players that aren't in the feature match area squaring off with your very own eyes. And if you'd like to watch the coverage, you can do that on the main level of the Annex, where Rich Hagon will be stationed at the news desk. The commentators will be in the booth, which is also on the main level of the Annex, situated in the same space where you can watch the video coverage live!

Whether you're at PAX Prime or simply tuning in from home, you can join Rich Hagon, Brian David-Marshall, Randy Buehler, Marshall Sutcliffe, Rashad Miller, Tim Willoughby, and Magic R&D member Ian Duke as they bring you live video coverage along with. . .

Hall of Famer Luis Scott-Vargas and Magic R&D member Jackie Lee

. . . Hall of Famer Luis Scott-Vargas and Magic R&D member Jackie Lee, who will be joining us on the team for a special three-person booth setup for live feature match commentary. Rather than saving the three-person booth for the Top 4, we'll have three of our commentators in the booth each round doing commentary for the whole show!

Mark your calendars now, because the 2015 Magic: The Gathering World Championship is going to be three days of amazing players, incredible matches, and a whole lot more.

2015 World Championship Player Profiles

With our 24 competitors at the 2015 World Championship confirmed, we've kicked off our look into each player's origin story. When did they first start playing Magic? What was their experience at their first Pro Tour?

We will run a profile that highlights a World Championship competitor every weekday next week. After that, you'll begin to see two profiles every weekday until we have featured every competitor in this year's World Championship.

Player Profiles can always be referred to on our 2015 World Championship Competitors page. Below are the players you can learn more about from the last week:

Shahar Shenhar

Ari Lax

Alexander Hayne

Paul Rietzl

Mike Sigrist

2015 Super Sunday Series Championship

With the 2016 Pro Tour and Grand Prix Schedule now revealed, some of you have wondered where the 2015 Super Sunday Series Championship fits into next year's line-up. Well, wonder no more!

The Super Sunday Series Championship—featuring the winners of 2015's Super Sunday Series events, which take place at Grand Prix worldwide—will take place January 23–24 in Seattle, Washington. The formats for this event will be revealed at a later date.

The Super Sunday Series Championship is one of the more unique invitation-only events. While the tournament features a sizable prize pool, it's also a more relaxed event for players, featuring a couple of nights out to dinner to draft with Magic R&D and more!

Speaking of the prize pool, the Super Sunday Series Championship competitors will be playing for the following:

Place  Prize Money
1 $6,000
2 $3,000
3-4 $1,500
5-8 $1,000
9-16 $500
17+ Booster display of most recent Magic set

Looking to qualify for this event? You can do that by winning a Super Sunday Series event at a Grand Prix in 2015!

Viewing Guide

ChannelFireball Twitch Channel

Saturday, August 8

9:15 a.m. PT/12:15 p.m. ET/4:15 p.m. UTC—GP San Diego Day One

Sunday, August 9

9:15 a.m. PT/12:15 p.m. ET/4:15 p.m. UTC—GP San Diego Day Two


Magic Twitch Channel

Tuesday, August 11

6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/1 a.m. UTC—Standard Super League


SCGLive Twitch Channel

Saturday, August 8

7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. UTC—SCG Open Washington D.C. Day One

Sunday, August 9

6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC—SCG Open Washington D.C. Day Two


The 2015 World Championship is still a few weeks away. In the meantime, let's look at what you can watch in the next couple of days.

Grand Prix San Diego is a fresh start for everyone, as it's one of two Grand Prix kicking off the 2015-16 Premier Play season. The format for this event is Standard, and coming only one week after the Pro Tour, what sorts of evolutions will we see of the decks that made a big splash last weekend?

Join Marshall Sutcliffe alongside Hall of Famers Luis Scott-Vargas and Paulo Vitor Damo da Rosa as they bring you two days of live Standard action! It all takes place on the ChannelFireball Twitch Channel, starting at 9:15 a.m. PT/12:15 p.m. ET/4:15 p.m. UTC on both Saturday and Sunday.


The Standard Super League returns! This season will highlight three different groups as they battle for one of the Super League Championship slots in November:

  • The Brewers: Josh Utter-Leyton, Gerard Fabiano, Tom Ross, and Andrew Cuneo
  • The Group of Death: Samuel Black, Brad Nelson, Owen Turtenwald, and Paul Rietzl
  • The Streamers: Paul Cheon, Gaby Spartz, Kenji Egashira, and Marshall Sutcliffe

The action all starts on the Magic Twitch Channel this Tuesday at 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/1 a.m. UTC!


Looking for a little Legacy action this weekend? Then you won't want to miss the StarCityGames.com Open Series event live from Washington, D.C. Players will be battling with their latest Legacy brews in this two-day spectacular!

Join Cedric Phillips and Matthias Hunt as they bring you two days of Legacy coverage on the SCGLive Twitch Channel, starting Saturday at 7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. UTC. Coverage resumes Sunday at 6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC.

Latest Organized Play Articles

ORGANIZED PLAY

New Structure for Grand Prix Coverage by, Rich Hagon

Perhaps you know me as the Pro Tour news desk anchor and content producer, but I'm also working behind the scenes as global coverage manager for CFB Events. Together with our partners at ...

Learn More

ORGANIZED PLAY

Q1 2018 Coverage, Eternal Weekends, and More by, Mike Rosenberg

Buckle up, because after a few weeks of hiatus and with a new year ahead of us, today's edition of Organized Play is packed with all sorts of stuff that'll interest you, including playmat...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Organized Play Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All

We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any link on this page or by clicking Yes, you are giving your consent for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more