2017 Coverage Home Stretch

Posted in Competitive Gaming on December 7, 2017

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

We've got only two weekends remaining of live video coverage in 2017, with live video coming from Grand Prix Oklahoma City this weekend, and then Grand Prix New Jersey the next. After that, the next time you'll be hearing from me and the rest of the coverage team is in 2018, as DailyMTG goes on its holiday hiatus.

That said, we do have some news before then. My boss Greg Collins will be checking in on December 12 to give you a look at how 2017 went in terms of Twitch, and what you'll have to look forward to (i.e., what all we're covering) in 2018. Hint: it's a lot, just like this year!

But before we get to that, a look at the remaining two weekends of GPs.

Oklahoma City and Madrid

This weekend features a little twist on a weekend of Modern. While Oklahoma City will feature Modern Constructed as a main event, Madrid will be Europe's chance to participate in the Team Unified Modern format that folks from North America got to play at GP San Antonio earlier this year.

Here's the coverage team for the weekend.

December 8–10: Grand Prix Madrid and Oklahoma City
Live Video from: Oklahoma City (twitch.tv/magic)
Start Times: Saturday and Sunday at 7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/3 p.m. UTC
Video Producer: Rich Hagon
Video Director: Rashad Miller
Camera and Graphics: BJ Ogden
Play-by-Play Commentator: Marshall Sutcliffe
Color Commentator: Jake Van Lunen
Swing Commentator: Ben Seck
Writer-Reporter: Tobi Henke (Madrid), Corbin Hosler (Oklahoma City)

Tobi Henke holds down the fort for Madrid's Team Unified Modern action, while the video crew—including coverage newcomer Ben Seck—brings you live video featuring all of Modern's action.

Singapore and New Jersey

The 2017 Grand Prix circuit wraps up the weekend of December 15–17, as GP main events in Singapore and New Jersey look at Ixalan Limited one last time before we head into the new year and the coming release of Rivals of Ixalan.

December 15–17: Grand Prix Singapore and New Jersey
Live Video from: New Jersey (twitch.tv/magic)
Start Times: Saturday, December 16 at 7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/3 p.m. UTC; and Sunday, December 17 at 6:30 a.m. PT/9:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. UTC
Play-by-Play Commentator: Brian David-Marshall
Color Commentator: William Jensen
Swing Commentator: Marshall Sutcliffe
Writer-Reporter: Chapman Sim (Singapore), Marc Calderaro (New Jersey)
Video Production by: ChannelFireball

ChannelFireball will wrap up twitch.tv/magic Grand Prix video coverage for the year, with live video from Grand Prix New Jersey bringing you two days of Ixalan Limited.

It's been a great year of coverage, and I'm excited for what 2018 is set to bring!

Latest Competitive Gaming Articles

COMPETITIVE GAMING

2018 World Championship Preview by, Rich Hagon

Follow live streaming video coverage of the 2018 Magic World Championship on twitch.tv/magic beginning tomorrow, Friday, September 21, and continuing all weekend! Brief, they said. Succi...

Learn More

COMPETITIVE GAMING

2019 to Feature Six Pro Tours! by, Blake Rasmussen

The 2019 pro season is going to be a year of new beginnings and experimentation. Oh, and six Pro Tours with a total prize pool of $1.5 million. We started off 2018 with the goal to real...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Competitive Gaming Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All

We use cookies on this site to personalize content and ads, provide social media features and analyze web traffic. By clicking YES, you are consenting for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more