Coverage through Pro Tour Dominaria

Posted in Organized Play on March 29, 2018

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

With the first quarter of 2018 wrapping up, today we're going to look at the next two months of live video coverage that you watch on twitch.tv/magic. We've got rosters all the way through Pro Tour Dominaria.

Seattle Double Weekend

First up is the weekend of April 6–8, as Grand Prix Seattle features both Legacy and Standard main events. The big tournament action starts with Legacy on Friday, April 6. Coverage will show you the Legacy tournament in its entirety, as Standard gets underway on Saturday. Then on Sunday, coverage will turn its full attention over to Standard to show you the conclusion of that format's main event.

Start Times: Friday at 9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET/4 p.m. UTC; Saturday at 10 a.m. PT/1 p.m. ET/5 p.m. UTC; Sunday at 9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET/4 p.m. UTC
Video Producer: Rich Hagon
Video Director: Rashad Miller
Camera and Graphics: BJ Ogden and Andy Cooperfauss
Play-by-Play Commentators: Marshall Sutcliffe and Brian David-Marshall
Color Commentators: Reid Duke and the Magic Play Design team
Showrunner: Corbin Hosler
Writer-Reporter: Meghan Wolff

Special notes for Seattle's GP coverage weekend:

  • Saturday has a different than normal start time of 10 a.m. local. This is because Day Two of the Legacy main event will begin one hour after Day One of the Standard main event gets underway at 9 a.m. local.
  • Magic's Play Design team will be providing live coverage this weekend alongside Reid Duke! You'll hear expert commentary from Paul Cheon, Adam Prosak, Dan Musser, and more in various rounds all throughout the three days of coverage from Seattle!

GP Hartford and Sydney

Taking place the weekend of April 14–15, Grand Prix Hartford's Modern event will be one last look at all formats at the GP level before Dominaria makes its way into the public. Running alongside Hartford is GP Sydney, bringing Team Unified Modern to Australia as teams of three work to qualify for Pro Tour 25th Anniversary.

Start Times: Saturday and Sunday at 6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC
Video Producer: Rich Hagon
Video Director: Rashad Miller
Camera and Graphics: BJ Ogden and Andy Cooperfauss
Play-by-Play Commentators: Marshall Sutcliffe and Maria Bartholdi
Color Commentators: Melissa DeTora and Jacob Van Lunen
Showrunner: Adam Styborski
Writer-Reporter: Corbin Hosler (Hartford), Ray Walkinshaw (Sydney)

GP Bologna and Columbus

After a short week off for Dominaria Prereleases, the Grand Prix circuit returns during Release Weekend with Team Limited GPs in Bologna and Columbus April 28–29.

Live Video From: Bologna (twitch.tv/magic)
Start Times: Saturday at 1:30 a.m. PT/4:30 a.m. ET/8:30 a.m. UTC; Sunday at 1:15 a.m. PT/4:15 a.m. ET/8:15 a.m. UTC
Video Producer: Rich Hagon
Video Director: Steven Leeming
Camera and Graphics: Neil Rigby and Max Ogden
Play-by-Play Commentators: Riley Knight and Tim Willoughby
Color Commentators: Raphaël Lévy and Frank Karsten
Showrunner: Tobi Henke
Writer-Reporter: Olle Råde (Bologna), Meghan Wolff (Columbus)

Live video coverage will focus on the action from Bologna, while Meghan Wolff will be the coverage feet on the floor in Columbus.

Dallas-Fort Worth and Beijing

Dallas-Fort Worth and Beijing host the first individual Limited Grand Prix featuring Dominaria the weekend of May 5–6. Live video coverage will be hosted from Texas for the weekend.

Live Video From: Dallas-Fort Worth (twitch.tv/magic)
Start Times: Saturday at 8 a.m. PT/11 a.m. ET/3 p.m. UTC; Sunday at 7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC
Video Producer: Rich Hagon
Video Director: Rashad Miller
Camera and Graphics: BJ Ogden and Brian David-Marshall
Play-by-Play Commentators: Marshall Sutcliffe and Maria Bartholdi
Color Commentators: Paulo Vitor Damo da Rosa and Kenji Egashira
Showrunner: Marc Calderaro
Writer-Reporter: Meghan Wolff (Dallas/Fort Worth), Chapman Sim (Beijing)

Birmingham Double Weekend

The next double-GP main event weekend is in Birmingham May 11–13, with Legacy and Standard main events and three days of coverage.

Editor's Note: The start time for coverage on Saturday at GP Birmingham was updated to reflect a change in the main event schedule. Coverage will now go live 30 minutes earlier than initially advertised. 

Start Times: Friday at 1 a.m. PT/4 a.m. ET/8 a.m. UTC; Saturday at 1:30 a.m. PT/4:30 a.m. ET/8:30 a.m. UTC; Sunday at 1 a.m. PT/4 a.m. ET/8 a.m. UTC
Video Producer: Rich Hagon
Video Director: Steven Leeming
Camera and Graphics: Neil Rigby and Matt Light
Play-by-Play Commentators: Riley Knight and Tim Willoughby
Color Commentators: Raphaël Lévy and Simon Görtzen
Showrunner: Tobi Henke
Writer-Reporter: Craig Jones

Note once again the slightly different start time for Saturday, as Birmingham follows the same model as Seattle.

Washington, DC

Although we take a week off from GP Toronto (with Meghan Wolff bringing you social media and written coverage), we resume the weekend of May 26–27 for a Team Limited Grand Prix in Washington, DC, with some pre–Pro Tour coverage goodness.

Start Times: Saturday at 7:15 a.m. PT/10:15 a.m. ET/2:15 p.m. UTC; Sunday at 7:00 a.m. PT/10:00 a.m. ET/2:00 a.m. UTC
Video Producer: Rich Hagon
Video Director: Rashad Miller
Camera and Graphics: BJ Ogden and Athena Froehlich
Play-by-Play Commentators: Marshall Sutcliffe and Maria Bartholdi
Color Commentators: Kenji Egashira and Jacob Van Lunen
Showrunner: Adam Styborski
Writer-Reporter: Meghan Wolff

DC also marks the last Grand Prix that will qualify top teams for Pro Tour 25th Anniversary. After that, the remaining trios for the Team Pro Tour will be determined by the Pro Tour Team Series, the team Regional Pro Tour Qualifiers, and those that form a trio among those who qualified as individuals. This should make the DC GP an exciting one to watch!

DC also leads into . . . 

 

Pro Tour Weekend!

Pro Tour Dominaria takes place June 1–3 in Richmond, Virginia, as the very best compete for their share of $250,000 in the Standard and Dominaria Booster Draft formats.

Start Times: All three days at 6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC
Coverage Crew: Marshall Sutcliffe, Paul Cheon, Riley Knight, Simon Görtzen, Rich Hagon, Maria Bartholdi, Brian David-Marshall, Tim Willoughby, Rashad Miller, and Neil Rigby (with a possible guest appearance on Sunday by Luis Scott-Vargas)
Text Coverage: Adam Styborski, Tobi Henke, and Nick Fang
Social Media: Meghan Wolff
Content Manager: Blake Rasmussen
Editor: Mike Rosenberg
Executive Producer: Greg Collins

Catch all three days of the Pro Tour on twitch.tv/magic starting at 9 a.m. local time, as we see who is crowned the Pro Tour Dominaria Champion, as well as who will emerge as the 2017–18 Constructed and Draft Masters!

That's a lot of coverage on the way, and by the time the Pro Tour wraps, we'll barely be halfway done with the year. Tune in throughout April and May, catch the Pro Tour in June, and stay tuned for more info as we head into a summer of Magic to remember!


Latest Organized Play Articles

ORGANIZED PLAY

August 16, 2018 Pro Tour Update by, Blake Rasmussen

The 2018–19 Pro Tour season is going to be a transformative, monumental season. We'll be making a host of changes to the Pro Tour itself, qualifications, Nationals, the Pro Club, the Team...

Learn More

ORGANIZED PLAY

Pro Tour 25th Anniversary FAQ by, Mike Rosenberg

Pro Tour 25th Anniversary Coverage Begins Today! Tune in to twitch.tv/magic for Pro Tour 25th Anniversary action beginning at 2 p.m. PT/5 p.m. ET/9 p.m. UTC today (Thursday, August 2)! C...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Organized Play Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All

We use cookies on this site to personalize content and ads, provide social media features and analyze web traffic. By clicking YES, you are consenting for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more