Coverage Through Pro Tour Ixalan

Posted in Competitive Gaming on September 28, 2017

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

The month of October features a few curveballs in terms of your regularly scheduled Magic tournament coverage, so let's dive in to what you'll see in the coming weeks, starting with . . .

Grand Prix Providence and Shizuoka

Oh hey! That's this weekend! Providence is taking place alongside a Team Limited GP in Shizuoka, showcasing Ixalan at the Grand Prix level during Draft Weekend! Here's a look at your coverage team and some details regarding this weekend's Team Limited action:

September 30–October 1: Grand Prix Shizuoka and Providence
Live Video from: Providence (twitch.tv/magic)
Start Times: Saturday, September 30, at 7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. UTC; and Sunday, October 1, at 7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC
Video Producer: Rich Hagon
Video Director: Rashad Miller
Camera and Graphics: Neil Rigby and BJ Ogden
Play-by-Play Commentators: Maria Bartholdi and Tim Willoughby
Color Commentators: Marshall Sutcliffe and Kenji Egashira
Showrunner: Meghan Wolff
Writer-Reporter: Chapman Sim (Shizuoka), Corbin Hosler (Providence)

Providence features an all-star Limited line-up for commentary, bridging the Atlantic with Maria Bartholdi and Tim Willoughby on play-by-play and Marshall Sutcliffe and Kenji Egashira providing the initial 40-card insight. Swiss action features Team Sealed for fourteen rounds over two days, with the Top 4 matches highlighting the incredibly deep and interesting-to-follow Team Draft format.

Tune in to get your first glimpse of Ixalan Limited at a Grand Prix, and then set your calendars for . . .

The 2017 Magic World Championship!

October starts off with the most important Magic tournament of the year: the 2017 Magic: The Gathering World Championship. 24 of the world's very best competitors as well as the two best teams of the 2016–17 season will face off in Boston, Massachusetts, October 6–8. On top of that, it will be the debut of Ixalan Standard on twitch.tv/magic, making this one weekend you won't want to miss if you're looking to see the fresh format in action!

Action focuses on the Swiss rounds of the World Championship on October 6 and 7. Each day will begin at 6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC with a Booster Draft and then three rounds of 40-card matches. Then, things shift to Standard for four rounds.

October 8 will kick off at the same start time as the other days with the Team Series Championship, featuring Genesis and Musashi as they battle in Ixalan Team Limited.

$350,000 in total is being awarded this weekend, with $50,000 for the two teams competing in the Team Series Championship and $300,000 as the prize pool for the World Championship itself. The winner of the World Championship walks away with the lion's share of the money being awarded during the weekend—a cool $100,000.

Here's a look at the coverage team for the World Championship.

Live Video on: twitch.tv/magic
Start Times: All three days at 9 a.m. local time (ET)/6 a.m. PT/1 p.m. UTC
Play-by-Play Commentators: Marshall Sutcliffe, Riley Knight, and Tim Willoughby
Color Commentators: Luis Scott-Vargas and Paul Cheon
Interviewer and Features: Brian David-Marshall
News Desk: Rich Hagon and Maria Bartholdi
Feature Match Spotters: Rashad Miller and Neil Rigby
Writer-Reporters: Frank Karsten and Meghan Wolff
Social Media: Nate Price
Content Managers: Blake Rasmussen and Mike Rosenberg
Executive Producer: Greg Collins

It's going to be an exciting weekend, so don't miss it!

US Nationals

One week after the World Championship is US Nationals, continuing our exploration into Ixalan for Limited as well as Standard. The finalists from Nationals get to join their country's team captain (the top Pro Point earner of the 2016–17 season) on their country's team in the World Magic Cup, which takes place in Nice, France, December 1–3.

For this weekend, the team captain for the United States—Reid Duke—will be sitting on the sidelines . . . and in the coverage booth, bringing you the latest out of USA's National Championship!

Live Video on: twitch.tv/magic
Start Times: Saturday, October 14, at 6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC; and Sunday, October 15, at 6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC
Video Producer: Brian David-Marshall
Video Director: Rashad Miller
Camera and Graphics: Neil Rigby and BJ Ogden
Play-by-Play Commentators: Marshall Sutcliffe and Maria Bartholdi
Color Commentators: Reid Duke and Jacob Van Lunen
Showrunner: Corbin Hosler
Writer-Reporter: Meghan Wolff

We'll be bringing you live coverage of US Nationals starting with Round 1 of the main event on Saturday. The first day will feature four rounds of Standard Constructed followed by three rounds of Booster Draft.

Sunday will start with three rounds of Booster Draft followed by two rounds of Standard before a cut to the Top 8 playoffs, which will again feature Standard. Tune in to see who will join Reid Duke on Team USA for this year's World Magic Cup!

Grand Prix Phoenix Alongside Hong Kong and Liverpool

After a brief hiatus, Grand Prix resume with a triple header of Limited action. Live video coverage will be coming to you from GP Phoenix!

October 27–29: Grand Prix Hong Kong, Liverpool, and Phoenix
Live Video from: Phoenix (twitch.tv/magic)
Start Times: Saturday, October 28, at 9:15 a.m. PT/12:15 p.m. ET/4:15 p.m. UTC; and Sunday, October 29, at 9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET/4 p.m. UTC
Play-by-Play Commentators: Marshall Sutcliffe and Brian David-Marshall
Color Commentators: William Jensen and Paulo Vitor Damo da Rosa
Writer-Reporters: Chapman Sim (Hong Kong), Liverpool (Tobi Henke), and Marc Calderaro (Phoenix)
Video Production by: ChannelFireball

While Ixalan will have been a few weeks old by this point, it's likely the already well-received Limited format will have uncharted territory left to explore, and we'll get a look into that during this weekend with a sweet coverage crew and even sweeter 40-card action.

Pro Tour Ixalan

Taking place in Albuquerque, New Mexico, the weekend of November 3–5, this Pro Tour marks the first time in a long time that the Pro Tour will be taking place more than a month after the debut of a big Standard release, and it will be our chance to see how pro players approach the Limited and Standard formats after they have begun to already develop.

Live Video on: twitch.tv/magic
Start Times: All three days at 9 a.m. local time (MT)/8 a.m. PT/11 a.m. ET/3 p.m. UTC
Play-by-Play Commentators: Marshall Sutcliffe, Riley Knight, and Tim Willoughby
Color Commentators: Simon Görtzen and Paul Cheon
Interviewer and Features: Brian David-Marshall
News Desk: Rich Hagon and Maria Bartholdi
Feature Match Spotters: Rashad Miller and Neil Rigby
Writer-Reporters: Marc Calderaro and Corbin Hosler
Social Media: Nate Price and Chris Peeler
Content Managers: Mike Rosenberg and Chris Gleeson
Executive Producer: Greg Collins

Pro Tour Ixalan marks a chance to see not what the top players build, but how they adapt to an already-established metagame. We're also excited to have Simon Görtzen, Pro Tour Champion and all-star color commentator from Europe's Grand Prix scene, at this tournament!

This Pro Tour also marks the beginning of the 2017–18 Pro Tour Team Series, where we'll see this season's teams in action for the very first time. Teams will be revealed in the weeks leading up to this Pro Tour, and applications are due by October 6, so we'll begin to see who emerges on which team very soon!

In Other News: GP Singapore Weekend Shifts Later

In other important news, Grand Prix Singapore next year—originally scheduled for June 8–10, 2018—is moving to the weekend of June 22–24. The decision to move was due to circumstances that were out of the control of ChannelFireball Events, the organizer for GPs next year. The format for GP Singapore main event will remain as Standard Constructed, matching the format for GP Pittsburgh, which also takes place that same weekend.

On that note, update your calendars accordingly. We'll be getting the word out on social media platforms today specifically regarding this news, but be sure to let your friends know if they were planning to go!

Latest Competitive Gaming Articles

Competitive Gaming

October 3, 2019

Eldraine Split Sapphire Division Top 4 Preview by, Rich Hagon

Welcome to week one of our MPL Eldraine Split, and the Sapphire Division is serving up a quality quartet for our weekend broadcast. Congratulations to Rei Sato, Jessica Estephan, Reid Duk...

Learn More

Competitive Gaming

September 30, 2019

Eldraine Split Sapphire Division Decklists by, Wizards of the Coast

Here are the decklists from the Sapphire Division round-robin matches from the Eldraine Split. ...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Competitive Gaming Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All

We use cookies on this site to personalize content and ads, provide social media features and analyze web traffic. By clicking YES, you are consenting for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more