Coverage Through September

Posted in Competitive Gaming on August 17, 2017

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

The last four weekends of Magic coverage have not been short on excitement, and we're not slowing down any time soon, with coverage to look forward to the next six weeks, a break for Ixalan Prereleases, and then a Team Limited Grand Prix weekend to debut the new set on twitch.tv/magic.

Denver Checks Back in on Standard

Following two Modern main events, Grand Prix Denver will return the focus on Standard in the Pro Tour aftermath.

August 19–20: Grand Prix Denver
Live Video on: twitch.tv/magic
Start Times: Saturday, August 19, and Sunday, August 20, at 8:15 a.m. PT/11:15 a.m. ET/3:15 p.m. UTC
Play-by-Play Commentator: Marshall Sutcliffe
Color Commentator: Ben Stark
Swing Commentator (Both Roles): Reid Duke
Writer-Reporter: Marc Calderaro
Video Production by: ChannelFireball

Live video coverage of Denver will be brought to you by ChannelFireball, as Marshall Sutcliffe, Ben Stark, and Reid Duke bring you commentary throughout the weekend.

Indy and Metz Return to Limited

Grand Prix main events in both Metz, France, and Indianapolis, USA, will return players to Hour of Devastation Limited as competitors pursue Pro Points, Pro Tour invitations, and cash.

August 26–27: Grand Prix Metz and Indianapolis
Live Video from: Grand Prix Indianapolis (twitch.tv/magic)
Start Times: Saturday, August 26, at 7:15 a.m. PT/10:15 a.m. ET/2:15 p.m. UTC; Sunday, August 27, at 7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC
Video Producer: Brian David-Marshall
Video Director: Rashad Miller
Camera and Graphics: BJ Ogden
Play-by-Play Commentator: Maria Bartholdi
Color Commentator: Kenji Egashira
Swing Commentator (Both Roles): Marshall Sutcliffe
Writer-Reporter: Marc Calderaro

The trio of Marshall, Maria, and Kenji returns to form for this Limited weekend, bringing you the latest from GP Indy both days.

DC and Turin Standard Double

Looking for a whole lot of coverage? You'll definitely get that during this Standard GP double-header. Coverage begins with Turin and then carries through to Washington, DC, each day.

September 2–3: Grand Prix Turin and Washington, DC
Live Video from: Both GPs (twitch.tv/magic)
Start Times: Saturday, September 2, at 1 a.m. PT/4 a.m. ET/8 a.m. UTC; Sunday, September 3, at 12 a.m. PT/3 a.m. ET/7 a.m. UTC
Video Producer: Rich Hagon (Turin), Brian David-Marshall (DC)
Video Director: Steven Leeming (Turin), Rashad Miller (DC)
Camera and Graphics: Neil Rigby (Turin), BJ Ogden (DC)
Play-by-Play Commentator: Tim Willoughby (Turin), Marshall Sutcliffe (DC)
Color Commentator: Frank Karsten (Turin), Reid Duke (DC)
Swing Commentator (Both Roles): Matej Zatlkaj (Turin), Jacob Van Lunen (DC)
Writer-Reporter: Tobi Henke (Turin), Corbin Hosler (DC)

Coverage will start with Turin at 10 a.m. local time Saturday and 9 a.m. Sunday, and the GP will be broadcast to its entirety. Then, once Turin coverage wraps each day, Washington, DC, coverage will go live, and you'll be able to see the remainder of DC each day. Tune in this weekend, as it's likely you're going to catch at least one event live!

Nationals Weekends . . . Wait, Nationals?!

That's right! 2017 Nationals weekends kick off September 9–10 and continue September 16–17, and we'll be broadcasting Nationals coverage from one country each of those weekends! My boss, Greg Collins, has more to say on what to expect from these two weekends.


National Championship weekends are almost upon us! We're excited to showcase the return of this popular tournament with video coverage on twitch.tv/magic on each of the three Nationals weekends. We start with Japan Nationals on September 9–10, continue with England Nationals on September 16-17, and conclude with US Nationals on October 14–15.

Coverage from England and US Nationals will be streamed live. For Japan Nationals, we're trying something new with video coverage. The English-language video coverage will be shifted to start at mid-morning Saturday and Sunday—approximately 17 hours after the days' starts in Japan—to make the coverage more accessible for audiences in Europe and North America. Because all the rounds will be done before we start the day's stream, we will be able to remove the excess time between rounds, have more relevant deck and player information for each round, and streamline the entire day's broadcast. There will still be a live Japanese-language stream on Nico Nico for the local audience.

We'll send a small video production team and a writer to the event, with the commentators and another video production team back in our Renton, Washington, offices. To make sure the English-speaking audience can stay as spoiler-free as possible, we will also be delaying all official English written and social media coverage to align with the playback of each day's video matches. Spoiling match results in chat will be highly discouraged!

We're definitely viewing this as an experimental approach to coverage, and any experiment needs feedback on how it went, so let us know what you think!


So there you have it:

  • September 9–10: Japan Nationals, mid-morning (start times TBD)
  • September 16–17: England Nationals, start times TBD
  • October 14–15: US Nationals, start times TBD

Tune in all three weekends to see who will be crowned National Champion in Japan, England, and the USA!

We've got an exciting few weeks of coverage to take us all the way up to the release of Ixalan. Tune in every weekend starting with this one to catch it all live!

Latest Competitive Gaming Articles

February 19, 2020

Grand Prix Phoenix 2020 Final Standings by, Wizards of the Coast

Rank Player Points Prize Money 1 Weitz, Benjamin [US] 37 $7,000 2 Lopez, Andrew [US] 37 $3,500 3 Henriksen, Kyle [US] 39 $1,750 4 Sears, Isa...

Learn More

February 8, 2020

Players Tour Phoenix Top 8 Decklists by, Corbin Hosler

After a tournament seemingly overrun by the potent new Lotus Breach deck, the Top 8 of Players Tour Phoenix turned out to represent a diverse slice of the quickly evolving format. Here's ...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Competitive Gaming Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All