Coverage Updates and February RPTQ Decks

Posted in Organized Play on March 16, 2017

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

Hey everyone! This week's going to be short and sweet, with a couple of updates to the coverage schedule and a look at some of the Top 8 decklists from the latest Regional Pro Tour Qualifier round.

Coverage Team Updates

First up is an update to the coverage teams for both this weekend and the next.

Porto Alegre

For Grand Prix Porto Alegre, there's been a change in commentators. Tune in this weekend to live video of Grand Prix Porto Alegre featuring Rich Hagon and Paulo Vitor Damo da Rosa as your commentators! Coverage of Grand Prix Porto Alegre will begin Saturday at 9:30 a.m. local time (BRT). That's 5:30 a.m. PT/8:30 a.m. ET/12:30 p.m. UTC.

Orlando

Grand Prix Orlando's coverage team for the following weekend has also been confirmed. It is as follows:

  • Start Times: Saturday, March 25 (7 a.m. PT/2 p.m. UTC), and Sunday, March 26 (6 a.m. PT/1 p.m. UTC)
  • Video Producer: Rich Hagon
  • Video Director: Rashad Miller
  • Camera and Graphics: BJ Ogden
  • Play-by-Play Commentator: Marshall Sutcliffe
  • Color Commentator: Paul Cheon
  • Swing Commentator (will be in both Play-by-Play and Color seats): Luis Scott-Vargas
  • Writer-Reporter: Corbin Hosler

Orlando's Limited main event will feature the first time that Luis Scott-Vargas and Paul Cheon are together on an official Magic stream for commentary. I'm sure they'll be upstanding professionals in the booth all weekend.

Uh . . . moving on.

San Antonio

The coverage team for Grand Prix San Antonio has been finalized. Details can be found below.

  • Producer/Director/Graphics: ChannelFireball
  • Play-by-Play Commentators: Marshall Sutcliffe and Brian David-Marshall
  • Color Commentators: Luis Scott-Vargas and Patrick Chapin
  • Writer-Reporter: Corbin Hosler

Andy Cooperfauss of ChannelFireball fame will be managing this broadcast and has finalized a team consisting of Marshall Sutcliffe, Brian David-Marshall, Luis Scott-Vargas, and Patrick Chapin for its commentary. Finally, Marc Calderaro has subbed in Corbin Hosler on the writer-reporter front.

Metz and Indianapolis

In my boss's 2017 coverage announcement back in January, Grand Prix Metz—which takes place August 26–27—was announced as receiving video coverage. We're updating that to switch video coverage to Grand Prix Indianapolis instead, which takes place the same weekend.

The format for both Grand Prix Metz and Indianapolis is Limited, and we'll have more info on the coverage teams for these shows in the coming months.

Regional Pro Tour Qualifier for Pro Tour Amonkhet Aftermath

With last weekend's Magic Online Regional Pro Tour Qualifier now completed, all of this round's events have finished and we have a number of players who have earned invitations to compete at Pro Tour Amonkhet.

First up, here's a look at attendance to each of these RPTQs.

City Player count
Penrith 55
Shanghai 59
Singapore 76
Rome 53
Moscow 33
Barcelona 61
Stockholm 25
Dortmund 81
London 79
Lyon 73
Bologna 110
Pruszkow 67
Nabari 74
Tokyo 103
Buenos Aires 36
Mexico City 42
São Paulo 80
Toronto 46
San Diego 55
Newington 82
Niles 63
Lincoln 44
Durham 72
Plano 54
Bellevue 77
Montreal 59
Santa Clara 42
Littleton 44
Jacksonville 47
Burnsville 46
Monroeville 79
Memphis 58
Magic Online March 4 RPTQ 133
Magic Online March 11 RPTQ 134

Looking to see some Top 8 decklists from this round of RPTQs? We've got a collection of them for your viewing pleasure below.

Congratulations to the top finishers in the latest round of RPTQs, and we look forward to seeing you at Pro Tour Amonkhet in Nashville, Tennessee, May 12–14! For those looking to get in on the Pro Tour, Preliminary Pro Tour Qualifiers (PPTQs) for Pro Tour Hour of Devastation in Kyoto, Japan, are going on now, so check out the event info page and find a store near you that's running one!

Latest Organized Play Articles

ORGANIZED PLAY

All the Ixalan Grand Prix Playmats by, Mike Rosenberg

Today's article is pretty self-explanatory. I have a lot of Grand Prix playmats to show off, along with details of how you can get them! But before we dive into that . . . The Ixalan Gra...

Learn More

ORGANIZED PLAY

Team Pro Tour Pro Points and World Championship Coverage by, Mike Rosenberg

Hey everyone! Before Organized Play goes on a two-week hiatus for Ixalan previews, I have two very important bits of news for you today. Pro Points for Pro Tour 25th Anniversary Back in...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Organized Play Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All

We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any link on this page or by clicking Yes, you are giving your consent for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more