Fall Modern Mania and More

Posted in Competitive Gaming on November 6, 2015

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

The month of November features a variety of Constructed format Grand Prix, as we wind down 2015 and head toward the final big event of the year: the World Magic Cup.

But first, let's talk a bit about last weekend's Regional Pro Tour Qualifiers!

Regional Pro Tour Qualifier Decklists

Last weekend, Regional Pro Tour Qualifiers for Pro Tour Oath of the Gatewatch took place in North America and Asia, as invited players competed in a Modern Constructed tournament for a shot to play at the next Pro Tour. The Top 4 finishers from each of last weekend's Regional Pro Tour Qualifiers have each earned themselves an invitation and a travel award to Pro Tour Oath of the Gatewatch. The exception to this is Japan: With an attendance of 144 players, the Top 8 players from their supersize Regional Pro Tour Qualifier get invitations and a travel award!

For reference, here is the breakdown on the number of players that participated in each Regional Pro Tour Qualifier last weekend:

City, State/Province Country Attendance
Seoul South Korea 45
Bangkok Thailand 66
Auckland New Zealand 45
Tokyo Japan 144
Vancouver, BC Canada 44
(Verdun) Montreal, Quebec Canada 52
Toronto, Ontario Canada 51
Berkeley, California United States 32
Roswell, Georgia United States 67
Lenexa, Kansas United States 59
Rockville, Maryland United States 51
Poughkeepsie, New York United States 85
Monroeville, Pennsylvania United States 39
San Antonio, Texas United States 39
San Diego, California United States 65
Littleton, Colorado United States 35
Maitland, Florida United States 37
Portland, Oregon United States 53
Burnsville, Minnesota United States 56
Indianapolis, Indiana United States 128

We have also compiled the vast majority of last weekend's Top 8 decklists, which you can find below!

Editor's Note: Decklists posted in the Organized Play article on November 13th have been included in this list. 

The remaining Regional Pro Tour Qualifiers for Pro Tour Oath of the Gatewatch take place this weekend. Although next week is Magic Online week here on DailyMTG, we'll be back all the same to bring you the numbers from those events along with more Modern deck goodness.

Viewing Guide

ChannelFireball Twitch Channel

Saturday, November 7

9:15 a.m. PT/12:15 p.m. ET/5:15 p.m. UTC—GP Seattle-Tacoma

Sunday, November 8

9:15 a.m. PT/12:15 p.m. ET/5:15 p.m. UTC—GP Seattle-Tacoma


Magic Twitch Channel

Tuesday, November 10

6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/2 a.m. UTC—Super League Championship


SCGLive Twitch Channel

Saturday, November 7

7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET/3:30 p.m. UTC—SCG Open Philadelphia

Sunday, November 8

6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC—SCG Open Philadelphia


Here's what you can tune in to watch over the next couple of days.

Legacy comes to the Pacific Northwest as Grand Prix Seattle-Tacoma tests players on their ability to navigate a format of Brainstorms, Lightning Bolts, Show and Tells, Æther Vials, Wastelands, Deathrite Shamans, and a lot more.

Join Marshall Sutcliffe, William Jensen, and Ian Duke for two days of Legacy Constructed coverage on the ChannelFireball Twitch Channel on Saturday and Sunday at 9:15 a.m. PT/12:15 p.m. ET/5:15 p.m. UTC.

The group stage matches for the Super League Championship conclude this week, as players seek their entry into the playoffs! Who of the twelve Super League Championship competitors will advance to the playoffs? Join Randy Buehler and the rest of the Super League crew and find out on the Magic Twitch Channel this Tuesday at 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/2 a.m. UTC!

The StarCityGames.com Open Series makes a stop in Philadelphia for a two-day Standard Constructed tournament. Join Patrick Sullivan and Matthias Hunt for live coverage on the SCGLive Twitch Channel, starting Saturday at 7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET/3:30 p.m. UTC. Coverage resumes Sunday at 6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC.

The Flashback

Last weekend featured a whopping three Grand Prix and three different formats. Let's jump in to the highlights.

Grand Prix Lyon brought Europe's Limited lovers together for two days of Battle for Zendikar. The Top 8 featured some prominent names, such as Germany's national champion, Christian Seibold, and Japan's Tomoharu Saito in his 21st Grand Prix Top 8, along with Vincent Lemoine of Belgium and his country's national champion, Branco Neirynck.

In the end, it was an Ob Nixilis Reignited in the hands of Damien Bouillot that paved the way to victory, as he bested Christian Seibold in two games in the final match to claim the title.

Full Coverage

Top 8 Decklists

Highlights

Spotlight on Promising WMC Teams—Reporter Frank Karsten talks to players who are part of teams to watch in the upcoming 2015 World Magic Cup.

Meanwhile, in Brazil, Grand Prix Porto Alegre brought Latin America's Modern scene to battle. Coming out on top of the weekend was Marcos Paulo De Jesus Freitas, whose third Grand Prix Top 8 culminated in a victory.

Full Coverage

Top 8 Decklists

9–16 Decklists

Day One Undefeated Decklists

Highlights

Home Sweet Home—Reporter Chapman Sim caught up with the hometown hero of Porto Alegre: Paulo Vitor Damo da Rosa.

Finally, Grand Prix Indianapolis rounded out the triple weekend with Standard Constructed action. The Top 8 featured Hall of Famer Patrick Chapin as the sole Esper Control player, along with Ray Perez Jr. using the unique Esper Tokens deck. While Perez Jr. was able to dispatch Chapin in the quarterfinals—along with Daniel Chan in the semifinals—he ultimately reached his wall in the final match, where eventual winner Brent Clawson took him down in two games.

Full Coverage

Top 8 Decklists

9–32 Decklists

Day One Undefeated Decklists

Highlights

A Magic Halloween—Reporter Corbin Hosler spotlights Grand Prix Indianapolis attendees who dressed up for the occasion on Day One.

Latest Competitive Gaming Articles

Competitive Gaming

September 12, 2019

Ruby Division Top 4 Preview by, Rich Hagon

It's our last week of Core Split action in the MPL, and as always it features tremendous players. Congratulations to your Top 4 for this week: Ben Stark (6-1), Andrea Mengucci (5-2), Reid...

Learn More

Competitive Gaming

September 9, 2019

Core Split Ruby Division Decklists by, Wizards of the Coast

Here are the decklists from the Ruby Division Top 4 and round-robin matches from the Core Split. ...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Competitive Gaming Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All

We use cookies on this site to personalize content and ads, provide social media features and analyze web traffic. By clicking YES, you are consenting for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more