Grand Prix and Pro Tour Coverage

Posted in Organized Play on July 6, 2017

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

With Hour of Devastation Prereleases coming up this weekend and the official release next Friday, many top competitive players as well as aspiring gamers will be sleeving up new cards in a fresh Standard format and cracking open some packs for Booster Drafts as they prepare for upcoming opportunities for prize money and Pro Tour invitations.

We've got a brief overview of the three weekends of coverage that will kick off starting July 21/22 (depending on your time zone), so read on!

Kyoto and Toronto's Overview of Limited

Coverage gets back into gear with Grand Prix in Toronto and Kyoto, showcasing the new Hour of Devastation Limited format in action for the first time at the premier-play level.

July 22–23: Grand Prix Kyoto and Toronto
Live Video from: Grand Prix Kyoto (twitch.tv/magic)
Start Times: Friday, July 21 at 6:15 p.m. PT/1:15 a.m. UTC and Saturday, July 22 at 6 p.m. PT/1 a.m. UTC
Video Producer: Rich Hagon
Video Director: Rashad Miller
Camera and Graphics: Neil Rigby and Maria Bartholdi
Play-by-Play Commentators: Riley Knight and Brian David-Marshall
Color Commentators: Frank Karsten and Marshall Sutcliffe
Writer-Reporters: Marc Calderaro and Chapman Sim (Kyoto), Corbin Hosler (Toronto)

This weekend is a bit of a twist as we bring you live video coverage from Kyoto, Japan, this time around as a little pre–Pro Tour action. We anticipate that close to 3,000 players will be competing in the main event to try their hand at Hour of Devastation Limited, and we'll be bringing you all the action live.

Because of time zones, this means the start time for coverage is a lot different than usual. We'll be starting coverage on Saturday at 10:15 a.m. local time, roughly when Round 1 is set to begin after Sealed Deck building. Local time is Japan Time, so that means Friday at 6:15 p.m. PT/9:15 p.m. ET for North America. If you're tuning in from Europe, that's Saturday at 01:15 UTC/03:15 CET.

Kyoto will be a combination of North American and European coverage teams, as Brian-David Marshall and Marshall Sutcliffe are joined by Riley Knight and Frank Karsten to bring you video coverage of each round of the Grand Prix starting with a recording of Round 1.

Pro Tour Kyoto and the Conclusion to the 2016–17 Season

After a weekend of GPs, it's Pro Tour time! Pro Tour Hour of Devastation will be more than just a showcase of the fresh Standard format following the banning of Aetherworks Marvel. It's also the end of the 2016–17 pro season, which means a lot:

  • We'll know all the team captains for the 73 countries competing in the 2017 World Magic Cup.
  • We'll know our field of 24 World Championship competitors and our two teams for the Team Series Championship.
  • We'll know who our 2016-17 Player of the Year is.
  • We'll have a new Pro Tour Champion.

Exciting, right? Here's a look at the team.

July 28–30: Pro Tour Hour of Devastation
Start Times: July 27–29 at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET/12 a.m. UTC (Remember, local time is Japan Time, so for many of you, coverage starts the evening before!)
Play-by-Play Commentators: Marshall Sutcliffe, Riley Knight, and Tim Willoughby
Color Commentators: Luis Scott-Vargas and Paul Cheon
News Desk: Rich Hagon, Brian David-Marshall, and Maria Bartholdi
Feature Match Spotters: Rashad Miller and Neil Rigby
Writer-Reporters: Marc Calderaro and Chapman Sim
Content Managers/Editors: Blake Rasmussen and Mike Rosenberg
Social Media: Nate Price and Chris Peeler
Executive Producer: Greg Collins

It's a big weekend that will be packed with plenty of coverage memories. This will also be the very first Pro Tour to feature Paul Cheon in the commentator booth, and we're excited/delighted/kind of terrified to have him alongside Luis Scott-Vargas on the coverage team for the same show!

While Ian Duke is taking this Pro Tour off to focus on the new Play Design team, you haven't seen the last of him. Several members of that team will be appearing on coverage teams heading into 2018, and he's sure to be in that mix.

In addition to that, Pro Tour Hour of Devastation will be the Pro Tour commentary debut of Riley Knight, who will join Marshall Sutcliffe and Tim Willoughby in the rotation for play-by-play in the booth all weekend!

Minneapolis Mayhem

Our little package of Pro Tour action wraps up with Grand Prix Minneapolis and its Standard main event, as we visit the format one week after the Pro Tour's conclusion.

August 5–6: Grand Prix Minneapolis (twitch.tv/magic)
Start Times: Saturday, August 5 at 8 a.m. PT/3 p.m. UTC and Sunday, August 6 at 7 a.m. PT/2 p.m. UTC
Video Producer: Rich Hagon
Video Director: Rashad Miller
Camera and Graphics: BJ Ogden
Play-by-Play Commentators: Marshall Sutcliffe and Maria Bartholdi
Color Commentators: Melissa DeTora and Jacob Van Lunen
Writer-Reporters: Corbin Hosler and Hallie Santo

This Grand Prix marks a very special return of Melissa DeTora to the coverage team, this time as one of the commentators for the live video broadcast!

Be sure to tune in to twitch.tv/magic in these coming weeks, as we look forward to bringing you coverage from the next few weekends of big events!

Latest Organized Play Articles

ORGANIZED PLAY

All the Ixalan Grand Prix Playmats by, Mike Rosenberg

Today's article is pretty self-explanatory. I have a lot of Grand Prix playmats to show off, along with details of how you can get them! But before we dive into that . . . The Ixalan Gra...

Learn More

ORGANIZED PLAY

Team Pro Tour Pro Points and World Championship Coverage by, Mike Rosenberg

Hey everyone! Before Organized Play goes on a two-week hiatus for Ixalan previews, I have two very important bits of news for you today. Pro Points for Pro Tour 25th Anniversary Back in...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Organized Play Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All

We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any link on this page or by clicking Yes, you are giving your consent for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more