Grand Prix Coverage through July

Posted in Competitive Gaming on June 14, 2018

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

Editor's Note: Due to some scheduling conflicts, some shifts in the coverage line-ups for GP Sacramento and GP Minneapolis have taken place. 

Get a sneak preview of what to expect from coverage for July as we spotlight the Grand Prix leading into Pro Tour 25th Anniversary!

For reference, if you're looking at June, we have information on coverage for this month from my article a few weeks ago.

GP Sao Paulo

First up next month is Grand Prix Sao Paulo, featuring a Modern Constructed main event July 7–8. We'll be bringing you live video coverage of this one, featuring a combination of European and Brazilian talent in the booth!

Editor's Note: The start times have been adjusted after this article was published. Please note the new start times for when to tune in to coverage for Sao Paulo. 

Start Times: 6 a.m. PT/1 p.m. UTC on Saturday, 5:15 a.m. PT/12:15 p.m. UTC on Sunday
Play-by-Play Commentators: Riley Knight and Tim Willoughby
Color Commentators: Paulo Vitor Damo da Rosa and Lucas Esper Berthoud
Showrunner: Tobi Henke
Writer-Reporter: Chapman Sim

The production team for this event will be a regional crew managed by Willy Edel.

After our first live video weekend from Brazil last year, the GP crew returns to bring you two days of the latest Modern action from South America as we get one last look at the format before the release of Core Set 2019 and Pro Tour 25th Anniversary.

GP Sacramento and Chiba

The weekend of July 20–22 will be the first time Core Set 2019 Limited will be showcased at a Grand Prix main event, with GPs happening in both Chiba and Japan, as well as Sacramento in the USA.

While the Japanese coverage team broadcasts live coverage of Chiba in Japanese, we'll be bringing you live video from Sacramento in English for both days of the main event.

Start Times: 10 a.m. PT/5 p.m. UTC on Saturday; 9 a.m. PT/4 p.m. UTC on Sunday
Video Producer: Rich Hagon
Video Director: Rashad Miller
Camera and Graphics: BJ Ogden and Andy Cooperfauss
Play-by-Play Commentators: TJ Rogers and Brian David-Marshall
Color Commentators: Paul Rietzl and Jacob Van Lunen
Showrunner: Meghan Wolff
Writer-Reporters: Corey Burkhart (Sacramento), Chapman Sim (Chiba)

Sacramento will mark Paul Rietzl's return to the coverage booth following his two days in GP Las Vegas (which you can tune in for this weekend!). It will also be the official coverage debut of Corey Burkhart as part of the text team. Welcome, Corey!

GP Minneapolis and Turin

Wrapping up July and leading into Pro Tour weekend are Grand Prix in Minneapolis and Turin. Minneapolis will be the host of live video for that weekend, with coverage on July 28–29 to follow the action of the main event.

Start Times: 8 a.m. PT/3 p.m. UTC on Saturday; 7 a.m. PT/2 p.m. UTC on Sunday
Video Producer: Rich Hagon
Video Director: Rashad Miller
Camera and Graphics: BJ Ogden and Andy Cooperfauss
Play-by-Play Commentators: Brian David-Marshall and Maria Bartholdi
Color Commentators: Paul Rietzl and Paulo Vitor Damo da Rosa
Showrunner: Adam Styborski
Writer-Reporter: Corbin Hosler (Minneapolis), Tobi Henke (Turin)

Both events will be one more good look at Core Set 2019 Limited before we shift our focus toward teams to watch out for heading into the Team Trios Constructed format of Pro Tour 25th Anniversary.

July's going to be a fun month, with the core set back and multiple weekends of coverage that will showcase what to look forward to in an upcoming new Limited format. Tune in to twitch.tv/magic to see it all live!

Latest Competitive Gaming Articles

COMPETITIVE GAMING

December 13, 2018

2018 World Magic Cup FAQ by, Mike Rosenberg

74 countries, $250,000, and three days of live action are what's in store for you December 14–16 with the 2018 World Magic Cup! WORLD MAGIC CUP OVERVIEW Here's the key info about the 20...

Learn More

COMPETITIVE GAMING

December 11, 2018

World Magic Cup Preview by, Rich Hagon

Watch the 2018 World Magic Cup Live on Twitch! Watch live video coverage of the 2018 World Magic Cup on twitch.tv/magic December 14–16! Coverage begins on Friday, December 14, at 10 a.m....

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Competitive Gaming Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All

We use cookies on this site to personalize content and ads, provide social media features and analyze web traffic. By clicking YES, you are consenting for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more