The Modern Times

Posted in Competitive Gaming on September 11, 2015

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

This week, we've got a quick recap of yesterday's announcement, a little bit of Modern that has passed by with some 2015 World Magic Cup Qualifier Top 8 decklists, and some Modern to look forward to and more with a look at the next few days of Grand Prix and what to watch on Twitch.

2016 Grand Prix Updates

Yesterday, Hélène Bergeot announced a couple of changes to the 2016 Grand Prix schedule. In addition to that, she also revealed the venues and organizers for each of next year's Grand Prix, along with the updated prize structure for all of 2016's events.

While the Premier Events calendar and Grand Prix events page have been updated with these changes, if you are planning on attending any Grand Prix next year, I highly advise bookmarking yesterday's announcement, as it will be an invaluable asset for you if you are planning your trip more than a few weeks in advance. If you're planning on attending multiple Grand Prix, it also provides a great general overview on the year.

2015 World Magic Cup Qualifier – Round 2

Last weekend, players from seventy-three countries competed in their nations' World Magic Cup Qualifiers to earn a spot on their country's team in the 2015 World Magic Cup, taking place December 11–13 in Barcelona, Spain. That marks seventy-three teams that now have their third confirmed representative.

The full list of World Magic Cup teams as of last weekend can be viewed at this page. From September 19 to 20, the third and final World Magic Cup Qualifier of the year will take place, and the teams will be confirmed in just a few short weeks.

In the meantime, we have a number of Modern decks for you to look through from some of last weekend's World Magic Cup Qualifiers. You can take a look at the Top 8 decklists that we currently have below:

Canada

Chile

China

Czech Republic

England

Greece

Germany

Italy

Japan

Netherlands

Singapore

United States

Viewing Guide

Magic Twitch Channel

Saturday, September 12

5:15 a.m. PT/8:15 a.m. ET/12 p.m. UTC: Grand Prix Madrid

Sunday, September 13

1 a.m. PT/4 a.m. ET/8 a.m. UTC: Grand Prix Madrid

Tuesday, September 15

6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/1 a.m. UTC: Modern Super League

Magic2 Twitch Channel

Saturday, September 12

11 a.m. PT/2 p.m. ET/6 p.m. UTC: Grand Prix Oklahoma City

Sunday, September 13

7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC: Grand Prix Oklahoma City

SCGLive Twitch Channel

Saturday, September 12

7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. UTC: SCG Open Worcester

Sunday, September 13

6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC: SCG Open Worcester

We're back into Grand Prix business with September's two Grand Prix! On top of that, we've got a brand new Super League to look forward to, as well as another StarCityGames.com Open Series event this weekend.

First up is Grand Prix Madrid, a swan song to Magic Origins Limited at the Grand Prix level before we move into the Prereleases and the release of Battle for Zendikar. Who will prove themselves to be the best this weekend?

Join Riley Knight, Matej Zatlkaj, Eduardo Sajgalik, Rich Hagon, Steven Leeming, and Neil Rigby for two days of live Grand Prix coverage on the Magic Twitch Channel. Coverage begins at 2:15 p.m. local time on Saturday (CET)/5:15 a.m. PT/8:15 a.m. ET/12:15 p.m. UTC. Coverage resumes Sunday at 10 a.m. local time (CET)/1 a.m. PT/4 a.m. ET/8 a.m. UTC.

Also taking place this weekend is Grand Prix Oklahoma City, showcasing the latest Modern action on the Grand Prix circuit. Following last weekend's World Magic Cup Qualifiers, what can we expect to see rise to the top in the ever-adjusting Modern metagame?

Join Marshall Sutcliffe, Randy Buehler, Jacob Van Lunen, Rashad Miller, Ray Punzalan, and Matt Mendoza for two days of Modern thrills! It all starts on the Magic2 Twitch Channel on Saturday at 1 p.m. local time (CT)/11 a.m. PT/2 p.m. ET/6 p.m. UTC. Coverage resumes Sunday at 9 a.m. local time (CT)/7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC.

On Tuesday, September 15, the Modern Super League makes its debut with an all-star lineup featuring some of the professional Magic circuit's top international names when it comes to Modern Constructed!

Join Randy Buehler and the rest of the Modern Super League crew for the premiere of Modern on Super Tuesday on the Magic Twitch Channel! It all begins Tuesday at 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/1 a.m. UTC.

The StarCityGames.com Open Series stops in Worcester this weekend for two days of Standard Constructed. Join Patrick Sullivan and Cedric Phillips along with the rest of the SCGLive crew for live coverage on the SCGLive Twitch Channel starting Saturday at 7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. UTC. Coverage resumes Sunday at 6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC.

Latest Competitive Gaming Articles

February 19, 2020

Grand Prix Phoenix 2020 Final Standings by, Wizards of the Coast

Rank Player Points Prize Money 1 Weitz, Benjamin [US] 37 $7,000 2 Lopez, Andrew [US] 37 $3,500 3 Henriksen, Kyle [US] 39 $1,750 4 Sears, Isa...

Learn More

February 8, 2020

Players Tour Phoenix Top 8 Decklists by, Corbin Hosler

After a tournament seemingly overrun by the potent new Lotus Breach deck, the Top 8 of Players Tour Phoenix turned out to represent a diverse slice of the quickly evolving format. Here's ...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Competitive Gaming Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All