More Regional Decks and What to Watch

Posted in Competitive Gaming on November 13, 2015

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

Magic Online Takeover Week isn't the only thing winding down around here. We've got another batch of Top 8 decklists from the second week of Regional Pro Tour Qualifiers that feed Pro Tour Oath of the Gatewatch, rounding out the year of Regional Pro Tour Qualifiers, and there are also only two weekends of Grand Prix left in 2015!

Let's jump in to the good stuff first: more decks.

Latin America and Europe Regional PTQ Decklists

We've got another ten sets of Regional Pro Tour Qualifier Modern decklists for you today, from Latin America, Europe, and the remaining store from North America.

But first, here are the numbers from last weekend's Regional PTQs.

CITY COUNTRY ATTENDANCE
Sao Paulo Brazil 69
México City Mexico 38
Buenos Aires Argentina 27
Madrid Spain 113
Köln Germany 78
Moscow Russian Federation 26
Stockholm Sweden 50
Prague Czech Republic 83
Lyon France 73
Rome Italy 152
London England 104

Big props to Rome's Regional Pro Tour Qualifier, as all eight of the Top 8 players from that one earned invitations and airfare to Pro Tour Oath of the Gatewatch!

You can find this week's decklists below:

Viewing Guide

It's the second-to-last weekend of Grand Prix in 2015 starting tomorrow, and the Super League Championship playoffs start a few days later!

Magic Twitch Channel

Saturday, November 14

4 a.m. PT/7 a.m. ET/12 p.m. UTC—GP Brussels

Sunday, November 15

12 a.m. PT/3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. UTC—GP Brussels

Tuesday, November 17

6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/2 a.m. UTC—Super League Championship Playoffs


SCGLive Twitch Channel

Saturday, November 14

6:15 a.m. PT/9:15 a.m. ET/2:15 p.m. UTC—GP Atlanta

Sunday, November 15

6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC—GP Atlanta


First up is Grand Prix Brussels, featuring two days of Standard in Europe. Join Tim Willoughby, Gabriel Nassif, Marijn Lybaert, Rich Hagon, Steven Leeming, and Neil Rigby in two days of live coverage on the Magic Twitch Channel! Coverage starts 4 a.m. PT/7 a.m. ET/12 p.m. UTC on Saturday, and coverage resumes for Day Two at 12 a.m. PT/3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. UTC on Sunday.

Meanwhile, on the other side of the Atlantic Ocean, SCGLive will be bringing you the latest from Grand Prix Atlanta, a two-day Battle for Zendikar Limited bonanza. Join Cedric Phillips, Patrick Sullivan, and the rest of the SCGLive crew for two days of live coverage on the SCGLive Twitch Channel! It all begins Saturday at 6:15 a.m. PT/9:15 a.m. ET/2:15 p.m. UTC. Coverage resumes Sunday at 6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC.

The Super League Championship is headed into the playoffs, and Gaby Spartz and Lee Shi Tian are starting off on the right foot with byes due to their 3-0 performances in pool play! For Gaby, her win last week marked an incredible eighth win in a row in Super League matches this year!

Will her record hold as she embarks toward the title of Super League Champion, or will Lee Shi Tian or one of the four competitors battling this Tuesday—Eric Froehlich, Paul Rietzl, Shaun McLaren, or Paul Cheon—emerge triumphant at the end of this season?

Join Randy Buehler and the rest of the Super League Championship crew for the first part of this exciting playoff spectacle! Coverage takes place on the Magic Twitch Channel and begins at 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/2 a.m. UTC.

The Flashback

There was only one Grand Prix last weekend, but it was a big one.

Grand Prix Seattle-Tacoma featured around 2,000 players from all over the world as they battled in two days of the timeless Legacy Constructed format. Some traveled from nearby regions for their hometown Grand Prix, while others came from across the Pacific or Atlantic to take part in one of the year's three Legacy Grand Prix.

In the end, longtime Pro Tour Qualifier regular Jarvis Yu from Rockville, Maryland, displayed mastery of his Lands deck, besting Christian Calcano 2-0 in the finals.

Full Coverage

Top 8 Decklists

9-32 Decklists

Day One Undefeated Decklists

Trial-Winning Decklists

Deck Tech: Dragon Prison with Jacob Kory

Legacy Mentors (Esper Mentor Deck Tech with Patrick Chapin)

Highlights

Asia's Grand Prix Globetrotters—I had a chance to talk to Team MTG Mint Card's Huang Hao-Shan and Yam Wing Chun about why they made the trek out to North America, and what their schedule was looking like this month.

Barbara the Relentless—Writer Hallie Santo came to us with an excellent story idea, and her follow-through is well worth the read. Learn a little bit about Barbara McCann, a mother, rock climber, and Magic player who made the trek to her local Grand Prix.

Grandiose Grand Prix Artistry—Reporter Adam Styborski chatted with Mike Linnemann, a die-hard Vorthos player who was drawn to Grand Prix Seattle-Tacoma for its robust gathering of Magic artists from the game's history.

Latest Competitive Gaming Articles

February 19, 2020

Grand Prix Phoenix 2020 Final Standings by, Wizards of the Coast

Rank Player Points Prize Money 1 Weitz, Benjamin [US] 37 $7,000 2 Lopez, Andrew [US] 37 $3,500 3 Henriksen, Kyle [US] 39 $1,750 4 Sears, Isa...

Learn More

February 8, 2020

Players Tour Phoenix Top 8 Decklists by, Corbin Hosler

After a tournament seemingly overrun by the potent new Lotus Breach deck, the Top 8 of Players Tour Phoenix turned out to represent a diverse slice of the quickly evolving format. Here's ...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Competitive Gaming Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All