Pro Tour Battle for Zendikar Countdown

Posted in Competitive Gaming on October 9, 2015

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

In one week, at this time, Pro Tour Battle for Zendikar will be underway. Featuring a brand new Limited format and a battle land-infused mana base that will completely shift the Standard Constructed landscape around (read: battle lands, not tango lands), the Pro Tour is your best opportunity to witness the new set in action as the very best Magic players from all over the world compete for their share of $250,000, an invitation to the 2016 Magic: The Gathering World Championship, and the coveted title of Pro Tour champion.

Hang on to your hats, because this Pro Tour is going to be one for the ages.

Pro Tour Battle for Zendikar Basics

Here's what you should know about Pro Tour Battle for Zendikar

  • The Pro Tour is a three-day, invitation-only event featuring the world's very best Magic players—including players perhaps much like yourself, who started their paths to the Pro Tour at local Preliminary Pro Tour Qualifiers—as they compete for fame, glory, and a sizable chunk of the $250,000 prize pool.
  • The formats for Friday and Saturday are three rounds of Battle for Zendikar Booster Draft, followed by five rounds of Standard Constructed.
  • All players with 12 or more match points (a 4-4 record or better) at the end of the first day of play advance to Day Two.
  • The Top 8 players at the end of sixteen rounds of Swiss advance to Sunday.
  • Sunday play is single-elimination Standard Constructed with players using their deck from Friday and Saturday, featuring the quarterfinals, semifinals, and the final match all broadcast in their entirety.
  • Quarterfinals and semifinals are best two-out-of-three.
  • The final match is best three-out-of-five.
  • The winner gets $40,000, is automatically granted Platinum status in the Pro Tour Players Club for this season and next season (which gives them some awesome benefits for the 2015-16 and 2016-17 seasons), and is invited to compete in the 2016 Magic: The Gathering World Championship.

Needless to say, there is a lot on the line at this Pro Tour, which means competitors will be bringing their A-game. That means plenty of Limited knowledge and their best Standard decks to watch. Speaking of which . . .

When Does Coverage Start?

You can watch all three days of Pro Tour Battle for Zendikar LIVE on twitch.tv/magic starting Friday, Saturday, and Sunday at 9 a.m. local time (CT)/7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC. Video coverage lasts until the day is complete. Be sure to follow our Twitch channel and turn on notifications, and you'll receive an email when we go live!

Joining us in the booth and at the news desk for live video coverage are Pro Tour host Rich Hagon and Pro Tour historian Brian David-Marshall, along with Randy Buehler, Marshall Sutcliffe, Tim Willoughby, and Ian Duke as they provide commentary, analysis, and more from a variety of different approaches.

Nightbot—the handy dandy Twitch bot that helps us automate Twitch chat moderation—will also have some commands available to those participating in the chat at twitch.tv/magic. Commands will be posted on the Twitch page, and you can use those to call up links to key content throughout the weekend!

Where Else Can I Experience the Coverage?

Aside from our live broadcast on Twitch, you can also watch our live video coverage on NicoNico. Links to the NicoNico pages will be on the coverage page once it goes live.

The official Pro Tour Battle for Zendikar coverage page will also house plenty of written content, decklists, and more. Leading the text team is DailyMTG editor-in-chief Blake Rasmussen, and he'll be joined by Adam Styborski, Corbin Hosler, and Jacob Van Lunen on the writing staff. Nick Fang will be bringing the team the latest from the tournament floor and will be making updates to the Pro Tour ticket on the broadcast. I'll be working behind the scenes as the show editor, as per the usual, alongside photographer extraordinaire Craig Gibson as he captures this Pro Tour from behind the lens.

When Will Decklists Be Published?

In order to preserve the integrity of the Pro Tour, we withhold publishing sensitive information until key points in the weekend. So remember, if you are looking for a decklist and can't find one, check back at the times noted below!

We'll be posting Draft Viewers—interactive pages where you can view the packs and picks of the eight players at our featured draft table—once the third round of each day's Booster Draft format begins.

Standard Constructed decklists of all players from written feature matches, as well as decklists in any featured articles, will be published starting Round 16 of the Swiss rounds. Round 16 of the Swiss rounds takes place near the end of the day on Saturday. If you're wondering which articles will have decklists, just look for the following text in an article: "Decklists will be posted once Round 16 of the Pro Tour begins."

If you see that, then check back later in the weekend for your Standard decklist goodness!

Top 8 decklists will be published online as soon as we are able to do so at the end of Saturday.

The top Standard decklists will be published Sunday, and will be divided into a few different articles: decklists for all players with 24 match points or greater, decklists for all players with 21-23 match points, and decklists for all players with 18-20 match points. Our web team will be hard at work getting those decklists ready, so please be patient while the team preps those and enjoy the Top 8 coverage in the meantime.

Where Can I Find Out More?

Not able to tune in to the coverage all weekend? You can get updates on the go as well as details on who is playing in the feature match area if you follow @magicprotour on Twitter. That account is also where you can go for the latest pairings, results, and standings as they are published.

Looking to join in on the conversation? Just use the hashtag #PTBFZ on Twitter to join the discussion about Pro Tour Battle for Zendikar. You can also check out the Magic: The Gathering Facebook page for content, photos, and more as well throughout the weekend.

That's all taking place next weekend. Meanwhile . . .

Viewing Guide

Here's what's going on this weekend!

Magic Twitch Channel
Saturday, October 10
12 p.m. PT/3 p.m. ET/7 p.m. UTC—Grand Prix Madison
Sunday, October 11
8 a.m. PT/11 a.m. ET/3 p.m. UTC—Grand Prix Madison


SCGLive Twitch Channel
Saturday, October 10
7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m ET/2:30 p.m. UTC—SCG Open Atlanta
Sunday, October 11
6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC—SCG Open Atlanta


SvMTV
Saturday, October 10
1 a.m. PT/4 a.m. ET/8 a.m. UTC—Scandinavian Open #7
Sunday, October 11
1 a.m. PT/4 a.m. ET/8 a.m. UTC—Scandinavian Open #7


 

 

Get your first look at Battle for Zendikar at the premier play level with Grand Prix Madison, showcasing the new set's Limited formats! Join Marshall Sutcliffe, Randy Buehler, Rich Hagon, Rashad Miller, Rich Castle, and Rusty Kubis as they bring you the latest Limited coverage from the tournament floor on twitch.tv/magic starting Saturday at 12 p.m. PT/3 p.m. ET/7 p.m. UTC. Coverage of Day Two begins at 8 a.m. PT/11 a.m. ET/3 p.m. UTC.

 

 

The StarCityGames.com Open Series makes a stop in Atlanta, and it's once again showcasing the new Standard format. Get a taste of the new Standard before the Pro Tour with Patrick Sullivan and Cedric Phillips as they bring you the latest from Atlanta on twitch.tv/scglive starting Saturday at 7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m ET/2:30 p.m. UTC. Coverage resumes Sunday at 6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC.

 

 

The Scandinavian Open makes a stop in Stockholm, Sweden this weekend, as Scandinavia's Magic scene competes in Battle for Zendikar Sealed on Saturday and Legacy on Sunday. Catch all the action on both days at 1 a.m. PT/4 a.m. ET/8 a.m. UTC on twitch.tv/svmtv.

Latest Competitive Gaming Articles

Competitive Gaming

January 30, 2019

The MTG Arena Mythic Invitational by, Wizards of the Coast

The first-ever $1 million Magic: The Gathering Mythic Invitational is the kick-off of an exhilarating new world of competitive Magic—and you could be there! The members of the Magic Pro ...

Learn More

COMPETITIVE GAMING

January 21, 2019

January Magic Tournament Rules Release Notes by, Scott Larabee

Magic: The Gathering Tournament Rules Updates Here are the Magic: The Gathering Tournament Rules update notes for the latest release (which can be found here), listed by the section numb...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Competitive Gaming Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All

We use cookies on this site to personalize content and ads, provide social media features and analyze web traffic. By clicking YES, you are consenting for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more