Pro Tour Battle for Zendikar Post-Show

Posted in Competitive Gaming on October 23, 2015

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

The Pro Tour has come and gone, and with it, a new Pro Tour champion has been crowned. It was an all-Japan final match, the first time this has happened since the 2006 World Championships, as Kazuyuki Takimura bested Ryoichi Tamada in the fifth and final game of the weekend.

Pro Tour weekend is always a big occasion, with an outpouring of information and decks that influence a number of events going forward. We're going to take a look at what you can be a part of this weekend, and then we'll take a look at some of the highlights from the Pro Tour.

Game Day!

Battle for Zendikar Game Day takes place this weekend. Game Day, a Standard tournament weekend that takes place at local game stores worldwide, always follows the weekend of the Pro Tour and gives you an opportunity to bring your best to your local metagame for a shot at some really cool promos.

Everyone who participates in the Battle for Zendikar Game Day gets a sweet full-art Stasis Snare:

If you do well at your local Game Day and finish in the Top 8 of your store, you'll also get a Radiant Flames full-art promo:

Win the whole thing, and you'll get one of these:

Game Days are a blast, offering a competitive local tournament to scratch your itch to battle right after the Pro Tour takes place. So be sure to find a store near you and show your local scene what you've got to bring to battle!

This Weekend's Grand Prix

Also following the Pro Tour are two Grand Prix, each showcasing different formats on different continents.

The first of these is Grand Prix Beijing, featuring the Battle for Zendikar Team Limited formats in action. Asia's top players and Magic fans will get together in teams of three and tackle Team Sealed Booster Draft, where they build three decks out of twelve Battle for Zendikar booster packs. The Top 4 teams will be able to try out the Team Booster Draft format.

Each team that competes in the Grand Prix Beijing main event gets three event-exclusive playmats along with their twelve boosters to use for their three decks, as well as one Griselbrand promo card per person.

If you're not going to be at GP Beijing, we'll have veteran reporter and Silver-status pro Chapman Sim reporting on the latest from the tournament floor, from the top teams and their strategies to the sights and sounds of the Grand Prix. Check back over the weekend for updates!

Also going on this weekend is Grand Prix Quebec City, a Standard continuation from last weekend's Pro Tour Constructed format. What sorts of innovations and metagaming will take place in the Standard Constructed main event in Quebec, and how will players adjust to the top-performing archetypes of the Pro Tour?

All players who participate in the Grand Prix Quebec City main event will receive six Battle for Zendikar boosters, a Griselbrand promo, a coupon for a discount on any on-demand event, and a sweet event-exclusive playmat featuring art from the Battle for Zendikar card Veteran Warleader.

Not able to make it out to Quebec City? You can tune in this weekend to our live coverage: live video reporting featuring Marshall Sutcliffe, Frank Karsten, and Kenji Egashira along with articles from showrunner Adam Styborski and coverage veteran Josh Bennett.

Viewing Guide

Magic Twitch Channel

Saturday, October 24

10 a.m. PT/1 p.m. ET/5 p.m. UTC—GP Quebec City

Sunday, October 25

6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC—GP Quebec City

Tuesday, October 27

6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/1 a.m. UTC—Super League Championship


SCGLive Twitch Channel

Saturday, October 24

8:30 a.m. PT/11:30 a.m. ET/3:30 p.m. UTC—SCG Open St. Louis

Sunday, October 25

7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC—SCG Open St. Louis


The line-up for the next few days of coverage across various channels is as follows...

First up is Grand Prix Quebec City, which features the Standard follow-up from the Pro Tour. Join Marshall Sutcliffe, Frank Karsten, Kenji Egashira, Rashad Miller, RichCastle, and Matt Mendoza for two days of Standard action on the Magic Twitch Channel starting Saturday at 1 p.m. local time (ET)/10 a.m. PT/5 p.m. UTC. Coverage of Day Two begins on Sunday at 9 a.m. local time (ET)/6 a.m. PT/1 p.m. UTC.

The Super League Championship kicks off on Tuesday, featuring the eight competitors in the first of a three-wee- long Group Stage, where players will be divided into random groups after they submit Standard decklists on Monday.

Who will be crowned the Super League champion? Join Randy Buehler and the rest of the Super League crowd to find out! It all starts on the Magic Twitch Channel Tuesday at 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/1 a.m. UTC.

Looking for a little Legacy action before Grand Prix Seattle-Tacoma? Then check out the StarCityGames.com Open Series event taking place live in St. Louis this weekend! Join Patrick Sullivan and Cedric Phillips for two days of Legacy on the SCGLive Twitch Channel starting Saturday at 8:30 a.m. PT/11:30 a.m. ET/3:30 p.m. UTC. Coverage of Day Two begins at 7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC.

The Flashback

Last weekend's Pro Tour introduced a huge selection of new decklists, crowned a new Pro Tour champion and Platinum pro, and saw some amazing stories emerge.

Full Coverage

Top 8 Decklists

24–27 Point Standard Decklists

21–23 Point Standard Decklists

18–20 Point Standard Decklists

Day One Draft Viewer

Day Two Draft Viewer

Hall of Fame Induction—Congratulations to Eric Froehlich, Shota Yasooka, and Willy Edel on their Pro Tour Hall of Fame Class of 2015 inductions!

Highlights

The Best Team at the Pro Tour—In case you're not one of the many, many people who have read it, don't miss Corbin Hosler's report on the Burtons, one of the most notable teams to attend Pro Tour Battle for Zendikar.

Deck Tech: Blue-Black Aristocrats with Christian Calcano and Pascal Maynard—Perhaps the talk of the tournament on Saturday, Christian Calcano's Blue-Black Aristocrats deck turned heads. Jacob Van Lunen got a chance to talk to him and teammate Pascal Maynard about the deck a little more.

The Few, the New, the Platinum—Adam Styborski checks in with some newly minted Platinum pros of the Pro Tour Players Club.

Latest Competitive Gaming Articles

February 19, 2020

Grand Prix Phoenix 2020 Final Standings by, Wizards of the Coast

Rank Player Points Prize Money 1 Weitz, Benjamin [US] 37 $7,000 2 Lopez, Andrew [US] 37 $3,500 3 Henriksen, Kyle [US] 39 $1,750 4 Sears, Isa...

Learn More

February 8, 2020

Players Tour Phoenix Top 8 Decklists by, Corbin Hosler

After a tournament seemingly overrun by the potent new Lotus Breach deck, the Top 8 of Players Tour Phoenix turned out to represent a diverse slice of the quickly evolving format. Here's ...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Competitive Gaming Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All