Pro Tour Hour of Devastation Aftermath

Posted in Competitive Gaming on August 2, 2017

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

I'm writing this at the venue for Pro Tour Hour of Devastation. We just crowned a Pro Tour Champion and witnessed some exhilarating Magic all weekend.

As the folks here on the coverage production team look ahead to the Magic: The Gathering World Championship—with its field of 24 players now confirmed—many of you may be looking ahead to this weekend. After all, that's because it'll be . . .

Game Day!

Game Day for Hour of Devastation takes place this weekend, meaning it'll be your chance to take your Standard deck to your local participating game store to battle for bragging rights and some cool stuff.

Players who play in a Game Day event will receive a full-art Abrade promo card (while supplies last).

The Top 8 competitors at each Game Day get to up their full-art action with a copy of a the adorable Adorned Pouncer promo. Eternal kitties, anyone?

And finally, the winner of each Game Day can lay claim to the title of champi—er, Mastermind!

In case you're looking for a little inspiration for this weekend's Game Day, there were plenty of masterminds at last weekend's Pro Tour. We've got their decklists for you to look through.

Speaking of Standard tournaments this weekend . . .

GP Minneapolis

While Ramunap Red incinerated the competition at Pro Tour Hour of Devastation, all eyes are on that deck going into Minneapolis. Will the metagame adjust to defeat the new red boss in town?

We'll be providing live video coverage from this event on twitch.tv/magic starting Saturday at 8 a.m. PT/11 a.m. ET/3 p.m. UTC, with Day Two of GP coverage beginning at 7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC.

Tune in to see how Standard evolves!

Latest Competitive Gaming Articles

February 19, 2020

Grand Prix Phoenix 2020 Final Standings by, Wizards of the Coast

Rank Player Points Prize Money 1 Weitz, Benjamin [US] 37 $7,000 2 Lopez, Andrew [US] 37 $3,500 3 Henriksen, Kyle [US] 39 $1,750 4 Sears, Isa...

Learn More

February 8, 2020

Players Tour Phoenix Top 8 Decklists by, Corbin Hosler

After a tournament seemingly overrun by the potent new Lotus Breach deck, the Top 8 of Players Tour Phoenix turned out to represent a diverse slice of the quickly evolving format. Here's ...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Competitive Gaming Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All