Q1 2018 Coverage, Eternal Weekends, and More

Posted in Competitive Gaming on January 11, 2018

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

Buckle up, because after a few weeks of hiatus and with a new year ahead of us, today's edition of Organized Play is packed with all sorts of stuff that'll interest you, including playmats, coverage deets, Eternal Weekend news, and some 2017–18 Team Series roster additions and updates.

All Sorts of Premier Event Goodness

We've got some coverage details regarding Grand Prix and the Pro Tour over the next few weeks, as well as a host of playmats and sweet stuff you can get at GPs through mid-April.

For GP playmats, there are multiple ways you can get them:

  • Add-on packages with your main event registration.
  • Various side event packages that are offered at each event.

Check out the event information pages for each GP for the specifics on how to get a GP's event-exclusive playmat.

Grand Prix Indianapolis

Our next Grand Prix weekend takes place in Indianapolis January 19–21, showcasing Team Limited using the brand-new Rivals of Ixalan across two days. This event, like other team Grand Prix main events from January through May, qualifies players for Pro Tour 25th Anniversary August 3–5.

We'll be bringing you live coverage both days on twitch.tv/magic. The coverage team and start times are as follows:

Start Times: Saturday at 7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET/3:30 p.m. UTC; Sunday at 7:15 a.m. PT/10:15 a.m. ET/3:15 p.m. UTC
Video Producer: Rich Hagon
Video Director: Rashad Miller
Camera and Graphics: BJ Ogden and Andy Cooperfauss
Play-by-Play Commentators: Marshall Sutcliffe and Maria Bartholdi
Color Commentators: Jacob Van Lunen and Kenji Egashira
Showrunner: Marc Calderaro
Writer-Reporter: Chapman Sim

The event-exclusive playmat for GP Indianapolis is . . . well, hold that thought. It's actually plural. Indy's a team event, and players who register for the main event may opt in to a bonus package to choose one of the following three playmats (while supplies last):

The three playmats feature artwork from Aquatic Incursion (art by Jason Rainville), Goblin Trailblazer (art by Josh Hass), and Legion Lieutenant (art by Zezhou Chen).

Grand Prix London and Houston

January 26–28 is a double-GP weekend featuring individual Rivals of Ixalan Limited main events in London and Houston. London is getting the live video coverage treatment that weekend.

Start Times: Saturday at 2 a.m. PT/5 a.m. ET/10 a.m. UTC; Sunday at 1 a.m. PT/4 a.m. ET/9 a.m. UTC
Video Producer: Rich Hagon
Video Director: Rashad Miller
Camera and Graphics: Neil Rigby and Steven Leeming
Play-by-Play Commentators: Riley Knight and Tim Willoughby
Color Commentators: Simon Görtzen and Matej Zatlkaj
Showrunner: Tobi Henke
Writer-Reporters: Frank Karsten (London), Corbin Hosler (Houston)

The playmat for GP London and Houston showcases artwork from the card Champion of Dusk (art by Josh Hass).

Pro Tour Rivals of Ixalan

February starts on a big note, as Pro Tour Rivals of Ixalan takes place in Bilbao, Spain, February 2–4. The first Pro Tour of 2018 features Modern Constructed, Rivals of Ixalan Booster Draft, three days of action, and $250,000 at stake.

The coverage team for the Pro Tour features our mainstay PT coverage crew:

Start Times: All three days at 9 a.m. local time (CET)/12 a.m. PT/3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. UTC
Play-by-Play Commentators: Marshall Sutcliffe, Riley Knight, and Tim Willoughby
Color Commentators: Simon Görtzen and Paul Cheon
Interviewer and Features: Brian David-Marshall
News Desk: Rich Hagon and Maria Bartholdi
Feature Match Spotters: Rashad Miller and Neil Rigby
Writer-Reporters: Frank Karsten and Chapman Sim
Social Media: Marc Calderaro
Content Managers: Blake Rasmussen and Mike Rosenberg
Executive Producer: Greg Collins

Players and locals who stop by can also pick up the exclusive Pro Tour playmat, featuring the usual mesh of plane and city with Huatli riding a dino and a beautiful view of Bilbao, Spain.

Grand Prix Toronto

Want a little more Modern? Grand Prix Toronto will deliver on that February 9–11, as players bring their best Modern decks to compete in the two-day main event.

Start Times: Saturday and Sunday at 6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC
Video Producer: Rich Hagon
Video Director: Rashad Miller
Camera and Graphics: BJ Ogden and Athena Froehlich
Play-by-Play Commentators: Brian David-Marshall and Ben Seck
Color Commentators: Jacob Van Lunen and Eduardo Sajgalik
Showrunner: Adam Styborski
Writer-Reporter: Corbin Hosler

The event-exclusive playmat for Toronto features artwork from Merfolk Mistbinder (art by Clint Cearley).

Grand Prix Lyon

After North America gets its shot at Modern, GP Lyon brings the action back to Europe February 16–18 for another two-day showcase of all things Eighth Edition and beyond.

Start Times: Saturday and Sunday at 12 a.m. PT/3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. UTC
Video Producer: Rich Hagon
Video Director: Rashad Miller
Camera and Graphics: Neil Rigby and Matt Light
Play-by-Play Commentators: Riley Knight and Tim Willoughby
Color Commentators: Simon Görtzen and Matej Zatlkaj
Showrunner: Tobi Henke
Writer-Reporter: Frank Karsten

The playmat for GP Lyon features Magali Villeneuve's Rivals of Ixalan artwork for Negate.

Grand Prix Memphis

The Grand Prix circuit returns to Standard, and Memphis, Tennessee, to see how Rivals of Ixalan has shaped the format. Tune in to this two-day event February 23–25 to see which decks have risen to the top since its release!

Start Times: Saturday and Sunday at 7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/3 p.m. UTC
Video Producer: Rich Hagon
Video Director: Rashad Miller
Camera and Graphics: BJ Ogden and Andy Cooperfauss
Play-by-Play Commentators: Marshall Sutcliffe and Brian David-Marshall
Color Commentators: Jacob Van Lunen and Reid Duke
Showrunner: Corbin Hosler
Writer-Reporter: Chapman Sim

Memphis's event-exclusive playmat features Simon Dominic's artwork for Seafloor Oracle.

Magic Online Championship

While the GP circuit takes a week off March 2–4, the Magic Online Championship will be taking place at Wizards of the Coast HQ in Renton, Washington, as 24 of the world's best compete for their share of $200,000.

I'm delighted to announce that the Super League duo of Randy Buehler and Athena Froehlich will once again be providing the live video coverage for this tournament, bringing back the great stuff done in 2017 to another three days of action.

Live coverage for the Magic Online Championship will begin all three days at 10 a.m. PT/1 p.m. ET/6 p.m. UTC on twitch.tv/magic.

Grand Prix Madrid and Santiago

The weekend of March 9–11 splits things up a bit. While GP Santiago focuses on Team Limited, Madrid will highlight the Team Trios Constructed format, giving us a look at Standard, Modern, and Legacy. Both events will give players a chance to qualify for Pro Tour 25th Anniversary August 3–5.

Madrid will be the focus for live video coverage for the weekend.

Start Times: Saturday and Sunday at 12 a.m. PT/3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. UTC
Video Producer: Rich Hagon
Video Director: Steven Leeming
Camera and Graphics: Neil Rigby and Max Ogden
Play-by-Play Commentators: Riley Knight and Tim Willoughby
Color Commentators: Raphaël Lévy and Marijn Lybaert
Showrunner: Tobi Henke
Writer-Reporters: Craig Jones (Madrid), Chapman Sim (Santiago)

As it's a team-filled weekend, Madrid and Santiago will each have three event-exclusive playmats. The three playmats feature the card art from Etali, Primal Storm (art by Raymond Swanland), Siegehorn Ceratops (art by Filip Burburan), and Wayward Swordtooth (art by Chris Rahn).

Playmats through Grand Prix Hartford

The remaining Grand Prix in March will be receiving text coverage as our live video teams rest up and prepare for a stretch of events through the spring (Marc Calderaro in Phoenix, Chapman Sim in Kyoto with Japanese-language video by Nico Nico, and Tobi Henke in Amsterdam). We'll have a coverage roster article addressing the spring in the coming weeks, but until then, here are the playmats through mid-April!

GP Phoenix features Twilight Prophet, with art from Seb McKinnon.

GP Kyoto showcases three pieces of artwork to celebrate its team event, with three Pirate-packed playmats available. The three offerings showcase Timestream Navigator (art by Zezhou Chen), Mutiny (art by Gabor Szikszai), and Dire Fleet Neckbreaker (art by Daarken).

Amsterdam wraps up the month of March with three event-exclusive playmats featuring artwork from the Vampire tribe. The three playmats showcase Skymarcher Aspirant (art by Winona Nelson), Dusk Legion Zealot (art by Winona Nelson), and Martyr of Dusk (art by Greg Staples).

GP Seattle kicks off April with a Grand Prix double-header featuring a Legacy main event on Friday and Saturday alongside a Standard main event on Saturday and Sunday. There are two event-exclusive playmats for this event, showcasing two Rivals of Ixalan cards, including a reprint that has become a staple for the Merfolk archetype in Eternal formats.

The Legacy-tailored playmat features the new artwork for Silvergill Adept (art by Magali Villeneuve), while the Standard-tailored playmat features Rekindling Phoenix (with art by Jason Rainville).

And finally, before the release of Dominaria in April, Hartford and Sydney wrap up this season of Grand Prix with two-day Modern tournaments and an event-exclusive playmat showcasing the incredibly cool Blood Sun (with art by Emrah Elmasli).

Sydney has the wrinkle of being a Team Unified Modern main event, so players who compete in that one will have the chance of getting one of these three offerings.

The Sydney playmats feature Deeproot Elite (art by Winona Nelson), Thrashing Brontodon (art by Jakub Kasper), and Ravenous Chupacabra (art by Daarken).

That's a lot of Grand Prix, a lot of coverage, and a whole lot of playmats . . . and oh, right, there's more! The prize wall at GPs will showcase this season's Grand Prix T-shirt for you to pick up, themed to Rivals of Ixalan.

That's all for GPs this week. But we're not done just yet.

Eternal Weekend News

Eternal Weekend returns in 2018, and with some big news—an expansion into Asia!

That's right! Eternal Weekends are coming! The first will take place in Paris, France, the weekend of May 5, as Europe's best Eternal players—and very likely some globetrotters as well—make their way to battle for the titles of Legacy and Vintage Champions.

The second Eternal Weekend takes place the weekend of August 18 in Yokohama, Japan, as the Legacy and Vintage Championships make their way to Japan for the very first time.

The third Eternal Weekend will take place in the United States, and we'll have more information available to you later this year on the location as those details are finalized.

2017–18 Team Series Updates

Since Pro Tour Ixalan, a couple of changes have taken place on a few of the competing teams in the 2017–18 Pro Tour Team Series. We also have a slew of newcomers who will be making a fashionably late debut at Pro Tour Rivals of Ixalan with their squads.

First, the changes:

  • On Catharsis, Niels Noorlander has stepped away from the roster, and Piotr Glogowski has been officially substituted on to the primarily European team.
  • On MetaGame Gurus Moon, Travis Woo has been substituted off the team and has been replaced with Shahar Shenhar on their squad.

And now, the new faces.

Confluence

Team Members: Hoi Chick, Jake Hart, Farand Lee, Lee Wing Tat, Joe Lam, and Syndy Sum Chung

Confluence is a combo of players primarily based out of Hong Kong who are seeking to turn their Pro Tour qualifications into a little bit more for the 2017–18 season.

Gamer's Haven

Team Members: Maxime Auger, Brandon Goe, Sam Harwood, Brendon Johnson, Nate Kahovec, and Alexander Wilson

Team Gamer's Haven brings together players from coast to coast as they look to maximize their Pro Tour invitations under one banner.

Grey Ogre Games

Team Members: Felix Leong, Fabien Li , Ernest Lim, Lim Zhong Yi, Tay Jun Hao, and Yang Zhijian

Captained by Pro Tour Hour of Devastation Top 8 competitor Felix Leong, Grey Ogre Games represents some of Asia's up-and-coming players as they look to make their mark on the Pro Tour.

Musashos

Team Members: Jose Cabezas Munoz, Antonio Del Moral Léon, Sergio Ferrer Rozalen, Alberto Galicia, Fernando Gueler Berdasco, and Ivan Ojeda

A team made up entirely of Spanish players, including Pro Tour Fate Reforged Champion Antonio Del Moral Léon, Musashos is looking to kick off their 2017–18 season by defending their home turf in Bilbao.

Mutility

Team Members: Joseph Kambourakis, Alex Lloyd, Kei Rong, Neal Sacks, Seth Spinner, and Nate Walker

Mutility brings together top finishes from various GPs and RPTQ winners in a bid to climb to the top of the standings.

Latest Competitive Gaming Articles

COMPETITIVE GAMING

November 8, 2018

Pro Tour Guilds of Ravnica FAQ by, Mike Rosenberg

New Standard, new beginnings. Pro Tour Guilds of Ravnica in Atlanta, Georgia, will feature hun...

Learn More

COMPETITIVE GAMING

November 6, 2018

Pro Tour Guilds of Ravnica Preview by, Rich Hagon

Watch Pro Tour Guilds of Ravnica Live on Twitch! Tune in to twitch.tv/magic to catch all the ...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Competitive Gaming Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All

We use cookies on this site to personalize content and ads, provide social media features and analyze web traffic. By clicking YES, you are consenting for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more