Triple Weekend, Commence!

Posted in Competitive Gaming on October 30, 2015

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

There are three Grand Prix, three different formats, all on one weekend. If you're looking for a variety of coverage to watch, or if you are interested in the latest round of decklists, this is the weekend for you!

And if you're not at home watching coverage, then it is very likely that you might be at a...

Regional Pro Tour Qualifier

This weekend is also the first set of Regional Pro Tour Qualifiers that will earn top players invitations and airfare to Pro Tour Oath of the Gatewatch, which takes place in Atlanta, Georgia, February 5–7, 2016.

This weekend's Regional Pro Tour Qualifiers are taking place in North America and Asia, including a special Regional Pro Tour Qualifier that is taking place on Friday in Indianapolis, the day before the Grand Prix main event.

All players who compete in a Regional Pro Tour Qualifier this weekend or next weekend will receive a Liliana of the Veil promo card, along with one of these sweet deck boxes:

The Top 16 finishers at all Regional Pro Tour Qualifiers will also get an event-exclusive playmat.

And, of course, the top finishers at Regional Pro Tour Qualifiers will get the chance to prove themselves at the Pro Tour in February. The Top 4 finishers at all Regional PTQs with 128 or fewer players get the invite, while the fifth- through eighth-place finishers get invited to the next round of Regional PTQs. If a Regional PTQ has 129 or more players, then the Top 8 finishers get an invitation and airfare to Pro Tour Oath of the Gatewatch.

But the Regional Pro Tour Qualifiers aren't the only thing going on this weekend.

Triple Grand Prix

Also going on this weekend are three Grand Prix: Lyon in Europe, Porto Alegre in Latin America, and Indianapolis in North America.

Grand Prix Lyon is the first of the three, featuring Battle for Zendikar Limited in action. All players who compete in the Grand Prix Lyon main event will receive a playmat featuring the art from Anticipate.

Also going on is Grand Prix Porto Alegre, bringing Modern Constructed to Latin America as the format's debut with Battle for Zendikar. Which cards from the new set will make their way into Modern?

Players who register for the premium package to compete in the Grand Prix Porto Alegre main event will receive an event-exclusive playmat featuring the Modern Masters (2015 Edition) art for Remand.

And finally, Grand Prix Indianapolis will feature Standard Constructed in action. What sorts of decks will rise to the top this weekend?

All main event competitors at Grand Prix Indianapolis will receive an event-exclusive playmat featuring art from Quarantine Field.

Can't make it to any of the Grand Prix this weekend? We'll have video coverage featuring the latest from Lyon and Indianapolis, as well as text coverage from all three shows, so check back this weekend for stories, decks, and more!

Also, you might want to keep your eyes glued to the Grand Prix Indianapolis video coverage on the Magic2 Twitch Channel, as we're going to be announcing something awesome on Saturday.

What can it be? Is it a trick? Is it a treat? Is it both?! You’ll just have to tune in to find out...

Viewing Guide

Magic Twitch Channel

Saturday, October 31

6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC—GP Lyon

Sunday, November 1

1 a.m. PT/4 a.m. ET/9 a.m. UTC—GP Lyon

Tuesday, November 3

6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/2 a.m. UTC—Super League Championship


Magic2 Twitch Channel

Saturday, October 31

10 a.m. PT/1 p.m. ET/5 p.m. UTC—GP Indianapolis

Sunday, November 1

6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC—GP Indianapolis


SCGLive Twitch Channel

Saturday, October 31

8:30 a.m. PT/11:30 a.m. ET/3:30 p.m. UTC—SCG Open Dallas

Sunday, November 1

7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/3 p.m. UTC—GP Indianapolis


There's plenty to watch over the next couple of days.

First up is Grand Prix Lyon, featuring Battle for Zendikar Limited. Join Riley Knight, Raphaël Lévy, Thoralf Severin, Rich Hagon, Steven Leeming, and Tim Willoughby for two days of live video coverage on the Magic Twitch Channel starting Saturday at 6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC. Coverage resumes Sunday at 1 a.m. PT/4 a.m. ET/9 a.m. UTC.

Next up is Grand Prix Indianapolis, featuring Standard Constructed. Join Marshall Sutcliffe, Eric Froehlich, Randy Buehler, Rashad Miller, Matt Mendoza, and Rusty Kubis for two days of live coverage on the Magic2 Twitch Channel starting Saturday at 10 a.m. PT/1 p.m. ET/5 p.m. UTC. Coverage resumes Sunday at 6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC.

Week 1 of the Super League Championship is in the books. Lee Shi Tian and Josh Utter-Leyton emerged victorious from the first week in Group A, while Paul Cheon and Randy Buehler notched wins in Group B. Finally, in Group C, Gaby Spartz and Patrick Dickmann have started things off with wins, putting these six players in solid shape headed into Week 2.

That said, it's still early, and anything can happen before group play is completed and we head into the finals of the Super League Championship, so don't miss a single episode! Join Randy Buehler and the rest of the Super League Championship crew for Week 2 of group stage matches on the Magic Twitch Channel at 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/2 a.m. UTC to see where things go!

And finally, join Cedric Phillips and Gerry Thompson for two days of live Modern action from the StarCityGames.com Open Series tournament in Dallas. Coverage begins on the SCGLive Twitch Channel on Saturday at 8:30 a.m. PT/11:30 a.m. ET/3:30 p.m. UTC. Coverage of Day Two begins at 7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/3 p.m. UTC.

The Flashback

Last weekend featured a Team Limited Grand Prix in China as well as a Standard Constructed Grand Prix in Canada.

Grand Prix Beijing featured 271 teams in China's first-ever Team Limited Grand Prix, as teams of three faced off for the trio of trophies. The Top 4 featured some of Asia's powerhouses and hometown heroes, and a North American team featuring Pro Tour Champions and some of the game's most renowned Limited minds.

While hometown heroes Liu Yuchen, He Yue, and former Team World Champion Zhang Zhiyang were a force, they were ultimately eliminated in the semifinals along with one of Japan's two teams, featuring Shintaro Ishimura, Yoshihiko Ikawa, and Pro Tour Battle for Zendikar Champion Kazuyuki Takimura. This left two teams remaining, both featuring their own Pro Tour juggernauts. On one side was Yuuya Watanabe, Makihito Mihara, and Yuuki Ichikawa. On the other side was Craig Wescoe, Richard Hoaen, and Mike Hron.

Ultimately, it was a Drowner of Hope that Watanabe passed in the Team Booster Draft finals that sealed the fate of his teammate Makihito Mihara and allowed the North American trio to take home Grand Prix titles in the third and final match.

Full Coverage

Finals Decklists

Highlights

Operation Kaji—Coverage reporter and Silver-level pro Chapman Sim got a chance to talk to Shuhei Nakamura and Martin Juza as they sought one goal for the weekend: get third teammate Tomohiro Kaji back onto the Pro Tour, and maybe into the Hall of Fame.

Meanwhile, Grand Prix Quebec City featured the first Standard Grand Prix following Pro Tour Battle for Zendikar. The Top 8 featured some familiar sights, along with Pascal Maynard's Four-Color Rally deck and semifinalist Jake Mondello's Red-Green Eldrazi deck, which ramped all the way up to Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger.

In the end, Dark Jeskai would come out on top, with Dan Lanthier besting Omar Feldon in a two-game mirror mach. This marked Lanthier's second Grand Prix Top 8 as well as his second win, and on his birthday as well!

Full Coverage

Top 8 Decklists

9-32 Decklists

Day 1 Undefeated Decklists

Highlights

Three Generations of Mages—Coverage veteran Josh Bennett chats with the Wagenhoffer family about their experiences with Magic as well as their preparation and successes at

Latest Competitive Gaming Articles

COMPETITIVE GAMING

July 8, 2019

July Magic Tournament Rules Release Notes by, Scott Larabee

Magic: The Gathering Tournament Rules Updates Here are the Magic: The Gathering Tournament Rules update notes for the latest release (which can be found here), listed by the section numb...

Learn More

COMPETITIVE GAMING

July 3, 2019

Red Bull Untapped Qualifiers This Weekend! by, Wizards of the Coast

The Red Bull Untapped series is now in full swing! To date, we've had two online qualifiers in MTG Arena, with prize pools of $10,000 each—but that was just the start. This weekend see...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Competitive Gaming Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All

We use cookies on this site to personalize content and ads, provide social media features and analyze web traffic. By clicking YES, you are consenting for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more