World Championship Countdown

Posted in Competitive Gaming on August 21, 2015

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

Seattle, Washington, will soon host 24 of the world's best players, as they converge at PAX Prime to compete on Magic's most prestigious stage at the 2015 Magic: The Gathering World Championship. While the field boasts some of the world's best players, the question currently on everyone's mind is a little bit more focused: Who, if anyone, will dethrone back-to-back World Champion Shahar Shenhar?

Starting August 27, you'll be able to watch the answer to that question unfold. Live!

World Championship Basics

Here is what you need to know for the 2015 Magic: The Gathering World Championship:

  • The formats for Thursday are three rounds of Modern Masters (2015 Edition) Booster Draft followed by four rounds of Modern Constructed.
  • The formats for Friday are three rounds of Magic Origins Booster Draft followed by four rounds of Standard Constructed.
  • All 24 players compete in both days.
  • Players receive one Professional Point for each match win on Thursday and Friday.

At the end of Friday, the Top 4 players advance to the playoffs, which take place on Sunday.

  • Sunday's matches are all Standard.
  • All of Sunday's matches are best-three-out-of-five.
  • Players receive two Professional Points for each match win on Sunday.
  • The winner of the 2015 Magic: The Gathering World Championship gets $50,000 and an invitation to next year's World Championship tournament.

The live video broadcast will feature Pro Tour host Rich Hagon, Pro Tour historian Brian David-Marshall, Hall of Fame pro Randy Buehler, Limited Resources host Marshall Sutcliffe, GGsLive founder Rashad Miller, Pro Tour coverage stalwart Tim Willoughby, and Hall of Fame pro Luis Scott-Vargas.

In addition to the regular commentators, Magic R&D members Ian Duke and Jackie Lee will join the team in the booth and at the news desk, providing a unique element to the broadcast: insight from within Wizards of the Coast R&D.

When Does Coverage Start?

Live video coverage of the 2015 Magic: The Gathering World Championship starts Thursday, August 27, at 9 a.m. local time (PT)/12 p.m. ET/4 p.m. UTC on the Magic Twitch channel. Video coverage lasts until the day is complete. If you'd like an extra reminder, follow our Twitch channel and, if you have notifications turned on, you will be notified by email when the channel goes live each day!

Coverage of Day Two of the 2015 World Championship starts on Friday, August 28, at 9 a.m. local time (PT)/12 p.m. ET/4 p.m. UTC.

Coverage of the Top 4 of the 2015 World Championship will begin right after the Battle for Zendikar Preview Show rerun, which starts at 11 a.m. PT/2 p.m. ET/6 p.m. UTC.

Where Else Can I Experience the Coverage?

We'll have a Twitch stream embedded on the 2015 Magic: The Gathering World Championship coverage page . You can also watch the live video coverage on NicoNico, and you can find links to each day's stream on the coverage page.

The World Championship coverage page is definitely a page you'll want to bookmark, because that's where you will find articles, interviews, decklists, and all sorts of goodness that we can't fit into one Twitch stream! Check back often for updates throughout the weekend.

Leading the text coverage team and the folks in the trenches providing you decklists, articles, and additional content are DailyMTG content manager and Pro Tour text team captain Blake Rasmussen, longtime Grand Prix reporter Marc Calderaro, GatheringMagic.com content manager and coverage reporter Adam Styborski, globetrotting Pro Player and coverage reporter Chapman Sim, Grand Prix scorekeeper and machine-level data-cruncher Nick Fang, and me, your humble show editor.

And of course, we will be joined by one of the longest-tenured members of the Pro Tour coverage team: photographer extraordinaire Craig Gibson, who will tirelessly be providing you with everything from feature match photos to the biggest moments on the tournament floor, and a whole lot more, all weekend long.

When Will Decklists Be Published?

The 2015 Magic: The Gathering World Championship is a unique event, in that it's only 24 players, and once a format has completed, that's (generally) it for the tournament. As such, once the competitors are through with a Constructed format for the weekend, we will be publishing all of their decklists at the end of the day.

On Thursday, at the end of Round 7, all 24 player's Modern Constructed decklists will be made public, and on Friday, shortly after the Top 4 announcement, the field's Standard Constructed decklists will be published as well.

In addition to that, after Round 3 and Round 9 get going, we'll be publishing a Draft Viewer of the featured pod's packs and picks. You'll not only be able to play along at home to see what you'd pick out of each pack, but also see what each player in the pod picked—from their first pick in the first pack all the way to their final pick in the third pack!

All of this will be available on the 2015 Magic: The Gathering World Championship coverage page, so again, be sure to bookmark the page and check back throughout the weekend for decklists and Draft pods galore!

Where Can I Find Out More?

In addition to the coverage page, we recommend that you follow @magicprotour on Twitter, as community manager Nate Price will be walking around all weekend bringing you the latest from the tournament floor. He will be joined throughout the weekend by community managers Sean Gibbons and Alison Luhrs, who will provide you with bonus content across our social media platforms.

You can follow the latest World Championship updates using the hashtag #mtgchamp on Twitter. The community team will also be updating the Magic: The Gathering Facebook page with content, so be sure to give us a like to stay tuned in to the latest photos and stories from PAX Prime and the World Championship!

Will There Be Battle for Zendikar Goodness?

The 2015 World Championship is part of our PAX Prime 2015 extravaganza, so aside from the World Championship, you'll be able to see plenty of Battle for Zendikar commotion throughout the feature match area, in and around the Annex, and of course, at the Battle for Zendikar Preview Show, which takes place Saturday, August 29, at 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET/2:30 a.m. UTC.

That Preview Show, by the way, will be broadcast LIVE on the Magic Twitch Channel, so you can celebrate with us as we showcase a lot of things that . . . we can't talk about until next weekend! So if you aren't in the Annex at PAX Prime celebrating with us, you can still be part of the excitement by tuning in!

And if you're excited about Battle for Zendikar, you might just see a thing or two (or three) that will make you really, REALLY happy about tuning in to the 2015 World Championship coverage. . .

Some of the game's most memorable moments have taken place within the feature match area of the Magic: The Gathering World Championship. Don't miss this year's action!

And on the subject of things you don't want to miss. . .

Viewing Guide

CardTitan Twitch Channel

Saturday, August 22

9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET/4 p.m. UTC—Eternal Weekend

Sunday, August 23

5:30 a.m. PT/8:30 a.m. ET/12:30 p.m. UTC—Eternal Weekend

Editor’s Note: Due to unforeseen circumstances, live video coverage of Eternal Weekend will start two hours later than previously scheduled. The start times below have been adjusted to the new times.


SCGLive Twitch Channel

Saturday, August 22

7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. UTC—SCG Open Charlotte

Sunday, August 23

6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC—SCG Open Charlotte


You won't find Standard in any of the big events taking place this weekend. How about a little Legacy, Vintage, and Modern instead?

CardTitan is proud to present Eternal Weekend—two days of Eternal format goodness with the Legacy Championship and the Vintage Championship. Saturday highlights the Legacy Championship, with the Top 8 being broadcast live on Sunday morning, right before the Vintage Championship gets started. If you're looking to see some of Magic's most powerful cards in action, this is one tournament you should watch!

Join Hall of Fame pros Randy Buehler and Bob Maher, along with a couple of unannounced special guests from the Vintage community, as they bring you two days of nothing but Eternal! It all starts Saturday on the CardTitan Twitch Channel at 9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET/4 p.m. UTC. Coverage resumes Sunday at 5:30 a.m. PT/8:30 a.m. ET/12:30 p.m. UTC.

Modern maniacs, rejoice! The StarCityGames.com Open Series is making a stop in Charlotte, North Carolina, and it's two days of nothing but Modern as players battle for a $20,000 prize purse. Join Patrick Sullivan and Cedric Phillips as they bring you live video coverage on the SCGLive Twitch Channel, starting Saturday 7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. UTC. Coverage resumes Sunday at 6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC.

Latest Competitive Gaming Articles

COMPETITIVE GAMING

May 16, 2019

Top 10 Storylines for Spark Split Week 2 by, Rich Hagon

Hi, everyone! Lots of tales large and small to bring you, so let's hit that MPL beat to count down the biggest stories for Week 2 of the Spark Split! 10. Perfect With two divisions play...

Learn More

Competitive Gaming

May 15, 2019

MPL Spark Split Week 2 Decklists by, Wizards of the Coast

Pearl Division Decklists Brian Braun-Duin - Esper Midrange ...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Competitive Gaming Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All

We use cookies on this site to personalize content and ads, provide social media features and analyze web traffic. By clicking YES, you are consenting for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more