World Magic Cup Playmat and GP Rotterdam

Posted in Competitive Gaming on November 10, 2016

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

The 2016 World Magic Cup is just over a week away, but you'll have your first chance to see some of the teams in action this weekend, as many of next week's competing teams along with some of the heavy-hitter Team Limited trios will face off in Grand Prix Rotterdam's two-day main event.

We have some updated information regarding this week's coverage of Rotterdam, specifically the start times, but before we get into that I'd like to show off one of the event exclusives that will be available for purchase at the World Magic Cup next week.

World Magic Cup Playmat

As with Pro Tours, the World Magic Cup will also have an event-exclusive playmat at the merch booth that visitors have the chance to purchase. This year's playmat meshes the Planeswalker group shot from Dramatic Reversal with a skyline shot showcasing De Rotterdam, one of the many unusual and intriguing architectural designs existing in a city skyline that is, fittingly, very modern.

The World Magic Cup will take place November 18–20 and feature 73 countries as they compete across Kaladesh Team Sealed and Team Unified Modern for their share of $250,000 and the title of 2016 World Magic Cup Champions. Tune in starting at 10 a.m. local time (CET)/1 a.m. PT/4 a.m. ET/9 a.m. UTC on twitch.tv/magic to see which countries rise to the top!

Grand Prix Rotterdam

Get your first taste of team action by tuning in to Grand Prix Rotterdam coverage this weekend! Keep in mind that, unlike other events, the start times for a Team Grand Prix are a bit different than usual. This is a result of the initial start-of-day Sealed pool registration. We intend to go live and show you a recorded Round 1 feature match.

Below you'll find that information along with the commentator crew, and you can always follow twitch.tv/magic to get notifications on when we go live!

This weekend's crew features a lean toward our European team, along with North American play-by-play guest Brian David-Marshall and Asia-Pacific's writer-reporter guest Chapman Sim.

  • Start Times: Saturday, November 12 at 11:00 a.m. local time (CET)/2:00 a.m. PT/5:00 a.m. ET/10:00 a.m. UTC, and Sunday, November 13 at 10:30 a.m. local time (CET)/1:30 a.m. PT/4:30 a.m. ET/9:30 a.m. UTC
  • Video Producer: Rich Hagon
  • Video Director: Rashad Miller
  • Camera and Graphics: Neil Rigby and Steven Leeming
  • Play-by-Play Commentators: Riley Knight and Brian David-Marshall
  • Color Commentators: Matej Zatlkaj and Simon Görtzen
  • Writer-Reporters: Tobi Henke and Chapman Sim

Tune in and see who wins!

Latest Competitive Gaming Articles

Competitive Gaming

August 15, 2019

Emerald Division Top 4 Preview by, Rich Hagon

It's Week 2 of the Core Split in the MPL, meaning the Emerald Division is front and center. This was always going to be a heavyweight division with no fewer than five Hall of Famers, and ...

Learn More

Competitive Gaming

August 12, 2019

Core Split Emerald Division Decklists by, Wizards of the Coast

Here are the decklists from the Emerald Division Top 4 and round-robin matches from the Core Split. Top 4 Decklists ...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Competitive Gaming Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All

We use cookies on this site to personalize content and ads, provide social media features and analyze web traffic. By clicking YES, you are consenting for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more