Pro Tour Journey into Nyx Event Information

Posted in NEWS on February 3, 2014


    Cobb Galleria Centre
    Atlanta, Georgia, USA
    May 16-18, 2014

The Pro Tour returns to Atlanta for the first time since 2005. Pro Tour Journey into Nyx features the completion of the Theros block and the debut of the new Journey into Nyx set on the premier-play stage. The top players from around the world will be in Atlanta to battle for fame, glory, and $250,000 in cash prizes in the Theros Block Constructed and Theros Block Booster Draft formats. The Pro Tour is open to the public, so come by to see the best players in the world up close and personal, meet members of Wizards Ramp;D, and much more!

If you can't make it to Atlanta, tune in for the three-day live webcast starting Friday morning for complete access to the Pro Tour: live match coverage, deck techs, behind-the-scenes interviews with Ramp;D members, and much more!

The Sunday schedule will now show every Top 8 match in its entirety! You'll see every draw step, every play, and every key decision on the live video stream as these players battle for the title of Pro Tour champion, the $40,000 first prize, an invitation to the 2014 World Championship, and automatic advancement to the Platinum level in the Pro Players Club.



    Viewer Information

Live Webcast
The live video webcast for Pro Tour Journey into Nyx begins Friday morning and runs all three days. The live video stream can be found at wizards.com/webcast and twitch.tv/magic, with a full replay of each day starting approximately one hour after the end of the day. Check out the schedule below to find the start time in your area (start times approximate):

CityFridaySaturdaySunday
Atlanta9 a.m.9 a.m. 10 a.m.
Los Angeles6 a.m.6 a.m.7 a.m.
Chicago8 a.m.8 a.m.9 a.m.
New York9 a.m.9 a.m. 10 a.m.
London2 p.m.2 p.m.3 p.m.
Paris3 p.m.3 p.m.4 p.m.
Berlin3 p.m.3 p.m.4 p.m.
Moscow5 p.m.5 p.m.6 p.m.
Tokyo10 p.m.10 p.m.11 p.m.
Sydney11 p.m.11 p.m.Midnight
Find other corresponding start times around the world here.

More Event Coverage
In addition to the live video stream, text coverage will be available at DailyMTG.com starting Friday morning, live chat sessions with players, Ramp;D staff, and coverage reporters will take place at various times during the three days on CoverItLive, and video content will be posted to YouTube on the wizardsmtg channel.

The official Twitter hashtag for Pro Tour Journey into Nyx is #ptjou.

Attending Pro Tour Journey into Nyx as a Spectator

Information coming soon.

amp;D Session: Aaron Forsythe and Tom LaPille answer your questions and talk about what awaits in the Magic Multiverse. To be held Sunday between the last quarterfinal match and the first semifinal match.
  • Artist Signings: Get exclusive foil art prints signed by artists Peter Mohrbacher, Ryan Barger, and Tyler Jacobson.
  • Tokenize Yourself: Get your face on a token creature from the world of Theros.
  • Meet Top Pros: Get autographs from World Champion Shahar Shenhar and other top Pros.
  • -->

    The Pro Tour Social Network
    We know you’re a fan of Magic: The Gathering; now you can make it official! Check out Magic on Facebook: become a fan, find out about new updates to Magic and the Pro Tour, view exclusive photos, share your story with the community, and more!

    Media Requests
    Please send an email to press@wizards.com if you wish to set up a media credential for Pro Tour Journey into Nyx. Wizards of the Coast asks that all media requests be submitted according to this schedule:

    • Video coverage: By April 18 (4 weeks prior to the event)
    • Non-video coverage: By May 2 (two weeks prior to the event)

    Requests made after that date, including requests made on-site, may be denied.

    Media check-in information will be announced closer to the event.



      Player Information
    PlacePrizePro Points
    1$40,00030
    2$20,00024
    3-4$12,50022
    5-8$10,00020
    9-16$5,00015
    17-25$2,50010
    26-50$1,5006
    51-75$1,0005
    76-100$04
    101+$03
    Total$250,000
    Winner is awarded Platinum status in the Pro Players Club for the remainder of the 2013-14 Pro Season and an invitation to the 2014 World Championship.
    Top 25 finishers also earn invitations and airfare to Pro Tour Magic 2015 in Portland. All prizes in U.S. Dollars. Prizes subject to change.

    Pro Tour Journey into Nyx is a three-day invitation-only TherosBlock Constructed and Theros Block Booster Draft format event with a Block Constructed Top 8.

    Venue Information
    Cobb Galleria Center
    Two Galleria Parkway
    Atlanta, Georgia 30339
    770-989-5095
    Map

    Tournament Hall Hours for Players

    To be announced

    Format

    The Magic: The Gathering Tournament Rules and Infraction amp; Penalty Guide are in effect for this event unless specifically overruled by information in this Format Document.

    • TherosBlock Constructed and Theros Block Booster Draft
    • 1 Journey into Nyx, 1 Born of the Gods and 1 Theros booster pack will be used for drafting (in that order)
    • Deck lists are required
    • Check Magic Tournament Rules for Modern and Booster Draft format rules.
    amp;hl=enamp;ie=UTF8amp;sll=47.481545,-122.193512amp;sspn=0.156618,0.386581amp;hq=Holiday+Inn+Express+Ciudad+de+las+Ciencias+Escritor+Rafael+Ferreres,22amp;hnear=46013+Valencia,+Spainamp;t=mamp;z=14">Map

    Rates: Single: 62€ (10% VAT included); Double: 64€ (10% VAT included).
    Minimum five-day stay, from Wednesday, February 19 to Monday, February 24
    Reservations
    Booking code: PTBNG14
    Book Online
    Phone: +34-96-3162530

    -->

    Tournament Length

    • Day One will consist of 3 rounds of Booster Draft followed by 5 rounds of Block Constructed
    • Day Two will consist of 3 rounds of Booster Draft followed by 5 rounds of Block Constructed
    • 16 Swiss Rounds total, 55 minutes per round
    • When time is called, the active player will finish the turn and five additional turns will be taken
    • Stalling and slow play rules will be strictly enforced during the tournament.

    Advancement

    • All players may participate in all 8 Swiss rounds of Friday's competition.
    • Players with 12 or more match points after round 8 will advance to Saturday's competition.
    • The Top 8 players after round 16 will advance to Sunday’s single-elimination playoff rounds.

    Playoff

    • Playoff rounds will be Block Constructed format
    • Playoff quarterfinal and semifinal matches will be best 2 of 3. The finals match will be best 3 of 5.
    • Standings after the Swiss rounds will be used to determine final order in the standings for losing players in the quarterfinal and semifinal playoff rounds.
    • While there are no time limits in the playoff rounds, players are expected to play at a reasonable pace and finish their matches within 60 minutes (for quarterfinal and semifinal matches) and 90 minutes (for the finals match).
    • For the first game of each match in the playoff rounds, the player that finished higher in the Swiss rounds chooses either to play first or to play second. For subsequent games in each playoff match, the usual Play/Draw rule applies (loser of the previous game decides whether to play first in the next game.)

    Notes

    • Planeswalker Points Multiplier 12x (Lifetime Total only), REL: Professional
    • Players are required to use the same Block Constructed deck for Day One, Day Two, and the Top 8 playoff
    • Players are responsible for knowing all DCI rules and high-level tournament rules.
    • Players are responsible for bringing their own appropriate counters or tokens.

    Schedule

    To be announced