It Approaches!

Posted in Viewing Guide on November 7, 2014

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

This weekend features the first lull in the Magic premier play stream schedule for the next couple of weeks. However, in less than four weeks, we'll be delving into the biggest week of Magic coverage for the year.

Worlds Week, featuring the World Championship and the World Magic Cup, begins on December 2. That is Day One of the 2014 World Championship, where 24 of the world's best players will compete for Magic's biggest title.

The 2014 World Championship coverage begins on December 2 and 3 at 9 a.m. local time/12 a.m. PT/3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. GMT.

Then, after a one-day break, coverage begins again with the 2014 World Magic Cup. The tournament features teams of four from 72 countries comprised of each nation's best players battling for fame, fortune, and national pride.

Coverage for the World Magic Cup begins on December 5 at 10 a.m. local time/1 a.m. PT/4 a.m. ET/9 a.m. GMT, and again on December 6 at those same times.

Then, on Sunday, December 7, watch the playoffs for both of these events as we showcase matches that often comprise of Magic's greatest moments. Start time for coverage on the fifth and final day of Worlds Week is 9 a.m. local time/12 a.m. PT/3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. GMT. Don't miss it! You can find every minute of Worlds Week action on the Magic Twitch channel.

Looking to fill the time between now and Worlds Week? While there are no Grand Prix taking place this weekend, there's still fresh content for you to check out!

The Vintage Super League's inaugural season is nearing a close. In the second week of the playoff, Hall of Famer Luis Scott-Vargas will battle against Eric Froehlich in the 75-card Sultai-fueled Fastbond mirror match to see who will move on to face Steve Menendian and his Blue-Red Delver deck in the finals. It's best two out of three matches, so anything can happen. Who will move on to compete against the Delver menace?

Join host Randy Buehler with guest commentary from the competitors on Tuesday, November 11, at 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET/2 a.m. GMT to see the matches play out live!

The second week of the Swedish Super Cup highlights the remaining two matches for the first-round quarterfinals, where the competitors will battle with their favorite Standard decks from Magic history!

This Sunday, Olle Råde will compete against Elias Watsfeldt, and Anton Jonsson squares off against Mattias Jorstedt. You can see what each of these competitors have chosen to play with on the SvMTV website.

The matches begin at the SvMTV Twitch channel on Monday, November 10, at 12 p.m. PT/3 p.m. ET/8 p.m. GMT.

Looking to watch some Standard and Legacy in action? The SCGLive crew's got you covered this weekend. The StarCityGames.com Open Series makes a stop in Columbus, Ohio, this weekend. The last Open Series in Oakland caused a stir in both formats, with Ivan Jen's Jeskai Heroic Combo deck causing Standard commotion and Joseph Moreno's Dredge reminding Legacy Delver players that ignoring Golgari Grave-Troll and pals can have consequences.

With both formats shaken up, how will the players in Columbus adjust?

Join hosts Patrick Sullivan and Cedric Phillips on the SCGLive Twitch channel as they bring you live coverage for both the Standard and Legacy Open this weekend. Coverage for the Standard Open begins on Saturday at 7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET/3:30 p.m. GMT. Coverage resumes on Sunday at 5 a.m. PT/8 a.m. ET/1 p.m. GMT for the Standard Open Top 8, and Legacy Open coverage will begin shortly after.

Latest Viewing Guide Articles

VIEWING GUIDE

June 19, 2015

Copenhagen, Providence, and More by, Mike Rosenberg

Magic Twitch Channel Saturday, June 20 4 a.m. PT/7 a.m. ET/11 a.m. UTC—Grand Prix Copenhagen Sunday, June 21 12 a.m. PT/3 a.m. ET/7 a.m. UTC—Grand Prix Copenhagen Tuesday, June 2...

Learn More

VIEWING GUIDE

June 12, 2015

Charlotte and Beyond by, Mike Rosenberg

SCGLive Twitch Channel Saturday, June 13 6:30 a.m. PT/9:30 a.m. ET/1:30 p.m. UTC – GP Charlotte Sunday, June 14 6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC – GP Charlotte Magic Twitch Chann...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Viewing Guide Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All