Los Angeles and More

Posted in ARCHIVES - ARTICLES on October 17, 2014

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

Pro Tour Khans of Tarkir was only a week ago, but we're not slowing down on the Standard just yet!

First up in the next week is Grand Prix Los Angeles! Witness the first evolutions of the new Standard format post-Pro Tour, as more than a thousand players gather in LA to do battle for pro points, a prize purse of at least $35,000, and the title of GP champion.

Join Marshall Sutcliffe, Hall of Famer Randy Buehler, Hall of Famer Luis Scott-Vargas, Rusty Kubris, Rashad Miller, and Rich Hagon as they bring you live coverage of the event starting tomorrow at 1 p.m. PT/4 p.m. ET/8 p.m. GMT. Coverage of Day Two will begin at 9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET/4 p.m. GMT. Don't miss it!

New to Magic? Looking to learn some of the deck terms that get thrown around here on DailyMTG.com as well as in the various video streams you can find on Twitch? Sean "Day[9]" Plott's got you covered!

Spellslingers continues its post-season bonus content with its second Instructo-Pod, as Sean breaks down what an aggro deck is. You can catch the second Instructo-Pod below.

Meanwhile, the Vintage Super League continues into Week 8, as the ten competitors jockey for either a Top 4 finish in the last two weeks, or a desperate attempt to stay out of the last-place slot. The only safe slot?

Last week debuted new deck choices from all the competitors, and the verdict is in: Khans of Tarkir has changed the landscape. Half of the league is running either Treasure Cruiser or Dig Through Time, and all players who ran one of these cards went 4–0 in Week 7.

Will the new set continue to show its influence on Vintage? And who else will be joining LSV in the Top 4? Keep your eyes glued to the Vintage Super League, hosted by Hall of Famer Randy Buehler. The next episode airs Tuesday, October 21 starting at 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET/2 a.m. GMT!

The StarCityGames.com Open Series continues this weekend in Worcester, Massachusetts, as players continue to explore the impact of Khans of Tarkir on the Standard and Legacy formats, on Saturday and Sunday, respectively.

Join hosts Cedric Phillips and Patrick Sullivan as they bring you live coverage throughout the weekend. Tune in to the Standard Open on Saturday at 10:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. GMT. Standard Top 8 begins at 8 a.m. ET/12 p.m. GMT on Sunday, and the Legacy Open will start later that day.