The New World of Tarkir

Posted in ARCHIVES - ARTICLES on September 26, 2014

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

Today's the big day. Khans of Tarkiris now officially released, and Standard has transformed because of it. What sort of impact will the new cards—along with the rotation of Return to Ravnicablock and Magic 2014—have on the Standard format?

Before we get to that...

In this week's episode of Spellslingers, Sean "Day[9]" Plott battles with Michelle "Esper" Roberson of Frag Dolls fame. Will Michelle's previous Magic experience give her the upper hand against Sean even with a deck out of her comfort zone, or will Sean be able to overcome her flurry of fast spells?

You can watch the episode in its entirety below!

Week 6 of the Vintage Super League takes place next Tuesday! While Stephen Menendian faces off against Hall of Famer Luis Scott-Vargas in hopes of clinching a Top 4 playoff spot at 6–0, Bob Maher and Josh Utter-Leyton square off in a fight to stay out of last place.

Join host and Hall of Famer Randy Buehler along with a rotating ensemble of league participants on Tuesday, 7 p.m. PT/2 a.m. GMT at Twitch.TV/Magic. You can get caught up to speed on previous weeks, as well as check out league decklists, by visiting VintageSuperLeague.com.

And now, back to your Standard discussion.

StarCityGames.com is hosting a double-SCG Open weekend, with live coverage coming from Edison, New Jersey. This is going to be Week 1 of the new Standard format in action. What sorts of strategies will players take hold of with the rotation of Return to Ravnicablock and Magic 2014? What new cards from Khans of Tarkir will define the format? Which clan will reign supreme?

Join hosts Patrick Sullivan and Matthias Hunt as they bring you live coverage of the event starting at 10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. GMT on Saturday. Sunday playoffs for Standard start at 8 a.m. ET/12 p.m. GMT, and Sunday's Legacy Open tournament begins shortly after. You can catch all of this at Twitch.TV/SCGLive.