Pro Tour Weekend

Posted in ARCHIVES - ARTICLES on October 10, 2014

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

To the surprise of nobody...first up this week: the Pro Tour. So let's dive in to that right now.

While I'll be on the text side (working with reporting all-stars such as Ray Walkinshaw, Marc Calderaro, and Corbin Hosler, alongside team captain and boss-man Blake Rasmussen), you'll be able to watch the likes of Rich Hagon, Brian David-Marshall, Zac Hill, Marshall Sutcliffe, Rashad Miller, and Tim Willoughby as they bring you every big draw, every sweet deck, and a whole lot more from the tournament floor here in Honolulu, Hawaii.

The play starts this morning! Day One goes live on Twitch at 9 a.m. local time/12 p.m. PT/3 p.m. ET/7 p.m. GMT, so go check it out! You can also catch Day Two and Day Three of our big three-day broadcast on Saturday and Sunday at 9 a.m. local time/12 p.m. PT/3 p.m. ET/7 p.m. GMT. You won't want to miss it!

While the Pro Tour is an incredible spectacle to take in, if you're just getting off the ground with Magic, Sean Plott's bonus bits following the latest season of Spellslingers may be a great starting point for you. In this week's "Instructopod," Sean talks a little bit about what makes up a control deck—one of Magic's popular sights in its Constructed format. If you're just starting with the game and want a little Magic 101, then Day [9]'s got you covered. You can catch the first episode of the Instructopod below.

And on Tuesday, the Vintage Super League resumes as some players get ready to battle mere days after the Pro Tour. While Hall of Famer Luis-Scott Vargas and Vintage all-star Steve Menendian are battling to maintain their leads this week, Josh Utter-Leyton and Bob Maher are fighting to stay out of last place, as a finish in dead last in this league would result in them being eliminated from next season's invitations!

The Vintage Super League is hosted by Hall of Famer and VSL competitor Randy Buehler, with color commentary from a rotating lineup of league competitors. You can catch the latest broadcast of the Vintage Super League on Tuesday, October 14, at 7 p.m. PT/2 a.m. GMT. For more information, visit VintageSuperLeague.com.

We use cookies on this site to personalize content and ads, provide social media features and analyze web traffic. By clicking YES, you are consenting for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more