Teams and More

Posted in ARCHIVES - ARTICLES on October 31, 2014

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

This week's Magic Viewing Guide offers some variety. Whether it's Limited, Standard, Eternal, or the greatest hits of formats past, we've got you covered!

The Grand Prix Nashville main event begins this weekend! Teams of three will descend on Nashville, Tennessee, to compete in Khans of Tarkir Team Sealed, a format that is sure to be full of decisions, possibilities, and some extremely powerful Limited decks.

Join Marshall Sutcliffe, Brian David-Marshall, Randy Buehler, Rashad Miller, and Richard Castle as they bring you live coverage of all the action from Nashville. Coverage begins on the Magic Twitch channel Saturday at 9 a.m. local time/7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. GMT. Day Two continues on Sunday at 9 a.m. local time/7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/3 p.m. GMT.

The Vintage Super League round-robin matches have concluded, and we have a Top 4! Advancing into the final stages of the league are Luis Scott-Vargas, Steve Menendian, David Williams, and Eric Froehlich.

Scott-Vargas and Menendian will play to see who gets 1st seed and moves on to the finals. The one who loses will have to battle against the winner between Froehlich and Williams in the semifinals.

Who will be eliminated in next week's competition? Tune in with host Randy Buehler to find out! The Vintage Super League takes place on the Magic Twitch channel Tuesday, November 4, at 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET/2 a.m. GMT.

Some of Magic's best players from Sweden are kicking off a league of their own!

The Swedish Super Cup has some of Sweden's top Magic players, including Olle Rade, Elias Watsfeldt, Thomas Rosholm, Denniz Rachid, Joel Larsson, Jens Thoren, Anton Jonsson, and Mattias Jorstedt, as they compete in a series of competitions sporting different formats that touch on the history of premier-level Magic.

The first round of the Swedish Super Cup features a single-elimination bracket event, where each competitor has selected his favorite Standard deck of all time to compete with. The action starts on SvMTV on Sunday, November 2, at 9 p.m. local time/1 p.m. PT/4 p.m. ET/8 p.m. GMT. Don't miss the premiere!

The StarCityGames.com Open Series hops over to the west coast this weekend with a stop in Oakland, California! Saturday features the Standard Open, while Sunday features the Legacy Open (right after the Standard Open Top 8 matches conclude).

Join hosts Patrick Sullivan and Cedric Phillips as they bring you live coverage of all the action from both formats on SCGLive, starting Saturday at 10:30 a.m. PT/1:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. GMT. The Top 8 of the Standard Open resumes on Sunday at 8 a.m. PT/11 a.m. ET/4 p.m. GMT, and the Legacy Open coverage begins shortly after.