Anything But Standard

Posted in Viewing Guide on January 9, 2015

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

Magic Twitch Channel

Saturday, January 10

11 a.m. PT/2 p.m. ET—GP Omaha Day One

Sunday, January 11

7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET—GP Omaha Day Two

SCGLive Twitch Channel

Saturday, January 10

7:15 a.m. PT/10:15 a.m. ET—SCG Open Philadelphia Day One

Sunday, January 11

6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET—SCG Open Philadelphia Day Two


After last weekend's pair of Standard tournaments, it's time to take a break from the format for a weekend with tournaments bringing you a little bit of Modern and Legacy love, respectively.


First up is Grand Prix Omaha, North America's first Modern Grand Prix since the release of Khans of Tarkir. Europe has had two in the last few months, but this will be the first time we can see not only how the format has evolved from GP Madrid and Milan last year, but also what differs in deck preferences between Europe's and North America's Magic players.

The last Modern Grand Prix featured a variety of archetypes in the Top 8, with the sole repeat archetype—Birthing Pod—going head-to-head in the final match. Will Birthing Pod once again be crowned victorious, or will it be dethroned by one of the archetypes fueled by the delve draw power of Treasure Cruise or Dig Through Time?

Join hosts Marshall Sutcliffe, Hall of Famer Ben Stark, Brian David-Marshall, Rashad Miller, Rusty Kubis, and Rich Castle as they bring you live Modern action from Omaha. Coverage begins on the official Magic Twitch Channel tomorrow at 1 p.m. local time (CT)/11 a.m. PT/2 p.m. ET/7 p.m. GMT. Day Two begins on Sunday at 9 a.m. local time (CT)/7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/3 p.m. GMT.


Looking to dive into the world that goes even further back than Modern? Tune in to the StarCityGames.com Open Series event in Philadelphia this weekend to look into the world of Brainstorms and more! This Open Series event features fifteen rounds over two days featuring all kinds of Brainstorms, Ponders, Show and Tells, Explorations, Lightning Bolts, Karakases, Mother of Runes, Dark Rituals, Tendrils of Agonys, Lion's Eye Diamonds, and a whole lot more!

Join hosts Cedric Phillips and Patrick Sullivan as they bring you every minute of Legacy goodness. Coverage begins on the SCGLive Twitch channel at 10:30 a.m. local time (ET)/7:30 a.m. PT/3:30 p.m. GMT. Coverage resumes on Sunday at 9 a.m. local time (ET)/6 a.m. PT/2 p.m. GMT.

Latest Viewing Guide Articles

VIEWING GUIDE

June 19, 2015

Copenhagen, Providence, and More by, Mike Rosenberg

Magic Twitch Channel Saturday, June 20 4 a.m. PT/7 a.m. ET/11 a.m. UTC—Grand Prix Copenhagen Sunday, June 21 12 a.m. PT/3 a.m. ET/7 a.m. UTC—Grand Prix Copenhagen Tuesday, June 2...

Learn More

VIEWING GUIDE

June 12, 2015

Charlotte and Beyond by, Mike Rosenberg

SCGLive Twitch Channel Saturday, June 13 6:30 a.m. PT/9:30 a.m. ET/1:30 p.m. UTC – GP Charlotte Sunday, June 14 6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC – GP Charlotte Magic Twitch Chann...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Viewing Guide Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All