Modern and More

Posted in Viewing Guide on November 14, 2014

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

The menu for the next few days of Magic content that you can watch is a sampler platter of Constructed, featuring selections that do not include your Standard fare.

See what I did there?

*crickets*

Ahem.

Moving on.

Grand Prix New Jersey is set to be one of the largest Grand Prix of all time, and is already a lock for the largest Legacy tournament ever. That's a lot of Show and Tells, Brainstorms, Fireblasts, Mother of Runeses, Stoneforge Mystics, Underground Seas, Dark Rituals, High Tides, Karakases, Explorations, Æther Vials, Wastelands, and a whole lot more.

If you're not one of the expected 3,000+ players who will be playing in the main event, then you can still be part of the action by tuning in to the live broadcast this weekend. Video for Grand Prix New Jersey is brought to you by the SCGLive crew, and is hosted by Cedric Phillips, Patrick Sullivan, and Matthias Hunt.

Coverage begins on the SCGLive Twitch channel Saturday at 10:30 a.m. local time/7:30 a.m./2:30 p.m. GMT. Coverage resumes on Sunday at 9 a.m. local time/6 a.m. PT/1 p.m. GMT.

While players in North America battle each other in one of Magic's Eternal formats, the competitors in Europe will be settling in for two days with a format that's a little bit more Modern. Grand Prix Madrid will be Modern's first time in the spotlight since the release of Khans of Tarkir, and that the set has shaken up the Eternal formats, the impact it is expected to have on Modern is huge. Will the hype for the new cards be proven correct, or will the impact of the new set be regulated merely to tweaks to everyone's mana, thanks to the ally-colored fetch lands?

Join Rich Hagon, Marijn Lybaert, Hall of Famer Raphaël Lévy, Simon Görtzen, and Steven Leeming as they bring you live video coverage from Madrid all weekend! Coverage can be found on the Magic Twitch channel starting Saturday at 1 p.m. local time/4 a.m. PT/7 a.m. ET/12 p.m. GMT. Coverage resumes on Sunday at 9 a.m. local time/12 a.m. PT/3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. GMT.

The finale to the first season of the Vintage Super League is fast approaching! After an absolutely brutal semifinal victory over Eric Froehlich, Hall of Famer Luis Scott-Vargas will be heading into the finals against former Vintage Champion Steve Menendian in a best of five matches bout between two polarizing archetypes: a Sultai Fastbond deck against Blue-Red Delver.

Will the "creature" deck of Vintage reign supreme, or will the good ol' combo deck outmaneuver the Delver menace to take it down? Join host Randy Buehler and a supporting cast of Vintage Super League competitors as they bring you the finals!

The Vintage Super League season one finale will air on the Magic Twitch channel on Tuesday, November 18 at 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET/2 a.m. GMT.

Latest Viewing Guide Articles

VIEWING GUIDE

June 19, 2015

Copenhagen, Providence, and More by, Mike Rosenberg

Magic Twitch Channel Saturday, June 20 4 a.m. PT/7 a.m. ET/11 a.m. UTC—Grand Prix Copenhagen Sunday, June 21 12 a.m. PT/3 a.m. ET/7 a.m. UTC—Grand Prix Copenhagen Tuesday, June 2...

Learn More

VIEWING GUIDE

June 12, 2015

Charlotte and Beyond by, Mike Rosenberg

SCGLive Twitch Channel Saturday, June 13 6:30 a.m. PT/9:30 a.m. ET/1:30 p.m. UTC – GP Charlotte Sunday, June 14 6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC – GP Charlotte Magic Twitch Chann...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Viewing Guide Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All