The New Year

Posted in Viewing Guide on January 2, 2015

By Mike Rosenberg

Mike Rosenberg is a writer and gamer and has been part of the Magic text coverage team since 2011. He joined Wizards as organized play’s content specialist in June 2014.

ChannelFireball Twitch Channel

Saturday, January 3
6:15 a.m. PT/9:15 a.m. ET—GP Denver Day One

Saturday, January 4
6:15 a.m. PT/9:15 a.m. ET—GP Denver Day Two

SCGLive Twitch Channel

Saturday, January 3
7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET—SCG Open Columbus Day One

Sunday, January 4
7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET—SCG Open Columbus Day Two


Welcome to 2015! It's a new and exciting year full of a ton of Magic to watch. And we're wasting no time, diving right into the Grand Prix schedule!

Denver plays host to North America's first Grand Prix of 2015. Players bring their best Standard decks to battle for the trophy, Pro Points, and the lion's share of the minimum $35,000 prize pool in the scant few weeks before Standard shifts to the new goodies found in Fate Reforged.

Coverage for this event is brought to you by ChannelFireball on their Twitch channel, and is hosted by Hall of Famers Luis Scott-Vargas and Ben Stark, along with Limited Resources host Marshall Sutcliffe.

You can catch all the action starting Saturday at 9:15 a.m. local time (MT)/8:15 a.m. PT/11:15 a.m. ET/4:15 p.m. GMT. The action resumes Sunday at the same times.

New year, new format. The StarCityGames.com Open Series begins a brand new year with a refreshed tournament structure matching Magic Grand Prix, revamped prizing, and a whole lot more. The year kicks off in Columbus, Ohio, where players will compete in nine rounds of Swiss on Saturday. Players in the Top 64 of Day One or 21+ match points (whichever is greater) will return on Day Two to compete in six more rounds of Swiss, before a cut to the Top 8.

SCG Open Columbus will bring you two days of clan clashes, diverse match-ups, and plenty of action featuring the pillars of the current Standard format. Join hosts Cedric Phillips and Patrick Sullivan as they bring you live coverage of the weekend's action on the SCGLive Twitch Channel starting Saturday, January 3, at 10:30 a.m. local time (ET)/7:30 a.m. PT/3:30 p.m. GMT. Coverage resumes at the same times on Sunday.

Latest Viewing Guide Articles

VIEWING GUIDE

June 19, 2015

Copenhagen, Providence, and More by, Mike Rosenberg

Magic Twitch Channel Saturday, June 20 4 a.m. PT/7 a.m. ET/11 a.m. UTC—Grand Prix Copenhagen Sunday, June 21 12 a.m. PT/3 a.m. ET/7 a.m. UTC—Grand Prix Copenhagen Tuesday, June 2...

Learn More

VIEWING GUIDE

June 12, 2015

Charlotte and Beyond by, Mike Rosenberg

SCGLive Twitch Channel Saturday, June 13 6:30 a.m. PT/9:30 a.m. ET/1:30 p.m. UTC – GP Charlotte Sunday, June 14 6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC – GP Charlotte Magic Twitch Chann...

Learn More

Articles

Articles

Viewing Guide Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All