MagicFest is the biggest open Magic experience with multiple events around the world. These exciting three-day festivals of all that is Magic, feature a two-day Grand Prix tournament with thousands of dollars in cash prizes. Plus, you’ll find artist signings and more side events than you could possibly play in your most fevered Magic-induced dreams.

MagicFest Schedule


Each Grand Prix’s main event features one of a number of formats, including:

Side events, which take place all weekend concurrent with the main event, are run with any of these formats, plus a plethora of serious, casual, and even some wholly unique formats.


Prizes for the main event of a Grand Prix vary depending on the event. Each individual Grand Prix awards a prize purse of at least $35,000. Players are also awarded Pro Points for top finishes. The Top 8, along with everyone who earns at least 39 match points in the Swiss rounds, automatically earn invitations to an upcoming Mythic Championship. For Grand Prix prize details by event please visit the CFB Events page.

Every player will receive a promo card just for participating in the main event (while supplies last). In addition, Grand Prix main events award a multiplier of 8x for all Planeswalker Points earned, and side events carry a multiplier of 3x (or whichever multiplier is appropriate for the event type).

Additional prizes and promotions may vary.


Every Grand Prix is open to any and all participants, but there are some important rules to keep in mind.

  • Day One is run at Competitive REL (Rules Enforcement Level); Day Two is run at Professional REL
  • There are nine rounds on Day One and six rounds on Day Two for individual-format Grand Prix
  • There are eight rounds on Day One and six rounds on Day Two for team-format Grand Prix
  • In Individual Grand Prix: All players with 18 or more match points or all players tied for 64th place—whichever is greater—qualify to play on Day Two
  • In Team Grand Prix: All teams with 18 or more match points or all teams tied for 40th place—whichever is greater—qualify to play on Day Two
  • Swiss rounds are 50 minutes long and best two out of three matches
  • The Top 8 players at the end of 15 rounds advance to the playoffs for individual-format Grand Prix; the Top 4 teams at the end of 14 rounds advance to the playoffs for team-format Grand Prix
  • Playoff matches are best two out of three, single elimination, and untimed

Players can also earn up to three byes for a Grand Prix either by winning a Last-Chance Trial, having enough Planeswalker Points Seasonal Award Points, having a specific Pro Tour Players Club level, or being a member of the Pro Tour Hall of Fame.


Complete information about Grand Prix Byes can be found in the Magic: The Gathering Premier Event Invitation Policy.

Grand Prix Byes Award Criteria

A player may be awarded byes for an individual-format Grand Prix based on one or more of the following criteria:

Grand Prix Bye Restrictions

Players can be awarded one-, two-, or three-round byes for individual-format Grand Prix. Byes are not cumulative within a given Grand Prix or from one Grand Prix to another. Byes may not be passed down to other players for any reason and are not transferable. Byes may not be deferred from one Grand Prix to another and must be earned each time. Players that accumulate multiple byes to a Grand Prix are awarded only the bye for the greatest number of rounds.

Byes earned through Planeswalker Points are calculated using the Planeswalker Point totals from all reported events as of the Tuesday immediately before the Grand Prix. Points earned in tournaments held at the Grand Prix event site do not count toward earned byes at that Grand Prix.

If a player is awarded a bye, he or she is considered to have earned 3 points in the Grand Prix for each of those rounds. Byes are not counted toward a player’s opponent’s match win percentage. Players with byes will usually have an advantage in tiebreakers over players that do not have byes.

Byes at Individual-format Grand Prix

For each Individual-format Grand Prix, byes are awarded as listed below. All listed criteria are as of the date of the specific Grand Prix:

Third-Round Byes

Second-Round Byes

  • Winners of Last-Chance Trial tournaments designated to award byes to that Grand Prix.
  • Players who have accumulated at least 2,250 Planeswalker Points in the current Planeswalker Points Yearly Award Season.
  • Players who have accumulated at least 2,250 Planeswalker Points in the previous Planeswalker Points Yearly Award Season.
  • Players with a Pro Tour Players Club level of Bronze or Silver.

First-Round Byes

  • Players who have accumulated at least 1,300 Planeswalker Points in the current Planeswalker Points Yearly Award Season.
  • Players who have accumulated at least 1,300 Planeswalker Points in the previous Planeswalker Points Yearly Award Season.

Note: Teams are not awarded byes in team-format Grand Prix.


With more than 50 Grand Prix held around the world, chances are good that you'll find one nearby. Check the Grand Prix schedule for the tournaments closest to you!



City Country Date Format
Oakland USA January 4-6, 2019 Modern
Prague Czech Republic January 11-13, 2019 Limited
New Jersey USA January 25-27, 2019 Limited
Sydney Australia February 1-3, 2019 Limited
Toronto Canada February 8-10, 2019 Modern
Memphis USA February 15-17, 2019 Standard
Strasbourg France February 15-17, 2019 Limited
Cleveland USA February 22-24, 2019 Limited
Los Angeles USA March 1-3, 2019 Modern
Tampa Bay USA March 15-17, 2019 Modern
Bilbao Spain March 15-17, 2019 Modern
Kyoto Japan March 22-24, 2019 Standard
Calgary Canada March 29-31, 2019 Modern
São Paulo April Brazil April 12-14, 2019 Modern
Niagara Falls USA April 19-21, 2019 Legacy
Yokohama Japan April 19-21, 2019 Modern
London England April 26-28, 2019 Limited
Madison USA May 10-12, 2019 Limited
Providence USA May 24-26, 2019 Team Limited
Kansas City USA May 31-June 2, 2019 Standard
Taipei Chinese Taipei June 7-9, 2019 Standard
Washington DC USA June 14-16, 2019 Limited
Copenhagen Denmark June 14-16, 2019 Limited
Seattle USA June 20-23, 2019 Limited
Dallas-Fort Worth USA June 28-30, 2019 Modern
Detroit USA July 12-14, 2019 Limited
Krakow Poland July 12-14, 2019 Limited
Denver USA July 19-21, 2019 Standard
Barcelona Spain July 26-28, 2019 Modern
Chiba Japan August 2-4, 2019 Limited
Minneapolis USA August 9-11, 2019 Modern
Birmingham England August 16-18, 2019 Modern
Las Vegas USA August 22-25, 2019 Modern
Las Vegas USA August 22-25, 2019 Limited
Indianapolis USA September 6-8, 2019 Team Modern
Ghent Belgium September 13-15, 2019 Team Modern
Atlanta USA September 20-22, 2019 Legacy
Montréal Canada October 4-6, 2019 Limited
Utrecht Netherlands October 11-13, 2019 Limited
Bangkok Thailand October 11-13, 2019 Limited
Phoenix USA October 24-26, 2019 Limited
Lyon France November 1-3, 2019 Standard
Nagoya Japan November 1-3, 2019 Standard
Richmond USA November 8-10, 2019 Standard
São Paulo November Brazil November 15-17, 2019 Standard
Columbus USA November 15-17, 2019 Modern
Bologna Italy November 29-December 1, 2019 Legacy
Brisbane Australia December 6-8, 2019 Standard
Oklahoma City USA December 13-15, 2019 Standard
Portland USA December 20-22, 2019 Standard

We use cookies on this site to personalize content and ads, provide social media features and analyze web traffic. By clicking YES, you are consenting for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more