Full Event Info - Updated September 25, 2019

Full MCQW Tournament Rules

MCQW General Timeline

October 24

  • 6 a.m. PT (13:00 UTC): Eligible players will see the Mythic Championship Qualifier event in-game.
  • If you believe you have qualified and you do not see the event in-game, please contact support by Thursday, October 24 at 5 p.m. PT (Midnight UTC). Failure to do so may prevent you from participating in the Qualifier!

October 26

  • 6 a.m. PT (13:00 UTC): Day 1 Begins
  • 8 a.m.PT (15:00 UTC): Event entry is closed. Players must have joined the in-game event prior to the 8 a.m. deadline to begin playing their matches.
  • 6 a.m. PT (01:00 UTC on August 18th): Matchmaking queue is disabled. In-progress games will be allowed to finish.
  • Players who qualify for Day 2 will receive additional information and instructions via email after Day 1 has completed.

October 27

  • 3 a.m. PT (10:00 UTC): Deadline to submit required information for Day 2 participation.
  • 7 a.m. PT (14:00 UTC): Check-in for Day 2 begins.
  • 7:55 a.m. PT (14:55 UTC): Check-in for Day 2 closes.
  • 8 a.m. PT (15:00 UTC): Matches for Day 2 begin.

Day 1 Tournament Information

Eligibility

The top 1200 Mythic-ranked players in either Constructed or Limited during Core Set 2020 Season 1 (August 2019) or Season 3 (September 2019) are eligible to compete. Eligible players would have a received an email earlier in the month confirming their eligibility and will see a notification in Magic: The Gathering Arena. Additionally, a Mythic Qualifier badge will be visible on their profile page leading up to the event.

If you do not remember receiving these notifications, and/or do not see the Mythic Qualifier badge on your profile you must contact Customer Support immediately to confirm your eligibility. Failure to do so may prevent you from participating in the event.

Format

The format will be best-of-three Standard, including an optional 15 card sideboard, played in a special Magic: The Gathering Arena event queue. Participants will play until 10 wins or 2 losses, whichever comes first. Each player will have 30 minutes on their respective match clock that will count down whenever that player has priority. If a player uses all of their allotted time before the current game finishes, they will be given a match loss regardless of the current board state.

Event

Once the game update is live on October 24th, eligible players will see a Mythic Championship Qualifier event in Magic: The Gathering Arena. This is the event you will join on Saturday, October 26th. If you do not see the event, you will need to contact customer support as soon as possible. To allow us time to investigate and correct any issues with your account, we ask that you contact customer support by 9AM PT (16:00 UTC) on Friday, October 25th otherwise you may be unable to participate.

Entering the Event

Starting at 6AM PT (13:00 UTC) on October 26th, eligible players will be able to join the Mythic Championship Qualifier event in Magic: The Gathering Arena. On the event page, you must hit "Start" to confirm your entry in the event. Players will have until 8AM PT (15:00 UTC) to complete this step. It is strongly encouraged you begin playing as soon as possible after the event starts to ensure you have enough time to play all of your matches.

Deck Submission

Once you have started the event, you will be given the option to submit your deck. Deck submissions are final. Once your deck is submitted, you will not be allowed to make any further changes including the sideboard.

Event End

Participants will play until 10 wins or 2 losses, whichever comes first. Players will have until 6PM PT (01:00 UTC on October 26th) to queue for matches, afterwards the matchmaking queue will be disabled. Any matches currently in progress as of 6PM will be allowed to complete, however players will not be able to join any new matches.

Prizes

All participants in Day 1 will receive an event-exclusive card sleeve at the conclusion of their events. Players will receive 200 gems for every win they earn in Day 1. Details on the rewards for each win will be displayed in the Day 1 event in Magic: The Gathering Arena. Gems will be awarded once a player completes their event.

Day 2 Tournament Information

Day 2 of Mythic Championship VII Qualifier Weekend will take place on the ESL Play platform.

Qualification

All players who achieve at least 7 match wins Day 1's event will receive an invitation to compete in Day 2 of the Mythic Championship Qualifier Weekend.

All players invited to participate in Day 2 will receive an email from esports@wizards.com after the completion of Day 1 with details on how to participate in Day 2, and will be given a deadline of Sunday, October 27 at 3 a.m. Pacific Time (10:00 UTC) to submit required information to participate in Day 2.

The event is scheduled to begin at 8AM PT (15:00 UTC).

Format and Decklists

The tournament format is six rounds of modified Swiss if 128 or fewer players are participating, or seven rounds if 129 or more players are participating. Players at 5-0 and 5-1 will be dropped and granted invitations to Mythic Championship VII. Players who received three match losses are automatically eliminated from the tournament.

The gameplay format is best-of-three Standard constructed, including an optional 15-card sideboard. Matches will be conducted through Direct Challenge using Tournament Match settings:

Format: Best-of-Three

Who Goes First: Coin Flip

Decklist: 60-Card Traditional Standard

Timers: Match Clock and Turn Timers

Players must use the same decklist for Day 2 as they used for Day 1. Decklists will be publicly posted prior to the start of Round 1. Players who change their decklist from Day 1 to Day 2 or who change their decklist in between rounds for Day 2 will be disqualified without prize.

Prizes

All participants in Day 2 of Mythic Championship VII Qualifier Weekend will receive 5 Mythic Points and 3,000 Gems.

Mythic Points will only be awarded to players who provide an active DCI number during registration for Day 2. Mythic Points awarded during this qualifier will be overridden by any Mythic Points earned at Mythic Championship VII.

Additionally, players will receive additional prizes based on the number of wins they achieve in Day 2.

Gem awards will be granted 3-5 business days following the event once results have been verified.

Contact Information

For any questions regarding eligibility or participating in the event, or if you encounter any issues with your account leading up to the event, please contact customer support, subject line: "Mythic Championship Qualifier".

We use cookies on this site to personalize content and ads, provide social media features and analyze web traffic. By clicking YES, you are consenting for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more