The stars of Nyx shone brightly for Fabrizio Anteri here at Grand Prix in Manchester as the Venezuelan claimed his second Grand Prix trophy in three weeks. With previous Top 8s at Grand Prix in Warsaw, Antwerp, and London, where he is currently living, Anteri had already established himself as one of the household names on the European circuit; now he's firmly enshrined in the pantheon of back-to-back Grand Prix winners.

The format this weekend has been Theros Block Constructed, and while Pro Tour Journey into Nyx had certainly set the stage for this Grand Prix, players yet managed to come up with new and exciting ideas. Some combined Dictate of Kruphix and Scourge of Fleets to create a wholly new deck, others added more Ajani, Mentor of Heroes to existing archetypes to gain an edge in midrange mirrors largely decided by planeswalkers. Purphoros, God of the Forge was brought to the fore, as was Revel of the Fallen God. Top 8 competitors Nikolas Labahn and Sebastian Knörr even unearthed mono-black, in two distinct versions at that, one aggressive, one very much control-oriented. With just over half the players in the Top 8 running Courser of Kruphix, there was more variety on display than many had imagined possible.

In the end, however, it was Fabrizio Anteri combining the format's all stars Sylvan Caryatid, Courser of Kruphix with black removal and blue's planeswalkers and Prognostic Sphinx in the trusty BUG Control who crushed all opposition. With this finish, he reached Gold in the Pro Players Club and secured his ticket to the World Magic Cup as the English national team's captain. When talking about levels, the story of Valentin Mackl may also not be left out here, as the Austrian, in his fourth Grand Prix Top 8 of the season, earned a much-needed invite to Pro Tour Magic 2015 in Portland to conclude the season with at least a Gold level as well.

Today, the golden trophy belongs to one man though. Congratulations to Fabrizio Anteri, champion of Grand Prix Manchester 2014!

top 8 bracket


Sebastian Knoerr

Juan Carlo Adebo Diaz

Fabrizio Anteri

Marcio Carvalho

Bradley Barclay

Tamas Glied

Nikolas Labahn

Valentin Mackl


Sebastian Knoerr, 2-1

Fabrizio Anteri, 2-1

Tamas Glied, 2-0

Valentin Mackl, 2-1


Fabrizio Anteri, 2-1

Tamas Glied, 2-1


Fabrizio Anteri, 2-1




pairings, results, standings


15 14 13 12 11 10

9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1


15 14 13 12 11 10

9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1


15 14 13 12 11 10

9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1

Top 16 Decklists

by Event Coverage Staff

Martin Jùza (Top 16)

Gregor Kowalski (Top 16)

Peter Whitfield (Top 16)

Gabor Kocsis (Top 16)

Richard Grint (Top 16)

Samuele Estratti (Top 16)

Max Sjöblom (Top 16)

Adam Bajerowicz (Top 16)

Top 8 Decklists

by Event Coverage Staff

Sebastian Knörr (Top 8)

Bradley Barclay (Top 8)

Nikolas Labahn (Top 8)

Fabrizio Anteri

Tamás Glied (Top 8)

Juan Carlos Adebo Díaz (Top 8)

Valentin Mackl (Top 8)