Grand Prix Melbourne
Day 1 Blog

Posted in Event Coverage on March 31, 2012

By Wizards of the Coast


Saturday, 3:39 p.m. – Sealed Trial Winner Decklists

by Event Coverage Staff

Tristan Cook


Andrew Varga


Barry Diwel


Ryan Cubit


Samuel Last


Matt Ryan

Saturday, 3:39 p.m. – Grand Prix Trial Winners

by Event Coverage Staff

Garry Wong


Nick Carter


Mikkel Iversen


Shawn Rayson


Ben Fleming


Ammy Xie

Saturday, 3:46 p.m. – Vintage Winner Decklist

by Event Coverage Staff

Australia has a strong Vintage scene, and with well-respected Vintage aficionado Luis Scott-Vargas attending the Grand Prix, a special side event was held on Friday to allow our local talent to face off against the overseas challenger.

After several rounds of play, the dust settled to reveal a somewhat unexpected winner: Matthew Pohlen claimed the title with a mono-White deck that raised eyebrows on its way to victory, knocking LSV out in the Top 4:

Matthew Pohlen